I Won’t Grow Up

This morning started off on the right foot with a five-mile run.

5 Mile Stats

I leashed Sadie up for our usual loop around the lake near our apartment and really enjoyed this run. I had a lot of things to think about which kept my mind busy and prevented me from thinking too much about the actual run itself. A full mind = A fast run!

Note: Save all your thinking for long runs. 😉

Breakfast

Though I really enjoyed our run, my breakfast was definitely the highlight of the morning thanks to the inclusion of two new ingredients in my breakfast smoothie.

Coo-Coo for Coconut

Since Ryan and I are heading south to the Keys around lunchtime today, I wanted to start my vacation a little early with a tropical smoothie. Coconut screams tropical, so I figured adding a little bit of coconut flava would immediately transplant me to a beach. 😉

My smoothie included:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 c. frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop strawberry protein powder (vanilla would also work)
  • 1/2 c. light coconut milk
  • 1/2 c. cold water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. coconut extract
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 tsp. Bob’s Red Mill xanthan gum

Blend baby, blend!

Island Pour

Spoonful of the Tropics

I filled my mega-huge “J” cup with the cold and creamy smoothie and slurped away.

J = Julie's Cup

I enjoyed this smoothie en route to the FedEx store because I had a package awaiting pickup.

In Transit Breakfast

Can you tell I hit several red lights and got bored on my way there??? 😉

Package Pickup

When I picked up my little package, I opened it immediately (as I do with all gifts…unless the sender is smart enough to write “don’t open until Christmas” or something to make me feel guilty for opening it early).

Check out the goods!

Chewy Vitamins

The kind people at Northwest Natural Products sent me two jars of gummy vitamins to sample after they read about how much I enjoyed their L’il Critters Gummy Bear vitamins. Apparently I need to grow up a bit and enjoy some “adult” vitamins. 🙂

Before taking gummy vitamins (I take a multi-vitamin and a calcium supplement every day), I would always forget to swallow a pill. Now that I’ve switched to gummy vitamins or chocolatey calcium supplements, I look forward to consuming something tasty and always remember.

Somethin’ to think about if you always forget to take  your vitamins! 😀

Since I had already taken my L’il Critters multi-vitamin before picking up this package, I decided to sample the VitaFusion calcium gummy.

Calcium Gummy

Two of these chews contain as much calcium as two 6-ounce glasses of milk, and as much vitamin D as 3 ounces of salmon. I’m a big proponent of added vitamin D to my calcium supplements because optimal levels of the  vitamin can aid in the prevention of breast and ovarian cancer. Gotta keep those ta-tas safe!

This gummy vitamin appealed to my candy-loving sweet tooth and tasted delicious. I think I could have eaten half the jar in one sitting, but since it’s a vitamin, I exercised some self control and only enjoyed two.

Question of the Morning

Do you take any vitamins or supplements every day?

31 Responses

  1. mmmm those vitamins look good haha, is that wierd to say?? i mean they look like candy!!!! I need to get better at taking my supps! i do have multi, B12 and vitamin D!

  2. I take calcium, and occasionally a multi, but I hate to swallow pills!

    I also love coconut milk in shakes. makes them so creamy!

  3. It”s like my liquid B12 that tastes like raspberries. I swear I could drink the entire bottle!

  4. Flintstones chews have nothing on those!

  5. I bet I would be able to remember to take those! I don’t take any vitamins or supplements but I bet I should

  6. I don’t take vitamins every day, but I do make sure to get them in randomly during the week- just a multi-vitamin, calcium, and fish oil.

  7. I take a MV every morning after breakfast – I actually got Big Guy to start taking a MV by buying those same little gummie critters. He, too, will never grow up. 🙂

  8. how cute looking vitamins! I love all things sweet, gummy and chewy 🙂
    But I’m not taking any vitamins regularly. I did it in the winter for about two weeks, but now with all the fresh fruit, I think I’m getting enough of them 🙂

  9. I take a multivitamin, Omega 3 Fish Oils and Calcium. Have a great beach trip for the 4th….I am jealous! 🙂

  10. Yup, I take them daily. I don’t do gummy ones, though. And I agree with the vitamin D. I take one every day along with omega-3 and joint pain supplements.

  11. Oh yummy for gummies!

    I have a viactiv and a b-complex daily.

  12. i know that i should more often, but i try to take fish oil for omega-3 several times a week…and i give them to my dogs too!

  13. I bought multivitamins to take daily, but I always forget since they sit in my medicine cabinet! I should put them somewhere more prominent.

    What time do you get to work/what time do you wake up in the morning? You always do so much before work!

    • i usually wake up at 5:30 a.m. (m,w,f) and 6:30 a.m. (tu, th) and arrive at work between 8 & 9 a.m.

  14. Gummy vitamins are the best! I take Woman’s One a Day multivitamin and a chewy calcium supplement.

  15. I try to but I often forget! If they were chewy and chocolately I might though!

  16. Those gummy vitamins looks delish! I take a multi-vitamin and fish oil every day – I used to take a caclium supplement (chocolate Viactiv), but I haven’t for a while. This reminds me I need to get back into that!

  17. I take a plethora of vitamins everyday! With my afternoon snack, because that’s my smallest meal so its not a struggle to force them down. I take flax oil pills, hair & nail vitamins, herbal wart suppressant (don’t ask), vitamin C disks, Viactiv calcium & vitamin D chews, and a Flintstones kids multivitamin. Heheh. I always take them in that order, too. From most unpleasant (big pill) to most delicious (Flintstones!)

  18. Every morning I take a multi-vitamin, calcium, fish oils and vitamin D….line em’ up and down they go!!

    Nice run:)

  19. I take a multi, Vitamin D in liquid form(kinda gross!), fish oil, and Kyolic Garlic Formula 103, which I swear has kept me healthy for the last year and a half. I haven’t been sick since I started taking the Garlic!!!:)
    I love your J cup. I have my own K cup and it’s one of my favorites!!! I love how you can leave it in your hot car to run errands and when you come back, the drink is still cold…love that!!!

  20. 1/2 a multi every other day to fill in those gaps and I take a calcium/vitamin d supplement every day. Two fish-oil supplements a day as well.

  21. Too funny, I JUST bought some of those at Target and had EIGHT yesterday. I told my dad to put them upstairs in his medicine cabinet and bring me two when he takes his pills every day, because I feel like ODing on calcium might not be a good thing. So tasty though!!

  22. I take a multi, calcium, fish oil, vitamin B and D. I even have a little pill organizer.

  23. I actually take both the vitafusion calcium and multivitamin every day! I always look forward to taking my vitamins now in the morning because they are like little candies. Target makes a great store brand version of the multivitamin that is a little less in price. Definatly something to check out if you decide to start taking the vitafusion multivitamin

  24. I didn’t take supplements, but I’ve just recently started taking Vit D and Fish Oil (Omega-3)…

  25. I take the Viactives and MultiVites too!! When they’re so yummy I never forget to include them in my day!

  26. […] Start your day with a tropical coconut banana smoothie – Peanut Butter Fingers […]

  27. That’s such a cute cup!! Where’d you get it?!

  28. how many calories are in one?

Leave a comment