Fettuccine Broc-fredo

The pasta bowl I had for lunch really reminded me of fettuccine Alfredo… only with less butter and more veggies!

Pasta, Cheese and Broccoli Please!

Creating meals that taste indulgent but are actually quite healthy is one of my favorite challenges.

Today my lunch included:

  • Carba Nada egg fettuccine noodles
  • Parmesan cheese
  • One Laughing Cow light French onion cheese wedge
  • Broccoli florets

Get in Mah Belly!

A year ago if you would’ve told me I’d enjoy broccoli, I’d think you were crazy. Now my love for the green florets is flourishing. I wonder what foods I will learn to love in 2010. Catfish? No. Never.

Have I ever tried catfish? No. Would I ever try catfish? No. It creeps me out! A fish with whiskers? C’mon!

My extreme aversion to catfish stems from my high school days when I would go tubing on a lake with friends. One time my friend Michaela and I fell off the tube and our friend who was driving the boat did not pick us up right away.

Instead he circled us with the boat and he and our friends told us about a giant catfish in the lake. I pictured myself being engulfed by a big beady-eyed catfish.

Giant Catfish

Creepy, right!?

Ever since then catfish give me the heebie jeebies. Then Ryan told me catfish grunt and that officially sealed the deal. No catfish for this girl.

What foods have you previously disliked  that you now love?

This list is comprised of only vegetables for me:

  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Asparagus

17 Responses

  1. That catfish is freaky!!
    I used to hate pasta! Now I like it, but don’t love it.

  2. I taught myself to like peppers and olives 🙂

  3. That catfish story gave me chills. I HATE being in any water with fish. Yeah, snorkeling is pretty much out.

    I discovered I like brussel sprouts. I’m also trying to get used to eating seafood. I’ll try bites here and there, but I still can’t order it.

  4. I used to hate parsnips until I tried them this Christmas and now I love them ( I forgot to mention this in my blog, silly me)

  5. I love catfish! Ever since you mentioned it the other day I have been craving it. Got to find some soon!

  6. Oh my goodness that catfish is HUGE!!! I used to hate brussel sprouts as a kid (maybe it was just because as a kid you are supposed to hate them right?) But now I LOVE them!

  7. I didn’t mind catfish until I saw that picture! It may never be the same!!!!

  8. I used to HATE mushrooms, but a few months ago, I convinced myself that raw mushrooms were a healthy addition to my salad! They still creep me out a bit, but I actually enjoy them on occasion! I also cook them and add them to my Egg Beater omelets. Yummm.

  9. P.S. Catfish freaks me out also — yuck!! I also dislike shrimp and scallops. The fact that I’m eating numerous mini creatures (as opposed to 1 fish or chicken) really creeps me out!

  10. ahh that catfish is creepy! I never thought of it like that “fish with whiskers’ LOL

    love the carba nada pasta! sooo tasty!

    food that I dont like but I LOVE now are scallops, they took me a while to get used to the texture but LOVE them now!!

  11. hahah to funny. I acutally really like catfish. But that huge monster looking one scares me! haha.
    Id love to try the carb nada pasta! how does it differ from regular pasta?

    hhmm I was never really a picky eater but i think eggs was one food i used to hate..but now I love egg white omelets and things like that.

    • i love carba nada pasta. i actually think it tastes like normal pasta, which is awesome since it’s nutritionally amazing! i order it off netrition.com.

  12. Haha, that picture is disgusting. However, I still do like catfish. For a bottomfeeder it’s extremely light and refreshing – tastes like cod.

  13. […] disliked food?   Catfish. Never tried it, never will. It disgusts me. (My reasoning may be found here.)    Food you still haven’t tried to make but want to?   Bread. Ive made biscuits and […]

  14. […] recipe because I can 100 percent guarantee your suggestion will not be selected… I have my reasons. […]

  15. […] adore nearly every animal with the exception of two creatures: Catfish and […]

Leave a comment