Bridesmaid Dress Unsuccess

After visiting two different bridal boutiques with my friend Laurel, we came up a little short on the bridesmaid dress front.

Pretty Dresses

The first boutique carried a bunch of Vera Wang dresses that were gorgeous (Hello $13,000 price tag!). Since I already have a dress and didn’t feel like selling my car to buy a different one, we bypassed the bridal gowns and headed toward the bridesmaid dresses. 

We specifically went to the first store to see the Liz Fields dresses I loved online (and posted about here).

Unfortunately they didn’t have two of the three dresses I wanted to see, but they did have the halter dress and Laurel slipped into it within 15 minutes of our arrival.

Halter Dress

Note: This print is AWFUL and I would never put my bridesmaids in Hawaiian print dresses. As I said before, they will all be wearing champagne dresses on the big day.

Terrible print aside, this dress just didn’t cut it. Laurel was a great model, but the dress itself felt really cheap. The material was very thin and it honestly seemed like a dress you could buy at Forever 21 for $19.99. Needless to say, this dress is no longer in the running. 🙂

We hopped in my car and headed to our second boutique where we had much better luck.

I really loved a one-shoulder dress, but think it’s a bit over the price range I’m hoping to stay within for my bridesmaids.

Cute Dress

I think Laurel’s boyfriend needs to plan a hot date so she can wear this dress out because it looked great on her!

Pretty!

After dress shopping, I dropped Laurel off at her apartment and swung by Starbucks for a cappuccino before heading home to take Sadie out so our landlord could show our apartment to potential tenants.

Cappuccino

(I ❤ Starbucks gift cards! Thank you to my Aunt Laurie for this lil’ treat!)

First Timer

About an hour later I headed out to Marshall’s for some shopping that I definitely didn’t need to do, but wanted to do anyway. 🙂

You should all know that I succumbed to a trend today: the running skirt.

Pink Nike Running Skirt

White Nike Running Skirt

I ended up buying the white Nike running skirt because the pink one was a little big and I didn’t want it fallin’ down and my hiney hangin’ out as I run. Good reason, no?

I also purchased a banana bread Larabar at Marshall’s for $.70 which I promptly devoured in the car on my way home. Sch-weet!

Banana Bread Larabar

I think I’m the only one not on the whole “I love Larabars” kick because I haven’t found a flavor that I thought was suuuuper delicious yet. This one was definitely the best flavor I’ve tried so far though and I would buy it again if I found it on sale for $.70. 😉

One Last Thing

I totally forgot to post this picture last night, but it made me smile reeeeal big.

My mom is the cutest and for our dinner party with Ryan’s family she had place settings out for everyone with name tags. She even had one set for Sadie which I thought was hysterical and so adorable. 🙂

Sadie's Place Setting

The Beast

Hope you’re all enjoying the last of the weekend.

I’m off to the grocery store with Ryan to battle the Sunday crowd. Watch out!

16 Responses

  1. Try the Coconut Larabar in the white package!! I’m not a big Larabar fanatic, but oh my god, it doesn’t taste like what it simply is- amazing!

  2. You MUST try the pb cookie lara bars– they’re the only flavor I bother with 🙂

    Cute running skirt! And beautiful second bridesmaid dress! But, I understand needing to stay within a specific price range.

  3. I love the blue one shoulder dress! what designer was that? I found that a lot of the bridesmaid dresses I was looking at were made of really cheap material as well. have you looked at Bill Levkoff? I wore a dress by him in my sister’s wedding. It was affordable and great quality!

  4. Mmm banana bread Larabar – sounds like a winner! I’m dying to try the cinnamon roll and coconut cream, personally.

    Have you checked out JCrew at all for bridesmaid dresses? A lot of them are simple and classic and come in a variety of colors – including champagne! They usually have a bunch in the sale section too so you can usually get a good deal.

  5. Searching bridesmaid dresses must have been so fun… 😀
    I´ve never tried a Larabar, but I´m sure that the Banana Bread flavour tastes awesome… Haha!
    And by the way – so cute what your Mom did for Sadie!
    Lovely pic 😉
    Have a great week, Julie!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  6. I have the pink skirt and wore it for the breast cancer half marathon I did last weekend. If the white is the same style you will like it. It stays put during any run! Plus you can’t beat the cute factor!

  7. I love that blue dress! So elegant!

  8. Is it me, or am I the only one whose never heard of a running skirt???

  9. Definitely a good choice to forgo the big running skirt. Imagine the disasters that could’ve happened with that baby!

  10. I want a running skirt! Maybe the pink one would fit me ; )

    – The Nutrition Nut

  11. 😀 That is so cute. A name tag for Sadie.

  12. […] my dad to get off work. My sister and I even had enough time to run out to T.J. Maxx where she succumbed to the trend and bought her first  running skirt (so cute!) and I found a nice pair of light blue Nike […]

  13. […] tried to be all SkinnyRunner-ish this morning and wear the running skirt I bought back in February that has been collecting dust in my […]

Leave a comment