Odd Combo

I opened a can of garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas) to use in last night’s dinner and had several servings leftover since I only ate a cup with my salmon and broccoli.

A salad seemed like the easiest way to incorporate the beans into my lunch, so I threw together leftover roasted broccoli, salmon and grape tomatoes and included several handfuls of the beans in the mix.

Salmon + Broc + Chickpeas + Grape Tomatoes

Fishy Veggies

Pink Salmon = Pretty

Simple but tasty!

Lettuce-Free Salad

Side Order

Though this salad was pretty large, I knew I’d feel unsatisfied after lunch if I didn’t include a side of something sweet.

With another cup of garbanzo beans remaining in the can, I decided to toss them in cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice and roast them for 25 minutes last night. Inspired by Angela, I topped the cinnamon-roasted beans with Crazy Richards chunky peanut butter and stirred the beans and pb until every last chickpea was covered in the creamy nuttiness.

Cinnamon Peanut Butter Chick Peas

I then popped the cinnamon and peanut butter-covered chickpeas in the fridge overnight and by lunchtime rolled around today, I had a cold, sweet and nutty treat!

"So Check Me Out"

Odd combo? Sure. Tasty combo? Definitely.

Cinnamon Peanut Butter Chickpeas

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. canned chickpeas
  • 1 tbsp. peanut butter
  • Cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice to taste

Directions:

  • Toss chickpeas with cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice until fully coated
  • Roast chickpeas on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray for 15 – 25 minutes at 375 degrees
  • Remove chickpeas from the oven and place them in a bowl
  • Top the chickpeas with the peanut butter and stir until the peanut butter covers all of the cinnamon-roasted chickpeas
  • Enjoy hot or refrigerate for a cold treat
  • (Note: You may want to add honey or maple syrup to the peanut butter before tossing if you desire a sweeter taste, though I thought it was delicious without any sweeter.)

I’ve successfully included peanut butter in both my breakfast and lunch so far today… Let’s see if dinner can complete the trifecta!

25 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh, I love the peanut butter chickpea idea!! I’m definitely bookmarking that as a snack idea. I have a jar of PB&Co. Mighty Maple that I think would be heavenly!

  2. Those “dessert” chickpeas sounds great! Yet another recipe I would never think of creating on my own.

  3. Wow those look delicious!

  4. OK, that’s definitely something I have never heard/seen/thought of. Talk about creative. That’s nutty:)

  5. That is quite an odd combo that I never would have thought of, but I LOVE chickepeas and PB, I’m sure it’s great!!!

  6. Now that’s an interesting combo! Good idea though for when you have 3/4 of a can of garbanzos still sitting around!
    My dinner will almost definitely be including some PB tonight 😛

  7. Weird… but yummy!

  8. Girl, I’m gonna have to try that for a snack. I like my chickpeas roasted with olive oil and salt/pepper. Turn the oven to 375 and bake them until they’re crunchy. Maybe 25 minutes. Spice them any way you like. So good.

  9. That looks so good. what a perfect little snack!

  10. I saw these on Angela’s site and now on yours – I definitely have to try this chickpea idea!

  11. That sounds very good! It isn’t something I would have ever though of on my own…I love the blog world! 🙂 Thanks Julie!

  12. How much do you love Garbanzo Beans? I put then in salads, I put them in rice, or just have them in a soup style (my family is Cuban and they love their beans on top of rice – but I try to stay away from rice as much as I can).

  13. I saw this recipe, and after work rushed to make it. Omg it is so so good!! I only took a few bites since I am running out the door for church, but I cant wait to come home to my yummy treat!!

  14. I have never liked chickpeas, but ever since Angela first posted about the recipe I have been super curious!

  15. do you add some kind of dressing with your salmon salad?

    p.s. i love your blog, i follow it everyday!

    • nope! the leftover salmon was flavorful on its own & the roasted broccoli was seasoned w/ garlic salt so it had plenty of flavor w/o any dressing. 🙂

  16. Wow, those chickpeas look amazing! I need to try some chickpea recipes. I’ve been wanting to try pumpkin spice roasted chickpeas for so long.

  17. Hi Julie!

    My bestest friend, Kari, got me hooked on your blog. I love your new ideas ESPECIALLY this cinnamon pb chick pea recipe looks AWESOME. I can’t wait to try it. I love your new and delicious ideas, it keeps eating healthy a lot tastier and interesting! 🙂

  18. I was reading over your chickpea mix- with the peanut butter & spices & all I could think was “YUM!” It does sound random, but SUCH a good random 😀

  19. love your blog, but you used the term egghead wrong. it’s when someone is out of touch with certain realities because they are so involved in their own intellectual interests. it has nothing to do with blonde moments or being dumb.

  20. Chickpeas are such an awesome and satisfying texture that it’s hard to go wrong with them! I never would have thought of this one but I can’t wait to try PB with the beans.

  21. This is certainly an odd combo – but it looks soooo good and easy to make! I think I might make these just to freak out my family… 😉

  22. […] Cinnamon peanut butter roasted chick peas […]

Leave a comment