Ravioli in a Flash

You guys gave me a ton of amazing ideas for songs to download through your comments about first dance wedding songs! I am going to be working out to a whole bunch o’ love music! 😀

Dinner

Ryan and I took Sadie to the dog park for about an hour after work, so we weren’t in the mood to wait around for dinner to cook by the time we got back home.

Enter: Ravioli!

Lobster Ravioli

Monterey Pasta Company makes a ton of different kinds of ravioli, all of which I love, but I think the lobster ravioli is my favorite, followed closely by the spinach ricotta ravioli. 

As the pasta was boiling, I roasted some asparagus and cauliflower and sautéed portobello mushrooms.

Roasted Asparagus

I topped the ravioli and veggies with Emeril’s roasted garlic pasta sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Ravioli Bowl

Stirred Up

 Mmm, mmm good.

Pre-Workout Snack

My friend Minda recently asked me about pre-workout snacks and what foods to eat before a workout. For me, I cannot eat anything within an hour of working out because my body cramps up so easily.

What do you eat before you workout?

Ideally, I like to munch on something about 90 minutes before a workout. My favorite pre-workout snacks are an apple with peanut butter or string cheese melted on a whole wheat tortilla.

Since I typically wake up at 5:30 a.m. to get to the gym by 5:45 a.m., I don’t eat anything before I work out most weekdays. I’ve tried to eat many different food combinations before my weekday workout, but time and time again I get terrible cramps and my workout suffers… and I’m not about to wake up at 4 a.m. just to eat a snack to fuel my workout!

I’ve read numerous articles saying it’s terrible to workout first thing in the morning without eating… and then I’ve read numerous others saying this is a great thing to do. I honestly do it because it works for me and for my body. Still, if given the option (aka a wake-up time after 7 a.m.), I definitely prefer a light snack about 90 minutes before my workout.

Here’s some advice from FitSugar.com about the subject that I thought was pretty decent:

“Your car won’t run without fuel, so why should you? About 30 to 90 minutes before hitting the gym, make sure to eat an easily digestible snack that’s 40 to 100 grams of carbs with a low amount of fat. It’s a good idea to keep the fiber content to a minimum since high fiber foods can be difficult to digest. Toast with nut butter, a banana, cheese with a couple crackers, or yogurt are great pre-workout choices. Definitely don’t chow down right before your workout as that can result in tummy issues as well.”

$10 Gift Card to Bahama Breeze

You know I love a good coupon!

Click here to receive a free $10 gift card to Bahama Breeze!

Also, clap your hands for this restaurant for actually posting their nutritional information online. Loooove it when restaurants do that!

12 Responses

  1. Mmmm…lobster ravioli? Yum!

    Pre-workout, I like to have a half a banana with almond butter, or something else small like that, about an hour before.

  2. Oh my. That looks fabulous. What a nice combination.

  3. I totally agree that is all about finding what works for your own body!! I like to eat 1/2 a powerbar about 45 minutes before my workouts and before my longer runs (usually anything over 13 miles) I eat the whole thing. It works well and easily digests in my tummy…but I definitely have had my fair share of cramping and it is NOT fun! I don’t really think there is a right or a wrong way. Everyone’s body is unique in what it can handle and once you find what works for you…halleluja…go with it! 🙂

  4. yay thanks for the coupon! love that place 🙂

  5. Mmmm….ravioli! So quick and easy. Ever tried ravioli lasagna?? And your asparagus looks yummy! I’ve been trying to workout in the mornings so I’m usually not up early enough to have something before I go.

  6. I can’t workout too soon after eating either… my stomach gets upset with me. I’m just starting out on marathon training and have to get up soooo early before the long runs since that would be tough on an empty stomach (like Kelly said^^). I usually go with some PB toast cause it’s easy on the tummy!

  7. I usually have some fruit with cottage cheese / nut butter before my workouts. If I’m running first thing in the morning (you know I much I hate my mornings ;-)), I have to have some coffee & protein shake / smoothie. We are all different and it’s important experimenting and finding out what works for us.

  8. yunless I am planning on just doing some cardio first thing in the morning I always make sure I don’t go to the gym hungry! I usually eat lunch then head to the gym when it digests of If I go later I have a snack of some oatmeal and greek yogurt or apple and PB…i always try to make the best of my workouts so if I didnt go with fuel, then my body wouldn’t work as well!

    lobster rav’s sound amazing!!

  9. yum lobster ravioli is one of my favorites! so good! and the packaged raviolis i think taste amazing

  10. This ravioli was totally on sale at Target this week. I passed it up based on a bad review I heard… I should’ve just gone in for the kill!!

  11. i mostly run in the evenings after work so the calories i eat during the day are sufficient to fuel me so nothing needed preworkout.

    on saturday mornings when i have to get up at 5 to make the 6am long run, i use to NEVER eat anything because i was so worried about tum tum issues. now that i have THAT all figured out, i put a tiny bit of PB :O) on a thin sandwich round (both sides) and have that…its actually helped! go figure :o)

    if i am running later in the morning (which is rare) for whatever reason, i actually might have a bowl of Kashi or something :o)

  12. I love a piece of toast with some jelly or some nut butter. Perfect amount for me.

Leave a comment