Another One

Today was another one of those “not-so-much-day-of-rest” Sundays.

This is the first time I’ve managed to sit down on the couch all day!

Good thing I had a hearty breakfast to fuel me through the numerous things on my to-do list.

Breakfast

Since my sister spent the night, I wanted her to wake up to a yummy breakfast.

I decided to make walnut Greek yogurt pancakes, which I made by following this simple recipe and adding 1/3 c. chopped walnuts to the batter.

In no time at all, we had pancakes hot off the griddle.

Addin' the Syrup

I topped three pancakes with syrup and dug in!

I think this is my favorite pancake recipe ever. Though I absolutely love fluffy pancakes, there’s something about the doughy, eggy flavor of these ‘cakes that I just adore.

'Cakes

Take a Bite

Since I had a little extra time before we had to head out the door for church, I made a batch of scones using Stonewall Kitchen traditional scone mix that I received from my friend Merri who got it from her boss who told her the mix was the “best scone mix in the world.”

He wasn’t lying!

Stonewall Kitchen Scone Mix

These scones were unbelieveable.

Scones

Before baking, I brushed the top of the scones with egg whites and sprinkled them with sugar for a sweet effect.

My sister, Ryan and I all enjoyed a hot scone fresh from the oven and agreed that the scones were wonderfully moist.

I don’t typically enjoy scones too much because I find them rather bland and dry, but these were totally different. They were buttery, moist and slightly sweet. YUM.

Church + Errands

With full bellies, my sister Leslie and I headed off to church while Ryan headed to soccer practice.

After the service, Leslie and I drove to the outlet malls and did some serious damage at Banana Republic.

I am in love with the Banana Republic outlet! I cannot afford 95 percent of the stuff in a normal Banana Republic, but at the outlet, I can almost always find shirts for less than $15 and bottoms or dresses for less than $40. It’s a steal!

Upon our arrival back home, Sadie was quite curious about my purchases.

"What did ya get me, Mama?"

Lunch

After dropping off our finds at the apartment and picking up Ryan, we headed out to Chipotle for lunch.

Chipotle

Leslie & Ryan - Wasting Time in Line

Me & Les - Wasting More Time

Chipotle was slammed, but the wait gave us a chance to decide what we wanted to order.

I opted for a vegetarian burrito bowl with guacamole.

Chipotle Vegetarian Burrito Bowl

Guac

I love Chipotle’s mild salsa and guacamole. I think I could eat an entire salad made of just those two ingredients!

Along with my burrito bowl, I had several helpings of Ryan’s chips and guacamole as well.

Once we were done eating, we came back to our place and said goodbye to Leslie as she headed back to her apartment in Gainesville. I miss my lil’ sis already!

Before Leslie left, we tried to log onto my computer and had no luck because the charger thingy (that is its professional name 😉 ) wasn’t working. When I tried to adjust it, the thing broke in half!

Unexpected trip to Best Buy!

Once I had a new charger, I ran a couple more errands and brought home a lil’ somethin’ somethin’ to make Ryan smile.

When I revealed my surprise purchase of a box of funfetti cake mix to him, a big smile appeared on his face. You see, Ryan has a serious obsession with the funfetti cookie dough that I make when I bake a batch of funfetti cake mix cookies.

Naturally I got to work in the kitchen making a batch for us to enjoy immediately.

Funfetti Cookies

I had two fresh outta the oven (as well as an inordinate amount of cookie dough).

Colors of Tastiness

I absolutely love baking. Cooking is fun and I adore making yummy meals, but my heart truly lies with baking.

Do you prefer cooking or baking… or take out? 😉

35 Responses

  1. I made funfetti cookies from cake mix last weekend and oh my gosh…those things were gone in minutes. Love them.

  2. You and your sister are adorable! Love the scones, I’ve never made scones. And you can’t go wrong with chipotle!

  3. I LOVE to cook & bake! As fun and entertaining as going out to eat can be, there’s just something about enjoying homemade food! Enjoy your Sunday night!

  4. yuuum. Just got a huge craving for Chipotle. 🙂

    xo-Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  5. Hehe, I could eat giant salads of salsa and guac all day long! Yum. 🙂

    I am a baker at heart, although I also like cooking. But baking is just so…sweet!

  6. First off- Chipotle guacamole is the BEST. I used to not like guacamole and then I tried Chipotle’s. My dislike of guacamole changed real quick, haha.

    I prefer baking like you. Cooking is fun but there is just something so fool-proof about baking. I also love how my apartment smells when I bake. And my roommates of course love me after I make cookies or cupcakes! I got quite a reputation for fattening them up this year, haha.

  7. I love cooking and being creative, making recipes healthy and clean. Julie, I’m in Jacksonville. We come to Orlando alot. I love it there. Love the millenia mall.

  8. BAKING – hands down! I was just sitting here trying to think of something to bake. 😛
    Hubby and I almost tried Chipotle for the first time tonight – hopefully soon though, because that salad looked good!

  9. I love baking but have to be in the mood for it. I prefer cooking because it’s not as rigid.

    Chipotle looks awesome. Wish we had it in Ontario Canada

  10. I’m a baker too! I cannot wait until this Fall when my husband can watch football all afternoon on Sunday and I can bake. It’s my favorite way to spend a crisp Fall Sunday!

  11. The only thing better than funfetti cookies like you made are when you top them with a little funfetti icing and sprinkles! MMMM!! 🙂 It looks like you had a great Sunday!

  12. Baking is my love…I just took flourless peanut butter cookies out of the oven! These should last about a day haha

  13. Definitely cooking! You can play around with ingredients and ratios and still have something turn out great. I feel like baking is chemistry and one tiny mess up ruins the whole thing – I guess I’m scared of baking when it doesn’t come from a box haha

  14. OMG, Julie!!!!! Funfetti is my FAVORITE. I can’t believe I missed your previous post on making them into cookies!!!!!!!! I almost wish I never saw this, as I’ve been overdosing on your flourless cookies all weekend!!!

  15. I love to cook and bake!

    It is dangerous when I bake though, my killer sweet tooth and batches of cookies = trouble ; )

  16. Baking feels so much more nurturing than cooking alone. Or maybe it’s because I just plain ol’ love it that much!

    My hubby made his very own guacamole for the World Cup finale today…I was so impressed 😉

  17. Chipotle chips and guac are amazing 🙂

  18. I love cooking AND baking- as long as I share the baked goods 🙂
    PS where are you registering? I’m getting married in May and I need to pick a couple stores… I’m thinking crate and barrel and somewhere else?

  19. I’m 100% with you — baking is the best!!

  20. Can we see your new purchases?! Haha, I’m so lame. I haven’t gone shopping in months and months so I have to live vicariously thru you. 🙂

    • hahaha 🙂 i’m sure they’ll pop up soon when i wear all of them… i’m actually wearing a black dress i bought today!

  21. You totally need to start doing outfit of the day posts. I think I can speak for everyone here, and say that I love your style.

    Ps. I still want that MK purse of yours. Need. It! 🙂

    • thanks so much! i love it when bloggers do that, but i think i’d feel funny. we’ll see! i definitely like seeing what people are wearing!

  22. I’m not as tempted to sneak bites when I cook versus when I bake. So at least cooking is better for my waistline! =)

  23. While I love to cook and bake, sometimes it’s nice to have something different in restaurants. Like Indian, Greek, and authentic Italian for example. Mm-mmm! 😀

  24. I’m definitely more of a baker… it’s that crazy sweet tooth I’ve got!

  25. baking for sure! nothing better than some homemade cinnamon rolls

  26. Baking! ❤

  27. I am so not a baker. I’m always envious of posts like this – pancakes, scones, etc. Great job!

  28. i LOVE the banana republic outlet! it has tons of cute things and they are affordable for me too!

  29. I’m so jealous, I love Chipotle and we don’t have any nearby! 😦 Probably for the best, LOL.

    I definitely like cooking more than baking.

    Jenn

  30. […] I got a hankering for some sweets.  Whats a girl to do!?  Well, I’ll tell you…I pull a PBfingers and make FUNFETTI cookies.  Just because I act like a 70 year old when it comes to “those […]

  31. […] little more than a month ago, I made a batch of scones that I also […]

Leave a comment