Pre-Thanksgiving Cranberry Joy

Cranberry sauce is one of my favorite dishes on Thanksgiving. It’s also delicious as a spread on leftover turkey sandwiches with cream cheese (if you’ve never tried this, you must).

What’s your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

This week I impulsively bought a bag of cranberries at the grocery store when a random idea popped in my head. Rather than wait until Thanksgiving to experience the joy of cranberry sauce, I figured I’d make my own cranberry concoction using the berries and only one other ingredient: sugar.

Since I still have my mom’s food processor on loan, I used the nifty lil’ slicer to chop the cranberries into a relish.

cranberries

Beautiful Berries

chopped cranberries

All Chopped Up

I then added just enough sugar so the cranberries lost a little bit of their bite. Much better!

This was so good and so easy. I ate a bunch of my sweet cranberry relish last night but managed to save some to stir into my Greek yogurt for breakfast.

cranberries and yogurt

Cranberry Relish and Yogurt

I also used a toasted Kashi strawberry flax waffle to dip into the thick mixture.

thursday breakfast

Thursday's Breakfast

I loooved this breakfast and the homemade cranberry relish really made it extra special. Woohoo!

Jumpy Morning

Do you ever have those mornings where everything makes you jump and you feel completely on edge?

This morning on my walk with Sadie every little drop of an acorn made her jump which, in turn, made me jump. We were two jumpy lil’ ladies. I hope I relax soon! Though I don’t think this cup of coffee I’m drinking will exactly help me calm down… 😉

 

20 Responses

  1. Yes! I’m having one of those mornings right now as I am preparing for a scholarship interview! eek!

    I love thanksgiving food. The turkey is always a big draw, although the old school green bean casserole is pretty darn tasty too! 😀

  2. i have never actually had cranberry sauce…i grew up quite the picky eater, thanksgiving meant turkey & noodles haha oh how things change 🙂
    i totally know what you mean about jumpy days, happens to me quite often

  3. My favorite Thanksgiving dish = homemade chunky cranberry sauce! 😀

  4. I love the cranberry relish! My favorite dish is stuffing. Yum! Can’t wait!

  5. I am going to try and make cranberry relish I never have!!

    Sweet Potatoes are my favorite part of thanksgiving!

  6. Favorite Thanksgiving food — sweet potatoes — bring it!

  7. I think my favorite T-day dish is stuffing…mmmm….We always used to buy the crandberries in the can (and you’d plop the whole thing out onto a plate and you could still see the rings from the can on it, lol). I like your cranberry relish idea much better!

  8. My fav Thanksgiving dish was always stuffing.. I guess thats the carb fiend in me.. mmm a whole plate of bread. lol

  9. not a big cranberry person–although it looks tasty for sure!

    My fav Thanksgiving dish is green bean caserrole! YUM! Can you believe its almost thanksgiving? Doesnt feel like it at all!

  10. Mmmmm I love cranberry relish! My mother-in-law and I are the only ones I know who like. Everyone else looks at us like we’re crazy. It’s soo delicious on turkey or on a turkey sandwich. Glad someone else likes it!

  11. Can you believe we never had cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving lol but I think we might have it this year =).

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  12. yumm!!!! that looks so great! you just got me in the mood for the same exact thing! i mean, why wait till thanksgiving??

  13. I love sweet potatoes casserole, and of course turkey with a little bit of gravy. The turkey might even taste better leftover the next day!

  14. […] Pre-Thanksgiving Cranberry Joy […]

  15. […] the cream cheese on top of my sweet wheat Alternative Bagel before adding several spoonfuls of the cranberry relish I made last week on top of the creamy spread. Sweet Wheat Bagel with Cranberry Relish and Cream […]

  16. […] cranberry relish!!  Click here to see how to make it!  Thanks for the idea, Julie!   I had mine on top of an english muffin […]

  17. We use that cranberry relish but add in a ground up orange as well. Very yummy.

    We’ve always made “mimi’s peas” instead of green bean caseserole… try it sometime… just substitute frozen peas for the frozen green beans. It’s delish and a fave in our house!

  18. […] spinach with leftover green beans and broccoli from last night’s dinner, mushrooms, homemade cranberry relish, feta and goat cheese. I used Annie’s Naturals raspberry vinaigrette dressing for added […]

  19. […] tart and creamy. I enjoyed a cup of Chobani Greek yogurt topped with fresh blueberries and homemade cranberry relish. Easy and […]

Leave a comment