Two Ingredient Crock Pot Chicken

I adore the crock pot. What I do not adore is crock pot recipes that are intense, comprised of a billion ingredients and require cooking before using the crock pot!

To me, the point of the slow cooker is to throw everything into a pot and “fahgettaboudit.”

Ryan and I think our slow cooker pulled pork is one of the best around and the recipe only requires two ingredients: pork and beef broth. Tonight we decided to replicate that recipe using chicken.

Before leaving for work, I threw two very large chicken breasts into the slow cooker and covered the meat with chicken broth. I let the breasts cook on low all day (about 8 hours).

While I prepped the veggies for tonight’s dinner, Ryan (aka my meat man) got to work shredding the chicken with two forks until it was pulled apart and lookin’ fine!

Pulled Chicken

I topped my chicken with BBQ sauce and ended up enjoying it on a Arnold whole wheat sandwich thin. I looooove BBQ pulled chicken sandwiches.

My Plate

BBQ Pulled Chicken Sandwich

Two Ingredient Crock Pot Chicken

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breasts
  • Chicken broth

Directions:

Remove any unwanted fat from chicken breasts and place the breasts in the slow cooker. Pour chicken broth over the breasts until covered in broth. Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours. Remove chicken breasts from crock pot and shred with a fork.

Wicked Good Dessert

For dessert I enjoyed a cup of Jello dark chocolate decadence mousse. These lil’ babies are so darn delicious.

Jello Mousse

…And I’m off to read Wicked! A woman at the gym offered to bring me the Wicked soundtrack to listen to before I see the musical. She said she’d bring it for me tomorrow and I hope to give it a listen soon. I love musicals and showtunes. They make me smile! 🙂

Goodnight!

Healthy Planning

In the midst of my sugar binge yesterday, I had the forethought to bake a spaghetti squash for use in my lunch today. Healthy planning while eating unhealthily… gotta love it! 🙂

I usually prepare my spaghetti squash with marinara sauce… as a pasta substitute or pizza (I’ll do this soon on the blog… it’s delish!). I love spaghetti squash with marinara sauce, but I’ve never tried it any other way. Any recommendations?

Spaghetti Squash Bowl

I topped the squash with marinara sauce and a blend of three cheeses: Parmesan, Asiago and Romano.YUM.

Stirred Squash

For a little added sweetness and protein, I enjoyed a cup of Greek yogurt with Kay’s Naturals gluten free apple cinnamon cereal on the side.

Yogurt with Apple Cinnamon Cereal

I think this was a little more nutritious than yesterday’s five minute chocolate mug cake lunch, huh?

Free Sample of Kashi Cereal or Kashi Granola Bar

Click here to receive a free sample of one of the following Kashi products:

  • Go Lean Crisp! Toasted Berry Crumble Cereal
  • TLC Dark Chocolate Coconut Fruit & Grain Bar
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax Cereal

Mmm... Chocolate...

Which one did you pick?

You know I picked the one with the chocolate! 😉

New Day

My sweet tooth was seriously raging yesterday.

Remember how I joked about eating cookies and brownies for dinner? Well, I ended up having ice cream. Gah! Thank goodness for a new day and a new start.

I did enjoy a little sweetness in my breakfast this morning. I made myself a chocolate peanut butter sandwich on an Arnold whole wheat sandwich thin and had few South Beach Living dark chocolate covered soy nuts on the side.

Chocolate Peanut Butter

Monday's Breakfast

I got my chocolate fix, but in a healthy, controlled way. Sometimes I feel like when I start to eat junk food and sweet stuff early in the day, my body wants to keep eating that way. It’s hard to break out of the sugar funk.

How do you handle days when your sweet tooth is out of control?

I try to silence my sweet tooth by eating something indulgent, but small. Yesterday my sweet tooth didn’t understand the concept of a small indulgence. It wanted an entire cake. 🙂

Workout

Today I was excited to get to the gym because it was the launch date for the latest BodyPump release. Unfortunately, I must say I’m not feelin’ this new track at all. I love upbeat, happy music and classic rock when I’m lifting weights and I couldn’t get into the music selections for this release. Oh well… at least it’s still a good workout!

After the Pump, I did 20 minutes on the elliptical followed by 10 minutes of incline walking. Carrie Underwood’s music video for Cowboy Cassanova came on while I was on the elliptical. I think she is so gorgeous!

Carrie Underwood

What celebrity do you think is beautiful?

I think a billion celebrities are very pretty, but Carrie Underwood is one I always think looks classy and gorgeous.