Two Dresses

Since we finished printing and compiling our save the dates last night, I’ve been in wedding-planning mode! I like the feeling of checking things off my to-do list. 😀

After work today I headed to Something Blue Bridal Boutique to meet with Lori to discuss the bridesmaid dress I fell in love with back in April.

I had a couple of concerns regarding the color and the design and wanted to make sure all of my issues were addressed before fully committing to the dress.

Lori isn’t sure if the dress I like is available in the cashmere color I want, and will be calling to check on Thursday.

While I was at the boutique, I browsed some of the other bridesmaid dresses and really liked a pretty, whimsical dress by Alvina Valenta.

Alvina Valenta Dress

Here is a ghetto photo-of-a-phone photo of me in the dress:

Photo of a Photo

I really love how romantic an flowy this dress feels.

If the one-shoulder Jim Hjelm dress is not available in the cashmere color I love, the above dress may be a contender.

To jog your memory, or if you are new to the blog, here’s a picture of the Jim Hjelm dress:

Jim Hjelm Dress

Which one do you like better?

I really love both dresses though they look completely different!

Dinner

Since I arrived home later than usual, I wanted to get dinner on the table fast.

Enter, frozen pizza.

CPK White Pizza

Ryan and I are huge fans of the California Pizza Kitchen frozen pizzas and the crispy thin crust white pizza is one of the best.

The pizza cooked up in 10 minutes, and we enjoyed several slices with roasted broccoli on the side.

White Pizza Slice

Roasted Broc

Dinner

Dinner was fast and tasty… Just the way I like it.

I’m off to read my book for a bit before hoppin’ into bed. See ya in the morning!

33 Responses

  1. I like the 2nd dress but I like structured pieces. We have a weekly Kashi pizza night (usually Thursdays) and I love how easy and great those meals are.

  2. Jim! I like that one!

  3. The only thing I don’t like about the first one is it doesn’t seem like it would be flattering on every figure…unless all your bridesmaids are small? They are both beautiful! My favorite is the 2nd one though:) It seems like it could be worn again too.

  4. I love the Jim Hjelm dress. It looked so great on your sister!

    The CPK pizzas & the Kashi kind are both SO SO yummy! Great fast dinners! I need to pick up one of those!

  5. Such different looks! I actually really like the first one!

  6. I think I like the second best – a little more structured and universally flattering. The second one is totally cute on you though!

  7. the second dress is SMOKING!

  8. both dresses are gorgeous!! the first one is so angelic, but i think it might just hang on some girls. the second one has a better structure and will look better on more people. both colors are awesome as well 🙂

  9. Majority rules– the second one is gorgeous!! Would you get it in that colour?

  10. Love CPK pizzas! I remember when I was wedding planning, I carried this long, long list with me everywhere and just kept checking stuff off!

  11. Definitely the Jim Hjelm dress! You NEED to try Freschetta pizza. It is definitely the best frozen pizza on the market. I just wish they made a vegan version 😦

  12. You’ve gotta go for the Jim Hjelm dress…that baby is gorgeous!! Plus, I think the one-shoulder can be flattering on anyone. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that it comes in your color! 🙂

  13. I love the 2nd dress, I hope they end up having it in your color!!

  14. You have gorgeous taste!! From an apple-shape, I think the 2nd one would be more flattering- your tiny tummy looks great in anything! Good luck choosing!

  15. I like the second dress better!!

  16. Oh my goodness! Those dresses are to die for.
    I think the pink is very flirty and feminine. I love the color too.

    The black is bold and sexaaaay! The one shoulder look is awesome.

    I really couldn’t decide. haha. Good luck 😉

  17. i love both dresses but it depends what style of wedding you’re having! the Valenta dress is very laid abck and casual! xx

  18. I like the 2nd dress! I think it may be more flattering for all body types, not sure how the other bridesmaids feel, but you look GREAT in both and are VERY slim, so I would suggest the 2nd one to make others who may not be as slim and trim (love that combo of words!) as you to feel comfortable.
    love wedding planning, wish i could do it all over again. enjoy every moment!

  19. I like the second dress better because it seems a little fancier for a wedding. Both both are gorgeous!

  20. I love both dresses! I think it depends what you’re going for…the first dress is definitely more romantic and soft, but the second dress is more elegant and dramatic. You can’t go wrong with either though…they’re both way prettier than the usual plain strapless bridesmaid dress!

  21. I like you original pick a little better but the 2nd choice is still beautiful! Both will look wonderful in a wedding. And I’m sure your bridesmaids are appreciative of your choices. They aren’t watermelon colored satin. Like I get to wear in September. Oh joy.

  22. I think both dresses would look pretty. Love those CPK pizzas!

  23. Hey girl, just found your blog. I love the name! I’m a “peanut butter spoon” kinda girl! Bit of a germaphobe I guess haha!

    I LOVE both dresses. You’re right – they are completely different. I guess it all depends on what kind of “vibe” you are going for.

  24. I love both, but I think I like the Alvina Valenta one more – like you said, it’s more romantic and flowy, and a little more feminine. That would be my choice!

  25. I like the one shoulder one!

  26. I think I like the Jim Hjelm dress better but I love them both! My bridesmaids dress in September is pretty but I wish it looked more like your choices!!

  27. They are both so pretty- the first one is more flowy & spring-like..and the second one is SO elegant & formal. Personally, I like the Jim Hjelm dress better- I think it is beautiful & more of the theme you are goin for..?

  28. I agree with a lot of the other girls. I think the 2nd dress is best for different figures. Its never fun for bridesmaids to purchase dresses they dont feel flatter there figure.. And i think the 2nd one is beautiful and can be worn multiple times.. Id wear it out, especially in that color… it sounds very functional.

  29. I love the second dress!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Im sure you will pick the right one for your bridesmaids!!!!! So excited for you!!!!!!!!!

    Have a wonderful night girl!!!!!!

  30. I love one shoulder dresses so I have to go with the black one!

  31. I like the Jim Hjelm dress better but both are really pretty… I want them! lol

  32. Second dress (the original rich chocolate colored one)! I it AMAZING!

Leave a comment