Ladies Who Lunch

According to Wikipedia, ladies who lunch are “slim, well-off, old-money, well-dressed women who meet for lunch socially, normally during the work week. Typically, the women involved are married and non-working.”

Well, today I was a lady who lunched with two friends, but all of us are employed, and only two of us were married (Not me… at least not yet!)… We’re off the mark a bit from Wikipedia’s definition, but I think that’s a good thing. πŸ˜‰

Lunching Ladies

Are you a “lady who lunches?” If not, would you want to be?

I’ll take the old-money, well-off, slim stuff… but the “unemployed” part throws me for a loop! I think I function better when I have more stuff on my plate, and without kids or anything to occupy me in the day, I think I’d go crazy without a job!

Lunch

Today I met up with my friends (and former coworkers) Ryan and Ashley for lunch downtown.

Ryan and Ashley

I enjoyed a roast beef and provolone cheese unwich (a sandwich made on lettuce rather than bread) from Jimmy John’s.

Jimmy John's Roast Beef and Provolone Cheese Unwich

We had a nice time catching up over yummy food.

Ashley got married in the beginning of January and I haven’t seen her since her wedding. I loved hearing about her newly married life.

Ryan ran her first half marathon at the end of February and I was anxious to hear about her race. She did awesome! We’ll both be running in a 10K on Saturday which should be lots o’ fun. πŸ™‚

Q & A Update

Last night I took a lot of time revamping my Q&A page. I added a bunch of the questions I received multiple times during the Ask Me Anything week to the page and I think it’s a lot more comprehensive. I hope you enjoy! As always, if you have any questions, I’d love to hear from you at pbfingers@gmail.com.

Tonight

After work today Ryan and I are taking a mini road trip (Does a one-hour drive count as a road trip?) to Winter Haven to check out some scuba diving equipment that my dad found on craigslist.

The pricing seems great and we’re anxious to see if the stuff looks good in person. The couple is about our size so hopefully everything will fit and be functional.

We’re hoping to get some decent scuba gear as the summer approaches because we want to be able to dive a lot!

Are you a fan of craigslist? Have you ever bought anything from someone who posted something on the site?

I love craigslist. I’ve found three apartments and a couch on craigslist. I’m quite a fan!

14 Responses

  1. My bf gets a lot of stuff on craigslist. Ever since the craigslist killer I’ve been scared of it haha.

  2. Is that SunTrust cafe??? Not to seem uber sketchy but I work in the building directly across the street and have eaten there a hundred times. Small world! Looks like you girls had a blast!

  3. Love you hair today!! Little braid is cute.

    Nice to catch up with old friends

  4. i havent bought anything off of there, but i keep looking now for good deal on new place to live.

    2 months ago i put my older Trek bike on there for sale, and it was sold, paid for and picked up in less than 24 hours. twas awesome!

  5. I bought lots of wedding stuff of off craigslist.
    I would love to be a lady who lunches. I much rather stay at home and do nothing right now. Can you tell I need a vacation!

  6. I don’t think I would ever want to be a lady who lunches……. I know many women would, but I really prefer staying at home or having people over to my house to visit! πŸ˜‰

  7. I agree with Em above…I don’t think I am a “lady who lunches”…but you looked liked you had a GREAT time!

  8. I love jimmy johns but could never pass up the bread on my sandwich. It’s s good! half the reason I go there in the first place

  9. I’m glad to see other adults who wear braids in their hair like me! (If 22 is considered an adult…)

    Do you use bobby pins to hold it in?

  10. I am a lady who lunches! I am unemployed, not by choice (Michigan auto industry downsizing…), and in agreement with your comment, I am going crazy without a job 😦 I have learned to enjoy the time off, time to reorganize closets, and move at my own pace, and go to lunch (occasionally). Obviously, I am not the Wiki definition.

    Love the JJ Unwich!!

    • i hope you find something soon but it’s great that you’re enjoying your time off! i NEED to go through my closets…

  11. LOVE criagslist!!
    YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!
    i didnt know jimmy johns had lettuce instead of bread! yum!

Leave a comment