Cookie Stacks

Well, we made it. We’re safetly in St. Pete and are about to embark on a wedding-filled weekend!

Smilin' in St. Pete

But first, let’s back up to last night, which was full of deliciousness!

When we first arrived home, we hung out a bit waiting for my dad to get off work. My sister and I even had enough time to run out to T.J. Maxx where she succumbed to the trend and bought her first  running skirt (so cute!) and I found a nice pair of light blue Nike running shorts for $13. Score!

Once we arrived back home, it was dinn-ah time.

The Spread

For dinner we enjoyed lasagna, scallops with almonds and grapes, baked fish and veggies in a light butter sauce.

My Plate

I went back for seconds of everything but the scallops (but only because they were gone!).

As always, my favorite part of the meal was dessert.

My mom made one of my all-time favorite desserts and everyone overindulged as if we’d never have dessert again!

Chocolate Wafer Cookie Stacks

She made a ton of cookie stacks using Famous Chocolate Wafer Cookies and homemade whipped cream.

I had four stacks. Yes, I am a champ!

The First of Four

This dessert is always such a hit!

Whipped Cream and Chocolate Wafer Cookie Stacks

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 20 chocolate wafers
  • Directions:

    In medium bowl, whip cream, sugar and vanilla with electric mixer until stiff. Place a daub of whipped cream on each cookie, and stack in groups of 4 or 5. Chill in refrigerator 15 minutes.  Cover and chill 3 hours before serving.

    Guest List

    As you know, our wedding guest list will be finalized this weekend. Eek!

    I loved all of your comments and advice regarding wedding guest lists. You guys are awesome!!! Thank you to the amazing Donna, who emailed me with this fabulous diagram to help with guest list decisions.

    Who To Invite!?

    How cool is that!?

    Today’s Plans

    After breakfast, my dad, sister and I are taking a spinning class together before the weekend madness sets in!

    We have two wedding-related appointments, including:

    Annnnd, I’m off!

    12 Responses

    1. I used to have that dessert growing up! Its so good, yet so simple! Have fun with the wedding to-do’s!

    2. Those cookie stacks look amazing!! Have a great weekend!! 🙂

    3. Those cookie snack looks awesome! GO MOM!

    4. Wow – Seems like you and Ryan are off to a great weekend!
      Loved your Mom´s recipe!
      I´m sure it tastes amazing..
      😀
      Have a great weekend, Julie!
      Brazilian XOXO´s,
      Gabriela

    5. Nice cookie stacks that is SO cool, never saw those before.

      I like that invite thing, might just help. Do you have a special # to stick to.

    6. I totally meant to tell you the other day that I grew up in St. Charles, and when I was at Elmhurst College a friend of mine lived in Palatine! Illinois represent! 🙂 Sounds like such a fun weekend-although it can be stressful, it’s once in a lifetime 🙂 Enjoy your wknd!

    7. How do you eat those? Do you disassemble them or stick the whole thing in yo’ mouth? Either way they’d be good!

    8. It is exciting to follow your wedding plans.

      I am sure you need stuff so check out my giveaway.

      http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2010/03/paula-deen-skillets-yes-giveaway.html

    9. […] I wanted my blog name to convey a love of food without seeming too overly healthy because, let’s face it, I’m not about to live my life without indulging in mini Oreo cheesecakes, red velvet cake brownies or whipped cream and chocolate wafer cookie stacks. […]

    Leave a comment