Unwrap the Love

Today was is of the every-other-Fridays that Ryan has off from work, so I was lucky enough to enjoy his company for a mid-day lunch date!

We went to our favorite lunchtime hot spot, Jimmy John’s, for our usual fare.

Before I could bite into my unwich, I had to “unwrap the love.”

Unwrap the Love

Let me just say there was a lot of love crammed into that unwich!

Lovin' on the Unwich

I stuck with my unwich and Ryan stayed with his staple, the bootlegger club.

Bootlegger Club

Happy Boy

Since it’s Friday, we had to celebrate what’s quickly becoming a tradition: Frozen Yogurt Friday!

FroYo

Our frozen yogurt from Mochi was free today, thanks to our fully-filled punch card! I think Ryan and I may have set a record as to how quickly someone can fill up a punch card!

Today we split a large half cookies ‘n’ cream, half snickerdoodle frozen yogurt, topped with rainbow sprinkles, because they make life better. 😉

I love the sweet stuff!

This Weekend

This weekend will be quite eventful! Though Ryan and I are really excited about our plans to see Straight No Chaser (an awesome a cappella group!) in concert tomorrow night, the main event of the weekend is the 3rd Annual Baldwin Park Doggie Derby!

Sadie is the reigning champ of the Doggie Derby, having beat nearly 100 dogs last year!

With Our Little Champ

Ryan and I learned about the Doggie Derby the day before the big event when we were at the dog park with Sadie. A man approached us and commented on how fast Sadie was as she ran back and forth, playing fetch. He said we should enter her in the Doggie Derby, a charity event where dogs race against each other in a 25-yard dash.

Ready to Run

We signed her up on the morning of the race with low expectations. To get your dog to run toward the finish line, you can throw a ball, squeeze a toy… basically employ any means necessary to get your dog to cross the finish line.

Vizslas are known as “Velcro dogs” and are very attached to their owners. Ryan and I knew using one of us as “bait” at the finish line would be our best strategy. Ryan held Sadie at the start line while I called to her from the finish. When the horn went off, I took off in the other direction and Sadie sprinted her little heart out to catch up to me. The tactic worked like a charm!

Go, Go, Go!

Sadie won her first heat, then the next one, then the next one and so on until she was crowned middleweight champ! We were so excited for our little girl! For the overall victory, Sadie had to beat out the heavyweight champ and the lightweight champ.

She somehow managed to come out on top and we were awarded with a trophy and a goodie basket of dog treats! Sadie was even mentioned in the Orlando newspaper!

Proud Family

Tomorrow Sadie will race to uphold her Doggie Derby champion title.

Have any of your pets ever competed in an event?

We’re hoping Sadie goes all the way tomorrow, or gets eliminated right away because the Doggie Derby is one heck of a long, hot event!

$1 Off Starbucks Ice Cream

Starbucks + ice cream = heaven! Click here for $1.00 off a pint of Starbucks ice cream.

36 Responses

  1. Aww I love dog events! Go get ’em Sadie 🙂 I remember my pug won a cutest puppy contest many years ago, which of course he completely deserved 😉 I was so proud of his little ribbon.

    • ahhhh i looooove pugs! i love the way they snort. i think it’s so adorable! i always stalk the little pugs at the dog park and make them play with me… 😉

  2. Good luck Sadie!! 🙂

  3. Congrats to Sadie!! Seeing pictures of her always makes me miss my old dog 😦 Snickerdoodle froyo sounds amazing!!

  4. I saw straight no Chaser at Christmas with my Husband…they are AMAZING!

    • ahhhh their christmas CDs are my favorite! ryan & i are hoping they’ll still preform the 12 days of christmas, even though it’s totally out of season.

  5. What time does that start???? We were planning to head to the beach but I would love to enter Daisy!

    • it starts at 10 a.m. (registration opens at 9 a.m.). definitely look for us if you go!

  6. haha aww so cute, sadie loves youuu! I hope she can defend her title!

  7. Good luck! That tongue hanging out is so funny!

  8. oh my goodness, how adorable! our dogs are not fast, but they do love running 🙂 i wanted to enter bunker in a dog launching competition (where they jump off the end of a dock) but he’d be WAY too scared 🙂

  9. go sadie!!! what a cool event, I’ll be rooting for her!

  10. haha, sadie must get it from her ‘rents cuz you and ryan are so dang athletic 🙂

  11. Good luck!! After my puppy finishes his training classes and is done with all his shots, I totally want to enter him in the Weenie Nationals… haha races for dachshunds. I saw them last year and that made up my mind about what kind of puppy I wanted to get 🙂

  12. Oh my goodness, your dog is so cute with her tongue hanging out like that! I bet my dog could win a race, but she isn’t super friendly towards other dogs. She would probably chase one and try to kill it instead of keeping up with the race. She could race people! She loves people!

  13. Oh so fun! Wishing Sadie luck tomorrow.

    I just tried Jimmy John’s unwich for the first time yesterday (I’m a which which or plain ole subway girl usually) and LOVED it! I have a new favorite sub shop (or un-sub shop really 🙂 )

  14. Go Sadie!! That is amazing! Hope you all enjoy your evening and beginning to the weekend! Maybe you should fuel her with a Happy Meal? 😉

    Happy Friday!

  15. My little Cody has yet to compete in any events, nor do I think he will…BUT, he has a wicked ability to find a hair tie ANYWHERE in the house! 🙂
    Your frozen yogurt is once again making my mouth water!! 😛

    Julie! My lunch today was inspired by one of your recent creations! GREAT idea…it was DELISH! Thanks! 😀

  16. Oh, I bet that concert will be so fun! I’ve seen that group on YouTube and they are awesome. The doggie derby sounds so fun! Good luck to you guys and Sadie.

  17. How awesome! Good luck to Sadie, hope she does well.

  18. That doggie derby looks so cool!! Even cooler that Sadie won!! Good luck tomorrow!! 🙂

  19. Hey! I just found your blog on J.Lee’s site and I have to say I LOVE it! I ready your “About” section and I couldn’t agree more about peanut butter fingers being the best snack ever 🙂 Enjoy your weekend ahead and I look so forward to reading more from you!

  20. Hey! I LOVE the picture of Ryan holding Sadie before the race started. He looks so intense!

    I’ll be thinking of Sadie tomorrow and praying she can win her championship again!

  21. Your dog is so cute…good luck Sadie!
    I would consider entering Lola in a Doggie Derby but she is way too scatter-brained…she’d just want to play with the competition!

  22. So cute Julie!!!!! I love the little fam pic haha!!! Good luck to Sadie tomorrow!!!! 🙂

  23. Oh my gosh your post left me with a huge smile on my face! Sadie is such a sweetie and we would use the same tactic with our little black lab, Lucy, if we entered her in a derby. She won best costume in a Halloween parade last year, she was dressed as a copy and was actually on the evening news on a couple local stations.

  24. That’s ah-mazing!! what an athletic pup! yay Sadie!

    PS.. Julie, check out AskGeorgie.com. She has lotsa healthy tips & greeeat recipes, including this fun protein pancake variation: http://askgeorgie.com/?p=1685

    Enjoy 🙂

  25. Hey Julie
    I wanted to say your lunch post inspired my dinner and workout for tomorrow!
    I grabbed a cup of fro yo after work from Fruitti Cup (a place similar to your fro yo place)! It was so great. I got a good squirt of peanut butter, chocolate, cheesecake and tart flavored yogurt. Then I grabbed a bootleggers club unwich (I LOVE JJs Hunters club and BL club unwiches too) for dinner. After I eat it in a bit I’ll have greek yogurt with equal for dessert!
    Thanks for the dinner inspiration!

  26. so much goodness in this post: unwich? I majorly approve. dogs competing? great scotts. I had a professor who did the whole obstacle course thing with his dogs and loved to talk about it. sprinkles on top? oh yes.
    have a great weekend!
    Katherine

  27. AWww, go Sadie!!!! I’m cheering for her all the way!

    Have a great weekend. 🙂

  28. Ahh, I’m dying to try an unwich! There are no Jimmy Johns in Mass ( I’ve checked, lol) Good luck to Sadie!! I hope she can defend her title! Straight no Chaser is fabulous! You’re going to have a great day tomorrow 🙂 Happy Kentucky Derby Day tomorrow everyone. (Yes, it should be a holiday!)

  29. How cute Sadie is! I also have a Vizsla, a 2 yr old female named Willa. I’ve never entered her in a contest, but I should, it sounds like fun. Good luck today, Sadie!

  30. lmao fun stuff dude.

Leave a comment