Epic Battle: Cheeseburger vs. Ice Cream

Disclaimer: If you have issues with feeding animals people food, please do not read the following post. It will haunt your dreams.

***

In honor of Sadie’s second birthday, Ryan and I decided to put an ongoing question to rest.

Ryan and I have continually discussed a certain situation involving Sadie for a couple months now.

If given equal access to a cheeseburger or a soft serve vanilla cone, which would Sadie pick?

 

Contender #1

Contender #2

I’m sure you’re thinking “C’mon Julie, she’s a dog! Of course she’ll pick the burger.” Well, Sadie takes after her mama (me) and adores McDonald’s soft serve vanilla cones. She doesn’t waste any time licking… she goes right for the bite and can polish a cone off in no time!

Ryan and I both agreed that she’d pick the cheeseburger first based on smell alone, so we thought we’d make the epic battle interesting. We thought that letting Sadie lick the cone first to get a taste of the sweet deliciousness before giving her free reign to select the food item of choice, might make the battle between the cheeseburger and ice cream a little more interesting.

And so, after ordering a vanilla cone and a plain cheeseburger from McDonald’s, the battle ensued.

Check out the video to see which one came out on top! 😀

(Click here if you cannot see the video above.)

Dinner

Before all the birthday excitement, Ryan and I enjoyed a simple dinner of homemade butternut squash soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.

The soup was really to easy to make and only used four ingredients:

  • Butternut squash
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Chicken broth

Onion + Carrot

Blended Up

Homemade Butternut Squash Soup

Who doesn’t love grilled cheese and soup? It’s a classic!

Grilled Cheese and Soup

Yum!

Dessert was a soft serve vanilla cone… and no, not the one we got for Sadie. 🙂

Apple + Swiss Sandwich

I love Swiss cheese, but I rarely buy it. Why is this!? I eat the Laughing Cow Swiss cheese wedges regularly, but they’re not the same as a slice of the good stuff.

What’s something you love, but rarely buy?

I’m the same way with brie cheese… Love it, but rarely buy it. I gotta change this.

Last night I picked up a pack of sliced Swiss cheese and was excited to incorporate a slice into my lunch today.

I made myself an apple and Swiss cheese sandwich on a whole wheat Arnold sandwich thin.

Open-Faced Apple 'n' Swiss Sandwich

I first melted cheese on the sandwich thin in the toaster oven before adding the apple slices, and letting the sandwich warm in the oven for a little longer.

Wednesday's Lunch

The result was a nice alternative to your every day grilled cheese sandwich. Tasty, tasty!

Fruit and cheese has to be one of my favorite food combos… it’s almost as good as peanut butter and chocolate. Okay, not really, but it is quite tasty!

Sadie Turns the Big 0-2

Happy birthday to Sadie!!!

Today is Sadie’s second birthday. Look how teeny she used to be!

Sleepy Sadie

Puppy Sadie

Smiling Sadie

Easter 2008

Picture overload, I know. I just love my lil’ puppers so darn much.

Do you celebrate your pet’s birthday?

In honor of Sadie’s birthday, I thought I’d share a few fun facts about her with you:

  • Sadie is 34 pounds, about 10 pounds smaller than the average female vizsla.
  • Sadie’s favorite toy is a stuffed pig named Pig Pig and she knows it by name.
  • Sadie loves lakes and jumping off my parents’ boat into the water… but is afraid of pools and waves at the beach.
  • Sadie can run 6+ miles and still want to keep running.
  • Sadie is a cuddler and must be touching some part of you whenever she’s sitting or laying down.
  • Sadie has very stinky gas.
  • Ryan and I always forgot to work on Sadie’s tricks before puppy training class and would teach them to her five minutes before class. Luckily, she always remembered!
  • Sadie was featured on The Daily Puppy.
  • Sadie won the 2009 Baldwin Park Doggie Derby (description below).

(Please excuse the following ode to Sadie…)

Sadie’s actually quite a famous dog. Well, not really, but she did win the Baldwin Park Doggie Derby last year.

Doggie Derby Victory, May 2009

Someone at the dog park told us about the doggie derby on a Friday afternoon because he saw how crazy and fast Sadie was when she was running around at the park. The derby took place that Saturday and the entry fee was $15 and all the proceeds went to a charity. It sounded like a neat event, so we signed up that evening and headed out for the derby the next morning.

To participate in the derby, one owner stands at the start line, while the other stands at the finish line. Sadie is extremely owner-motivated, and this worked to our advantage. Vizslas in general are known as velcro dogs and Sadie definitely is one. She doesn’t understand the concept of personal space. The minute I started walking away from Ryan when he was holding Sadie at the start line, she was ready to take off! When he let her go, she shot out like a mad dog for the finish line!

First, she shocked us by winning her weight class (middle weight), and then she shocked us once again by beating out approximately 100 other dogs to win the overall competition. She got a trophy and everything! Ryan and I were proud puppy parents. Sadie was even mentioned in the Orlando Sentinel newspaper! It was the proudest day of her life. 😉

And that concludes my Sadie love fest (for now…).

Workout

At today’s BodyPump class, the normal Wednesday instructor was out sick, so another teacher took her place. Fortunately I really liked the man who replaced my go-to instructor, and I had a great workout. He selected songs from a variety of BodyPump tracks, which kept me really interested. I love not knowing what to expect in BodyPump!

After class, I did 25 minutes of light cardio on the adaptive motion trainer while reading the latest issue of Shape.

Adaptive Motion Trainer

Have any of you ever tried the adaptive motion trainer?

It’s definitely funky at first, but I like it a lot once I find my rhythm. It’s a nice alternative to the elliptical.

Breakfast

Breakfast today was a chocolate explosion! I am loving cocoa oatmeal lately and cooked up a creamy batch this morning.

I started with steel cut oats and stirred in one scoop of All the Whey chocolate peanut butter cup protein powder and a tablespoon of cocoa powder.

Cocoa Powder + Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Protein Powder

Cocoa Oatmeal

I enjoyed my cocoa oats with a hot tumbler full of my gym’s free Barnie’s cinnamon butter cookie coffee.

Wednesday's Breakfast

Deeeelish!