Pasta Party

This morning while watching Sadie hunt lizards in our new backyard (!!!), I had a chance to upload pictures from Saturday night’s pasta party.

After moving all day on Saturday, Ryan and I were so ready to chow down!

Hungry Couple

Our friends Merri and Pete were having a pasta dinner party to “carbo-load” for Sunday morning’s 5k race. Any excuse for yummy pasta and garlic bread, right?

Pete & Merri

Pete and Merri spent hours preparing a real Italian meal for us to enjoy. Pete is Italian and made his own pasta sauce and meatballs. He said his mom would make this elaborate dinner every Sunday night when he was growing up! Lucky boy, huh?

Garlic Bread

Laurel's Salad

Pasta + Sauce + Meatballs + Italian Sausage

Everything was so delicious. I think everyone went back for seconds of everything.

Fuelin' Up for the 5k!

We had to adequately fuel for the 5k, right?

I seriously couldn’t get enough of Pete’s sauce and Merri even put a bunch of it in some Tupperware for me and Ryan to take home with us. (We already ate all of it last night when we made ravioli!)

After dinner, we hung out for a bit before it was time for dessert. Even though we were all full at this point, we still managed to call our second stomachs into action for zepploes.

I had never had or heard of zeppoles before Pete and I haven’t looked back since. They’re beyond delicious!

Pete makes the zeppoles by wrapping mozzarella cheese in pizza dough, before frying the balls and tossing them in powdered sugar. Are you drooling yet???

Fry Awaaay

Gimme Some Suga!

Ready for Eatin'

I had three and enjoyed every last bite!

Zeppole

It was a great night with great friends and great food. Great all around! 😀

I’m off to shower… See ya after breakfast!

16 Responses

  1. I have never had zeppoles, but they sound so delicious!

  2. zeppoles- I have never heard of them.. .cheese and powdered sugar.. sounds very very interesting! LOOKS great like a donut hole though!!

    That pasta dinner party did you good on your race! Good job on running that again!!

  3. Oh my goodness..I’ve never heard of zeppoles…but now I’m craving them!! Yum!

  4. I’ve never had zeppoles before either, but they sound amazing. Pasta parties were always my fav part about high school track haha.

    • we used to do pasta parties for high school diving, too! now that i think about it, it’s kinda odd… it’s not like diving is an endurance sport or anything… 😉

  5. Wow looks delicious! I need to carb up like you 🙂

  6. I love pasta parties! We used to have them before big swim meets in high school. All that food looks delicious!

  7. I’ve been to race-sponsored pasta parties for marathons (halves, too), but it looks like a great way to get friends together. I need to think of them more often for sure. It helps you had a REAL italian to do the cookin 🙂

  8. Ah..yum! Any way you snagged his mom’s sauce recipe? I’d love to make my own:)

    Also, I tagged you on my blog today!

  9. Can you share the pasta sauce recipe? Looks delicious! Thanks….

  10. I love big dinners with friends…i”m glad you had an awesome night!

  11. Looks like a fun night! I love zeppoles and am totally jealous that you had them!
    Have a great week!

  12. Looks like you had a great weekend!! Yum and fun:)

  13. Oh my God. Those zeppoles sound like one of the best things I’ve ever heard of!! Have you ever seen them on a menu at an Italian restaurant? I’d love to try them!! Glad you had such a good night, the food looks delish!

    • they are unreal! i’ve never, ever seen them on a menu anywhere. i think they’re only a homemade treat!

  14. you and your girls are soo precious! love it! that food looks AWESOME too!

Leave a comment