Kiss Me, I’m NOT Irish

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Hooray for a fun holiday! I love the collage of green I’m seeing everywhere today.

Are you wearing green today?

You bet your booty I am! 😀

Sportin' the Green

Kiss Me! I'm Not Irish!

When I saw this t-shirt a couple years ago, I scooped it up immediately.

Are you Irish?

I’ve always felt a little left out on St. Patrick’s Day since I’m not even the tiniest bit Irish, so this t-shirt makes me feel better about my German and Swedish heritage (at least I think that’s what I am).

Breakfast

I thought about trying to make something green for breakfast, but that idea went out the window pretty quickly when I remembered the recipe I saw in Oxygen magazine yesterday for chocolate protein pancakes.

Chocolate for breakfast? Yes, please.

I only needed three ingredients to make the ‘cakes.

Cottage Cheese + Egg Whites + Chocolate Protein Powder

I blended 1/8 c. cottage cheese, 2 egg whites and a scoop and a half of All the Whey chocolate peanut butter cup protein powder with my immersion blender until I had a smooth batter.

After cooking the pancakes on the griddle (two minutes per side), I was ready to diiiig in.

Cookin' 'Cakes

Aaaalmost Done

Ready!

I topped my pancakes with sliced strawberries and syrup and enjoyed them with a hot mug of tea.

Chocolate Protein Pancakes with Strawberries and Syrup

St. Patty's Day Breakfast

The pancakes were absolutely delicious!

I think they would also be yummy dipped in Greek yogurt. Somethin’ to think about for the future…

Workout

Today’s workout was a goodie! I took a BodyPump class and followed it up with 25 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical.

Great way to start St. Patty’s Day!

Hope the luck of the Irish is with you today!😀

37 Responses

  1. I am Irish! Happy St Patty’s Day! 🙂

  2. I’m German and Swedish too! Must be a Midwest thing…

  3. Julie, where did you get that shirt?? I saw it once and didn’t buy it and I’ve always regretted not buying it!!

  4. I’m like 110% Irish, if that’s even possible. Although I don’t look it at all. I’m wearing green shoes and an orange shirt so its like i’m wearing the flag, haha.

  5. I love your t-shirt! Looks great 🙂
    Happy st.patty’s day 🙂

  6. Your shirt is adorable! And those pancakes sound so good…and so simple!

  7. I am definitely wearing green today, but I wish I had a shirt like that! I’m pretty much 0% Irish as well.

    Your pancakes look awesome, I honestly would have never thought a recipe like that would work. I’m looking forward to trying it.

  8. Such a cute shirt, and you look adorable in it! I’m not Irish either…I think there were maybe 5 non-Irish girls at my Catholic high school! Happy St. Patty’s day, have a great one!

  9. Fun shirt!! I think everyone is Irish on S-Patty’s day, just makes it more fun:)

    Have a great day

  10. that is a funny shirt! I’m not Irish at all either. German and Swedish over here as well 😉 And some Cherokee, which you would never be able to tell.

  11. you look so cute! Love the shirt.
    Im not IRish either–Polish, Czech, and German for me!

  12. Reppin’ India…miss you Swedish friend 🙂

  13. I’m not Irish and I definitely don’t want people kissing me…unless it’s my bf of course 🙂

  14. Mmm! Pancakes…
    What kind of syrup do you use?

  15. LOVE THE SHIRT!!

  16. Cute shirt! I’m not one bit Irish…but I am wearing green today. 🙂

  17. how have i not read your blog before? thanks to therese, i found out about your blog and will be reading from now on! cute shirt!

  18. Just because I have red hair everyone always assumes I am full on Irish! But I DO NOT have freckles everywhere and I can actually get a tan in the summer 🙂

  19. LOL Love the shirt!

  20. I’m german and greek … but I love my greek food so its ok.

    I have a question about protein. How often do you take it? Do you see results? what do you take it for?

    Your breakfast looks amazing

    • i try to incorporate protein into every meal. as for protein powder, i don’t have a set regimen for consuming protein powder, but i just eat it when i want to! i don’t think protein powder is the key to results, but feel that a combination of nutritious eating + exercise is the golden ticket. 🙂 i hope this helps!

  21. […] Kiss Me, I’m NOT Irish […]

  22. I am going to try your pancake recipe. I have vanilla protein powder, but I need to get some chocolate. I had no idea that they had chocolate peanut butter cup! With the cottage cheese being high protein and the powder, your pancakes must have been packed with protein. Sounds like a good meal before I go for a run.

  23. […] I opted for chocolate protein pancakes like the ones I made for breakfast yesterday, but I changed up one of the […]

  24. […] night after dinner, I made another batch of chocolate protein pancakes so I could reheat them and have breakfast in a flash this morning. Chocolate Protein […]

  25. […] with almond breeze as soon as I got home and then started on making peanutbutterfinger’s protein pancakes.  I changed it up a bit using less chocolate protein powder and adding some flax seed meal.   A […]

  26. […] As many of you know, I’m very into living a healthy lifestyle. I eat several small meals a day, go to the gym 5-6 times a week, read up on the latest in nutrition/fitness (SobeFit mag is amazing) and am adamant about eating colorful fruits & veggies/high-fiber carbs.  I’ve never been one for protein supplements ’cause my thinkin’ has always been that it’s just for bodybuilders.  This all changed recently when I saw that Peanut Butter Finger’s Julie (my fave healthy food & fitness blogger!) makes pancakes using protein powder! It’s truly a great spin on traditional pancakes because it fills you up more. (recipe for Julie’s chocolate protein pancakes can be found here). […]

  27. […] them in the morning, but I figured why not have them for lunch??! I decided to base mine off of her Chocolate Protein Pancakes- I made them the same, but I didn’t have chocolate protein, I only had Cookies n’ Cream […]

  28. […] have pancakes that are both yummy AND healthy, but after I stumbled upon the recipe featured here:http://pbfingers.com/2010/03/17/kiss-me-im-not-irish/, and I saw that not only are these ‘cakes super healthy and protein-loaded, they are […]

  29. […] came inside, downed a green tea and water, and showered. I tried to make some protein pancakes a la Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers but they were a total fail. They had the strangest texture and the cottage cheese just […]

Leave a comment