Butterscotch Brownie Bars

Cooking is something I’ve grown to really love, but baking is something I’ve always adored.

I wonder if my love for baking stems from my love for sweets?

Today I baked a totally new treat!

Last week I was loving the combination of butterscotch chips with roasted peanuts and enjoyed it as an afternoon snack throughout the week.

Butterscotch + Peanut Butter

Toady I figured I could take this tasty creation to a new level by combining the two in a brownie-like bar.

I started by melting butterscotch chips and butter in a small saucepan.

Butterscotch + Butter

I stirred the warm mixture into a bowl with sugar, brown sugar, an egg and vanilla extract. After adding flour, a pinch of salt and peanuts, the batter was ready for bakin’.

Batter

After about 25 minutes, the butterscotch brownies were done.

Butterscotch Brownies

Butterscotch + Peanuts

Yummy!

They were moist, delicious, and a fantastic combination of sweet and salty.

Butterscotch Brownie Bars

(Makes 18 bars)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 bag butterscotch chips (6 oz.)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. roasted unsalted peanuts
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Melt butterscotch chips and butter in a saucepan on low heat. Stir constantly until no lumps remain.
  • Combine sugars, eggs and vanilla in a large bowl.
  • Pour butterscotch mixture into the bowl with the sugar mixture.
  • Stir in flour, peanuts and salt until everything is thoroughly mixed.
  • Pour batter in to a pan sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 25 minutes.

19 Responses

  1. Those would not last long around me!! They look amazing!! πŸ™‚

  2. Ohmygosh, that looks amazing! I love the sweet/salty combo of butterscotch and peanuts too. I may have to put this at the top of my “to make” list πŸ˜‰

  3. Way to get creative with the baking! I’m a much better cook than baker, I really have to follow a recipe exactly to get it to come out right with baking.

  4. That looks wonderful! Baking is soothing. Cooking is what I have to do.

  5. hello lover…looks so good!

  6. mmmm. these remind me of my aunts butterscotch pb blondies!!
    MA

  7. YUUM – that recipe looks amazing, Julie!
    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚
    Wish you a wonderful week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  8. Those look great! Your quite the baker! πŸ™‚

  9. Julie!! I ran another 5K this morning. A new PR!! 3.2 miles in 27 minutes with an 8:55 mile!! I’m sooo thankful for your blog and having you inspire me to run!!

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  10. These look absolutely HEAVENLY!! They wouldn’t last a day around me. I love that you EMBRACE your sweet tooth- it’s awesome to you’re not afraid to indulge in what you love!!

  11. Um….WOW!!!!! Thanks for posting this love!!! πŸ™‚

  12. Oh my gosh – THOSE LOOK AMAZING!! I bet my boyfriend would DIE over those. I’ll have to make them soon πŸ˜€

  13. Did you make this recipe yourself Julie? It looks wonderful!

  14. I will be making this soon for sureeee!

  15. Those look AMAZING!! Definitely going to have to try them!

  16. […] Butterscotch Brownie Bars […]

  17. YUMMY!! πŸ˜›

  18. Those look amazing, Julie!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment