Pump Up the Jam

“Pump up the jam, pump it up

Pump it up yo pump it!”

My morning was pumpin’ in two different ways…

Pump One: BodyPump

I think taking Friday off from strength training made me feel extra powerful as I tackled my typical Monday morning BodyPump class. It felt good to push my muscles and feel the burrrn. After spending several years in the gym as a cardio queen, it’s funny that I now definitely prefer strength training to cardio.

I actually have a little plan in my head once my half marathon training is over that will really focus on strength training. I think I may try waving goodbye to long cardio sessions, replacing them with short, fast interval or HITT sessions to see how my body responds. I think my body will be ready for some time away from running and steady-rate cardio after the half on August 1. Should be interesting!

Pump Two:Pumped Up Protein Oats

Super simple breakfast this morning: Pumped up protein oats!

Only two ingredients were used to create this filling bowl of protein-packed oatmeal.

  • 1/2 c. old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 scoop All the Whey chocolate peanut butter cup protein powder

Oats + Protein Powder

I combined the oats and protein powder and decent amout of water and stirred everything up before placing it in the microwave for a minute, stirring it every 20 seconds or so to prevent overflow. After a minute, I added a little more water and microwaved it for another 30 seconds, stirring it every ten seconds.

Chocolate Protein Oats

Come in Close for the Good Stuff

I ate this combination a lot during the winter months when it was chilly, but it still tastes wonderful even when the weather is scorching.

On the side I enjoyed dark cocoa Pumpkorn, a tasty combination of cocoa powder-dusted pumpkin seeds.

Dark Cocoa Pumpkorn

This was one heck of a chocolatey breakfast… Just the way I like it! 😀

Question of the Day

Did you listen to Jock Jams CDs?

I did and I still love classics like:

21 Responses

  1. Oh we loved Jock Jams when we were little. We would put them on and rollerblade in my basement…hahaha.

  2. Jock Jams was THE thing to listen to in elementary school… I think I had 3 of them!

    Sadly, a lot of my friends up here have never heard of them! What’s that about?!?!

  3. Oh you KNOW I did! I think I had 4 of them – my friends and I would have dance parties in my driveway and pretend we were running out as cheerleaders at a basketball game. We were nuts!
    Wasn’t there one that had Coolio on it – “1,2,3,4 get your woman on the floor…” 😉

  4. Lots of Jock Jams in my past, for dance, cheerleading and just rockin’ out 😉

  5. LOL…YES!!! I loved Jock Jams when I was younger. Too funny.

    Have a great day!

  6. OMG those songs are classics! Haha I should update my Ipod with some of those gems to keep me pumpin’

  7. Hey!

    So I went on a little run this morning and a 90’s hit came on—Semi Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind! Just thought I should tell ya in case you don’t have it on your mix!

  8. Yum!!
    And those songs bring me back!

  9. Cotton candy sweet to go let me see that tootsie roll! LOVE Jock Jams! And LOVE that you put them in your posts 🙂

  10. Love the Jock Jams!! I remember when Jock Rock came out and I didn’t have it, it was a really upsetting time 😉

  11. jock jams = awesome! i was also a big fan of the theme song from “space jam” 🙂

  12. Haha..I used to love those in high school!

  13. Cocoa pumpkin seeds? Wow, I thought they only had cocoa almonds! I love those, so I imagine the pumpkin seeds would be great! I don’t like chocolate-covered nuts very much, but I love the cocoa-dusted ones!

  14. I loved the Jock Jams CD. I listened to them alot in my cheerleading days, just throw in the tape and dance around!

  15. I LOVE Jock Jams! I love it when they play Jock Jams during spinning class 😀

  16. If you were a cheerleader, knew a cheerleader, or danced at all, you have owned Jock Jams. Not to be confused with Space Jams, Jock Jams had more longevity, lol.

  17. I actually have no idea what “jock jams” are, although I do know the song you were quoting. So maybe I know them, and I just don’t know them by that name!

    The chocolately protein breakfast looks great! I’m actually thinking of taking my first strength training class today. It isn’t until this afternoon, and I don’t know if I’ll have the time. But me? Skipping cardio for weights? Scary thought!

  18. […] daily (or even weekly sometimes), but I do like having it available to blend into smoothies or stir into oatmeal to add extra protein to otherwise less-than-filling meals. My favorite protein powder is All the […]

Leave a comment