Our First Registering Experience

It’s amazing how three days away from the gym can feel like so long! 

My body was seriously craving a work out this morning. 

If you just aren’t feelin’ the gym these days, try taking a few days off (more than one!). It may be just the thing you need to get your mojo back. 😉 

Ryan and I hit up the gym for a good workout a little before 9 a.m. I did a total-body workout, similar to the weights routine I did last Monday. I had a yummy breakfast bagelwich before my workout to help me power through. 

Breakfast Bagelwich

To make my bagelwich, I toasted a sweet wheat Alternative Bagel and topped it with a wedge of Laughing Cow light original Swiss cheese, MorningStar Farms veggie bacon and an egg white. 

I actually cooked the egg white in a mug in the microwave, which worked really well. I just sprayed a mug with cooking spray, added the egg white and cooked it on high for around 40 seconds, or until I heard a little “pop.”    

Egg + Bacon + Cheese

Fast food breakfast sandwiches ain’t got nothin’ on me! 😀 

Registering at Williams-Sonoma 

After taking Sadie for a walk around the lake near our apartment, eating another snack (hummus & cheese wrap for me) and showering, Ryan and I headed to Williams-Sonoma to register for our wedding!    

What a Lovely Sight

 My hubby-to-be in front of Williams-Sonoma??? I may have just died and gone to heaven. Would it be weird if I framed this picture? 😉    

A Glimpse into Heaven

Registering at Williams-Sonoma was a breeze.    

Ryan and I both thought the employees struck the perfect balance between helpful and aloof. Neither of us like someone breathing down our back, but whenever we looked especially confused, someone seemed to magically appear. 

Guess who was quite a big fan of the registering gun?   

Man and Machine

We agreed going into the experience that we would both have to like anything we scanned, but that we could each get one “freebie” item that the other person didn’t really care for. Neither of us ended up using our “freebie” item and we seemed to see eye-to-eye on almost everything! Maybe we’ll use our “freebies” when we register at Bed Bath and Beyond next weekend.     

Post-Registering Smiles

Ryan and I listened to the advice of former brides and those of you who commented on my blog before about creating a wedding registry, and registered for a couple of “big ticket” items like a set of Caphalon pans and a Wüsthof Classic 12-Piece Knife Block Set. I can’t quite imagine anyone going all out like that for our wedding, but a girl can dream! 

Wedding Band Selection   

Once we were done registering at Williams-Sonoma, Ryan and I headed down the street and picked up a grande chai tea Frappuccino from Starbucks. 

Chai Frapp

We then walked down to a nearby jeweler to check out wedding bands. 

I think we pretty much selected Ryan’s band today! 

He loved a thick platinum band with light etching on the top and bottom of the band. I’ll definitely post a picture when it comes in and we fully commit. 

I really liked a band with several princess-cut diamonds on it. I am not sure how many diamonds or what size diamonds I prefer, so the woman we were working with is going to shop around and give me a call when she gets some possibilities in the store. I’ll keep you guys posted!   

Lunch 

We swung by the grocery store on our way home from the jeweler and picked up food for lunch and for the rest of the week.   

When we arrived home, I got to work in the kitchen making a childhood favorite for lunch. 

English Muffin Pizzas

Pizza, Pizza

English muffin pizzas are the jam! 

To keep the “crust” crispy, I toasted the English muffins before topping them with tomato sauce and cheese and broiling them until the cheese melted.   

Oh-so-good! 

Now I’m off to unpack and CLEAN! Please try not to be too jealous.   

My goal is to clean, take Sadie for another short walk and make a homemade dinner before the Bachelorette tonight. 

Aaaand I’m off!

21 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you had a fun afternoon. I love that store too. Your ring ideas sound perfect too. I’m with you on the cleaning, unpacking and watching the Bachelorette! Love, Mama xo

  2. Ah, I LOVED English Muffin pizzas as a kid! For some reason I thought my mom made up that recipe, haha.

    I’m so excited for you and Ryan 🙂 I cannot wait to see your gorgeous wedding photos!

  3. I love mini pizza! I remember Bagel Bites as a child, I never was a huge fan of them, actually, but anything homemade and pizza-y totally satisfied my belly and tastebuds 😉 I love love love Willams Sonoma! That’s a great place to register – congrats on the ring, too. You two are SO beautiful! Ryan is beautiful in a very manly way, you know 😉 and you’re just plain stunning.

    I cannot wait to see the wedding and everything else!

    I can relate to craving a workout today – I was too 🙂

    Enjoy your night!!

  4. Loooooooove Williams Sonoma. I kind of want to live in that store. Is that weird?!?

  5. I found your blog a few weeks ago and I love it! I have to say you and Ryan are such a cute couple. 🙂 And Williams Sonoma and the Bachelorette sounds just like my kinda day!

    I loved the idea of cooking an egg in a mug in the microwave – how easy and fast!

  6. we got that same knife set for our wedding. it is super pricey but amazing. those things are sharp! and stay sharp. i have a few missing fingernails to prove it.

  7. I was totally surprised by some of the big ticket items I received from my wedding registry, so you never know! The zapper-gun-thing is one of the best parts of getting married 😉

  8. Ha! Registering was so much fun! Ryan kept pointing the fun at my butt…hilarious.

  9. *gun* He pointed the GUN at my butt, ha!

  10. Aww congrats!! We never registered anywhere bc we already have everything we need (and we live in a teeny nyc apt!). After living together for 4+ years we already stocked up on the standards 😉 Looks fun though!

  11. Ahhhh english muffin pizzas?!? Those are no joke! I used to eat them all the time!
    So glad you guys had fun registering – my hubby was a huge fan of the gun too. It’s pretty much the only thing that kept him going through the whole process. 😉
    P.S. – LOVE your bag by the way!!

  12. I registered for Calphalon pans and the Wusthof knives as well per the advice of friends. I felt awkward registering for expensive things. You will be surprised what people will buy you. I was fortunate to get both! I have a whole new outlook on weddings now that I’ve went through the process and you realize alot of people treat it as a big deal!

  13. My coworkers threw a wedding shower for me and my hubby and I received *our whole set* of Caphalon pans. They have been fantastic as our every day uses and we’re really pleased with their durability.

    I love ring shopping. I could do it forever 😉 My hubby’s ring sounds similar to the one Ryan is seeking. It looks great!

  14. Registering with my husband was so much fun! We picked a huge range of items and it was even more fun to go online and see what had been purchased already!

  15. Looks like fun… I can’t wait to register with my fiance!

  16. This just cements my thoughts about you and Ryan- SOUL MATES and meant to be! Agreeing eye to eye on Kitchen Appliances etc… I am not a mushy person, but I love you guys so much! Wishing you nothing but the best! I am slightly jealous about the Calphalon though..
    I feel like registering somewhere (BBB) for no reason other that to get free AS SEEN ON TV items, appliances that I don’t need but want (Quesadilla press that leaves festive imprints) and tons of kitchenware!
    Lunch looks so good! Glad you are both feeling 100%
    Barbara

  17. […] Our First Registering Experience […]

  18. You’ll be surprised what some people will buy you! We got some crazy expensive things from people we weren’t even that close too. I hope you get your dream items!

  19. Monday sounds so exciting! And you never know about the expensive stuff… My father-in-law completely surprised us with our Wustholf knife set and a Cuisinart food processor! And I know they couldn’t really afford it… I love both items dearly though 🙂

  20. […] selecting our first wedding gift and bought us a cookie jar filled with cookie cutters that we registered for at Williams-Sonoma last weekend.  Thank you […]

  21. […] first registry experience at Williams-Sonoma was so positive, so we had high hopes for our time at […]

Leave a comment