What Do You Wear?

I haven’t had a big ol’ salad in a long time!

Today seemed like a good day to resurrect this leafy lunchtime favorite.

Big Ol' Salad

I topped a big bed of romaine lettuce with leftover roasted cauliflower and zucchini and chicken salad made with grilled chicken, sweet corn, light Miracle Whip and freshly chopped portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Chicken Salad

Tuesday's Lunch

This salad it sittin’ big in my belly. I always feel like my stomach expands a little after a big salad. It’s gotta accommodate all those extra veggies, after all.

What Do You Wear?

For Part One of my bachelorette party, I’m heading to Chicago to party it up for a weekend with my girlfriends and top off the celebration by running in the Chicago Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon.

A group of my girlfriends will also be running in the race and we want to wear matching running outfits. My friend Merri asked me today what I like to wear when I run and it made me think… There are certain items of clothing I love to wear and others that I hate.

I love running in workout tops, sports bras and tank tops but can’t stand running in a t-shirt. I get so hot and feel almost trapped. I may be insane, but I really can’t stand running in a t-shirt.

My ideal running outfit looks a lot like this (but only if I’m running outside… I would never run without a shirt on at the gym).

My Fav Running Buddy and Me

(This picture was taken the morning of our engagement… I was still completely in the dark at this point!)

When I do strength training I like to wear spandex pants or capris because I don’t want to worry about accidentally flashing some butt cheek when I’m doing dead lifts or step ups.

What do you like to wear when you work out?

This morning I wore an awesome pair of Thorlo padded running socks (in pink, naturally) on my run with Sadie.

Pink Padded Socks

These socks were great and the extra padding was definitely appreciated since I got a lil’ blister on my left foot after my 6 mile run on Saturday.

27 Responses

  1. To workout in, I love capris or tights with a Dry Fit top! I will occasionally wear a t-shirt, if I’m feeling fat and like being in a roomy shirt–but it’s seriously disgusting since I sweat so much!! I have a weird obsession with sports socks..I like Jox Sox 😀 but really, I like ALL socks-haha!

  2. I have specific sports bras I save for running days, and I either run in nike tempo running shorts or under armour running shorts. I also can’t stand running in a t-shirt.

  3. I don’t run, but whenever I go to the gym (for either cardio or strength) I wear a t-shirt and one of my many pairs of Nike Tempos. I’m too self-conscious to wear tank tops to the gym, but I don’t really have a problem wearing them regularly. Odd, I know.

    P.S. You should wear a pink workout tank with bejeweled “Runaway Bride” text on it…maybe a veil. Just sayin’! 😉

  4. I, too, hate running in t-shirts. They get damp an heavy. No good!

    I run in running shorts with a tiny pocket for my key and sports bras or tanks with built in bras

    For yoga, I typically wear mid calf yoga capris and tanks. I have a few pair of long yoga pants, but I feel that couple of extra inches of covered leg makes me hotter 🙂

  5. I don’t mind running in t shirts at all! In fact I always wear t shirts to the gym..I don’t like tops specifically made for working out..too tight and I feel like I can’t breathe or something..and I don’t like wearing anything that could
    show any boobage bc these babies bounce around a lot haha!

    Hey I posted a sweet potato ricotta fritter recipe on my post today! Thought you might like it.

    • for me boobage is never a problem. these little babies only wish they could stick out more. 😉

  6. I live in Boston and it’s very cold when I run in the morning. Right now I wear leggings, shorts, a long sleeved shirt, a light jacket, gloves and a hat…oh and a sports bra. I can’t wait until it warms up and I can run in a tshirt!

  7. I always wear running shorts with the built in liners. That and a tank top. I haven’t ever been one to be comfortable in just a sports bra. But when it is cold I go for tights and light jacket plus gloves! The one thing I HATE to be cold is my hands!

  8. But you’re wearing a ring on your left hand??

    • yep! it was a heart-shaped ring (a gift from ryan on my birthday many years ago), but not my engagement ring. it was promptly replaced that evening. 🙂

  9. I agree about the T-shirts while running, I always have to roll under the sleeves! I could never wear a belly showing shirt though — I would feel really exposed while I’m sweating!

  10. I can’t stand to run in t-shirts either. I really don’t like wearing them period, I used to have 2 t-shirts when I got married. My Husband thought it was so odd. He loves t-shirts so he has a ton, I don’t get it. I want to throw them all out haha.

    I run in running shorts, can’t stand to run in pants. Even in the cold I brave the shorts and put on a light jacket, or long sleeve dri fit shirt.

  11. I dont like running in shorts…I chafe pretty badly! I prefer to wear form fitting workout capris for all of my workouts with a tanktop.

  12. If i’m running at home on the treadmill or at the gym, its a tank and shorts (home sometimes just sports bra) but seeing as I live in canada must wear pants when running outside unless its summer. One thing I MUST have are my Asics running shoes…always wear my faithful Asics:)

  13. I’m a t-shirt kinda gal, but I NEED my Nike Tempo shorts. They’re the only thing I find comfy!!

    I just read your entire engagement story and it made me tear up. I’m such a sucker for love stories!! You two make a gorgeous couple 🙂

  14. your coming to my hometown!!! Maybe we can plan a blogger meet up while you are here 🙂

  15. I cant work out in a t-shirt either! Drives me crazy. Glad I’m not the only one!!

  16. Sure hope your marathon takes place before the party-ing begins. Hangover headaches & running – not a good combination……ha-ha!!

  17. Hey girlie!! i LOVE the pic of you and your running partner! aww vizsla’s are GORGEOUS dogs! i WISH my cockapoo could be my running partner…but his max is 2-miles! 🙂
    I always run in just a sports bra and shorts outside when the weather is above 75…at the gym I wear a t-shirt because I don’t want to fling sweat on the person treadmilling next to me, or have a nasty old man look at me…hehe!
    I hope you’re having a great tuesday!
    xoxo!

  18. i usually run in a sports bra and a tank top and shorts. i have never really thought about it! i also didn’t know you were engaged, since i am a fairly new reader.. i need to go check out that post! i am a newly engaged woman as well 🙂

  19. I prefer working out in some sort of workout tank and capris. I don’t really care for shorts or tee shirts. Mainly for the same reasons you listed.

  20. I’m really weird when it comes to work out clothes! I almost always wear a t-shirt and black leggings. I get self-conscious when I’m at the gym and feel too exposed in a tank top. I also don’t like to wear shorts because I’m super pale!! lol

  21. Strangely I feel uncomfortable wearing too little clothing when I run. I usually wear nike running shorts and a big t-shirt. I can’t run in just a sports bra, I feel weird…

  22. I wear tanks and capris or pants to the gym and run outside in tanks and shorts. I personally hate t-shirts and don’t even own any, I donate any I get to Goodwill! I don’t think any female should go in public in a shirt that was made to fit a guy, haha! 😉 Can you tell I’m very girly when it comes to clothes? =)

  23. Chicago is such a fun place to celebrate a bachelorette weekend! I live in Chicago year round and we had a great time at my bachelorette party. where are you girls planning on going?

Leave a comment