Sunday Morning Greek Yogurt Pancakes

A couple of weeks ago I went to a book signing at Barnes and Noble for The Pioneer Woman‘s cookbook.

The signing was to begin at 6 p.m., and I wasn’t able to arrive until 5:45 p.m. By the time I got to the signing, a line of several hundred people had formed.

I stayed to listen to her talk, but I didn’t buy her book or wait in the 4+ hour line to have it signed.

Things have a way of working out though because a couple of days later I won a signed copy of her cookbook through a giveaway on the blog A Recipe for Living.

The book arrived in the mail this weekend and I spent a good hour or so reading the entire thing and paging through the recipes last night.

When I saw a recipe for sour cream pancakes around 11 p.m. last night, I knew what I’d be making for breakfast in the morning.

Edna Mae's Sour Cream Pancakes

Since I didn’t have sour cream on hand this morning, I substituted Greek yogurt for the key ingredient, turning the sour cream pancakes into a slightly healthier version of Greek yogurt pancakes.

Greek Yogurt, Flour, Sugar, Baking Soda, Salt

With Eggs & Vanilla

I cooked the ‘cakes on a hot griddle until they were slightly browned.

Cookin' 'Cakes

Once the pancakes were ready for eatin’, I piled them high and coated them in syrup.

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

The Sweetness of Syrup

Sunday Morning Breakfast

The pancakes were light, slightly eggy and unbelievably delicious.

When I decided to substitute Greek yogurt for the sour cream, I used a combination of plain Greek yogurt and strawberry Greek yogurt. The slightly sweet and fruity flavor from the strawberry Greek yogurt made the pancakes taste different and special. Ryan and I both thought they were the perfect lazy Sunday morning breakfast.

Today’s Plans

Ryan and I are about to leash up the pup for a walk to the farmer’s market. I also hope to get some sun before my sister arrives for the evening.

My sister watched Sadie on Friday night while we were camping and headed off to spend the night with friends and celebrate a friend’s birthday at Universal Studios last night. She’s heading back our way this afternoon and we have plans to workout, go to church, make a yummy dinner and spend some quality time together. I’m excited to see her!

See ya later for lunch!

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

(adapted from The Pioneer Woman’s Cookbook recipe for Edna Mae’s sour cream pancakes)

Makes 12 4-inch pancakes

Indgredients:

  • 8 oz. Greek yogurt (I used 6 oz. plain,  2 oz. strawberry)
  • 7 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

Place Greek yogurt in a medium bowl. Add flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Stir together very gently. Stop short of the mixture being totally combined. You want the pancakes to have some interesting texture.

Whisk eggs in a separate bowl. Add vanilla to eggs and stir to combine. Pour egg mixture into the Greek yogurt-flour mixture. Stir together gently. Don’t worry about the mixture being totally combined; a little white and yellow swirling is fine.

Pour the batter onto a griddle sprayed with cooking spray, ¼ cup at a time. Cook for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes, then flip the pancakes. Cook for another 45 seconds and remove to plate. Repeat with the remaining batter. Top pancakes with syrup, fruit, or desired toppings.

22 Responses

  1. those pancakes sound great and the pictures are awesome quality!

    I hope you have a great day with your sisters. Sounds like a fun time

  2. Oh your pancakes look delicious! I’m such a sucker for a good pancake recipe! Thanks for the idea with mixing the Greek yogurt flavors! Love it! I’m off to church as well here in thirty minutes or so… hope you have a nice Sunday!

  3. Those look like the perfect Sunday breakfast! Have fun with your sister!

  4. I would probably add half ww and half ap flour, but they look absolutely delicious. I’m definitely salivating.

  5. I love putting Greek yogurt into recipes! This Alton Brown carrot cake recipe calls for yogurt and I substituted Greek yogurt and made a bread and muffins. They were so moist! http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/carrot-cake-recipe/index.html
    How great is the Pioneer Woman cookbook? I can’t wait for my next girl’s night to make her sangria!

  6. I always sub Greek Yogurt for sour cream but I don’t think I’ve ever considered putting this in pancakes. How could it be bad though?!?! 🙂

    Sounds like a wonderful day! Enjoy!!!

  7. Yum! Those look much fluffier like ‘normal’ pancakes! I think I’ll try these soon!!!

  8. I love the Pioneer Woman! And want to get her cookbook as well:) I often put yogurt in my pancakes too!

  9. I have never put yogurt in pancakes before! That is something on my list to try very soon!

  10. Those panackes looks awesome , Julie! Thanks for that recipe! Those might be the Memorial Day breakfast menu tomorrow!!!

  11. I love the way the syrup is drizzling down on the pancakes in that picture Julie! Looks delicious!

  12. I think I’m going to try this recipe tomorrow morning- sounds delicious!! I love using Greek yogurt in pretty much everything.

  13. Yay! Glad you love it 🙂 SOOO many good things in there!

  14. Pancakes really are amazing; I just discovered I can make my own healthy ones… and I can’t get enough!

  15. Such a great idea to use Greek Yogurt! I need to try that!

  16. These sound amazing! I love tart buttermilk pancakes! Have you tried making those? It’s super healthy, low fat and adds killer flavor! Of Kefir! That would be interesting! Great pictures and posts lately! I look forward to them each day.

  17. […] thought I would try and search blogs for pancake recipes without the boxed pancake mix. I found on Peanut Butter Fingers this amazing recipe for greek yogurt pancakes. I made some changes in the recipe. (I will list it […]

  18. […] decided to make walnut Greek yogurt pancakes, which I made by following this simple recipe and adding 1/3 c. chopped walnuts to the […]

  19. […] first took Juile’s recipe for Greek Yogurt Pancakes and adapted them a bit! Even the batter was […]

  20. The ingredients list says to use baking powder but you mention baking soda elsewhere. I’m guessing the powder is correct but could you confirm?

    Thanks!

  21. […] Greek yogurt: I love the creamy consistency and wonderful protein content of Greek yogurt. A cup of this stuff, paired with berries, nuts, barley or low-fat granola makes breakfast a breeze and keeps me feeling full for hours. It’s also fabulous in Greek yogurt pancakes. […]

Leave a comment