Shrimp in Sarasota

Right after work yesterday Ryan, Sadie and I headed south to Sarasota to spend the night with Ryan’s family.

When we arrived, the house smelled fantastic and we sat down to a home cooked dinner within 30 minutes.

Shrimpies

 We enjoyed a delicious dinner of shrimp, baked potatoes, salad, corn on the cob and garlic bread.

Yummy Shrimp

Salad

Ryan's Mom: Salad Chef!

Potato + Corn

We all commented on how deliciously sweet the corn on the cob tasted. It was wonderful!

Despite such a filling dinner, Ryan and I still had room for a Sarasota classic: SweetBerries!

Sweetberries

SweetBerries has the most amazing frozen custard.

Ryan and I ordered a large butterscotch custard to share.

Ryan + Custard

(Side note: I love Ryan with a lil’ scruff!)

I also snacked on one too many pieces of peppermint bark when we got home. Sugar overload!

Today

This morning Ryan and I woke up about and hour before his family and took Sadie on a long walk to a nearby park.

The park had really cool playground equipment and Ryan and I spent a good 20 minutes playing around. Lemme just say they’ve made upgrades to playground equipment since I was a kid!

When we got back, his family was awake and ready for breakfast. We changed and headed out for a hot meal at the Broken Egg.

Hungry People

Broken Egg Interior

We waited about 10 minutes to be seated and drooled over the baked goods, danishes and monkey bread they had on display. (Thank you to Ryan’s mom for buying monkey bread for us to take home for breakfast tomorrow!)

We placed our orders and our food was brought out in no time at all.

I ordered Pete’s breakfast, which was scrambled egg whites with Swiss cheese and vegetables, fruit salad and a buttered English muffin.

Cheesy!

My Plate

Ryan’s mom ordered three cheese blintzes that looked and tasted wonderful.

Ryan's Mom's Blintzes

Our breakfasts were good, but Ryan’s stole the show.

He ordered French toast stuffed with bananas and walnuts. I enjoyed many bites and it was unbelievable. A winner fo’ sho’!

Banana Walnut Stuffed French Toast

Breakfast at the Broken Egg was tasty!

Ask Me Anything

Thank you for continuing to submit questions! Apparently the submission form I was using met its quota last night, so if you tried to submit a question and it was rejected, I apologize. Fortunately I got it back up and working and you may click here to submit an anonymous Ask Me Anything question. I’ll be sure to answer some more soon! 🙂

Happy Saturday!!!

8 Responses

  1. Sweet Berries sounds awesome! I heart frozen custard but it’s hard to find around here.

    Enjoy your time with the future in laws!

  2. I think I’ve been to Sweet Berries a looooooooooong time ago when I was a kid visiting Sarasota!! I love frozen custard… it’s way better than ice cream!!

  3. Oooh that french toast looks soooo good.

  4. Glad you are having so much fun! I love eating breakfast out…it is my favorite meal to eat at a resturaunt!! 🙂

  5. Hey Jules!~
    I just wanted to say that I LOVE reading your Ask Me Anything answers!! I truly admire you for your honesty and willingness to share some very personal aspects of your life on here! You are an inspiration! 🙂

  6. […] posted about them a lot, but I guess not! I typically eat eggs several times a week. I had eggs on Saturday and have enjoyed them numerous times on this blog. I actually dedicated an entire post to my love […]

  7. […] I promised Ryan I would try to recreate the banana walnut stuffed French toast that he ordered at breakfast last Saturday. […]

  8. […] The last time we went to the Broken Egg, Ryan’s banana walnut streudel stuffed French toast stole the show. This time we were smart and ordered the exact same dish to share, along with a large plate of fresh fruit. Banana Walnut Streudel Stuffed French Toast Droooool Fresh Fruit […]

Leave a comment