Ricotta Stuffed French Toast

G’mornin’ and happy Saturday to ya!

Ryan and I have already checked the gym off our to do list, which feels great! Sometimes I tend to put it off on the weekends, but I really do prefer going right away.

When you do like to workout on the weekends?

We hit up the gym and split up to each do our own work out, as usual. I did 25 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical while reading the latest issue of Health magazine before heading off to BodyPump at 8:30 a.m. I love that my gym now offers an early morning Saturday BodyPump class. Sch-weet!

By the time our workout was over, we were two hungry people.

Breakfast Time!

Breakfast today was a major success!

Ingredients

If you’ve been reading this blog a lot recently, you know I am on a mission to use up the HUGE tub of ricotta cheese we have leftover from our eggplant lasagna dinner at the beginning of the week.

While I was working out this morning, I brainstormed a way to incorporate the ricotta into our morning breakfast: ricotta stuffed French toast!

I made typical French toast, adding cinnamon and nutmeg, and cooked several slices on the griddle.

Makin' Breakfast

 While the French toast was cooking, I combined ricotta cheese, cinnamon and a little bit of sweetener in a bowl and stirred it up.

I then “stuffed” the French toast with the cheese and covered the cinnamony goodness with syrup.

Ricotta-Topped French Toast

Stuffed French Toast

Syrup Makes Me Smile

Yum!

Ryan and I both loved this breakfast. Complete success!

Today’s Plans

Today’s plans are full of errands, but they’re errands I’m really looking forward to running!

First, Ryan and I are stopping by IKEA to check out furniture and get decorating ideas for our new apartment. I could literally spend half a day in IKEA and never get bored.

Later in the day, I have an appointment at a bridal boutique to check out veils and wedding headpieces at a trunk show. I’m excited!!! I love all things wedding. 🙂

Right next to the bridal boutique is a Fresh Market store. I’ve never been to one, but have heard great things about it, so I’m planning on popping in after my appointment at the boutique. I’m hoping to find something extra special for dinner.

Free Auntie Anne’s Original or Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzel Today

Visit any Auntie Anne’s location today from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and receive a free original or cinnamon sugar soft pretzel. YUM!

Click here for more details or to find a store near you.

17 Responses

  1. This looks delicious!! I’m totally making this!! 🙂

  2. Man girl, you really are getting through that ricotta cheese! You really come up with some creative ways to use it. Good luck with all your errands today, they sound really fun!

  3. Holy YUM!
    Loved all the ideas for the ricotta tub!
    When my Mom buys a ricotta tub, she usually uses it all on a Spinach-and-Carrot Pie. Which is AH-MAZING, but I love trying new things 🙂
    Have a great Saturday!
    Brazilian XOXO´S,
    Gabriela

  4. have fun doing wedding errands! I loved picking out my dress and veil. that was the best part of planning

  5. Ok you look way too cute for a Saturday morning haha 🙂 have a fun day!

  6. Have a fun day!! Getting the gym out of the way early is always such a great start to the weekend!

    Hope you find a pretty veil!

  7. YUMMILICIOUS! I love ricotta on french toast, it has such a creamy rich taste! looks awesome, you are such the little chef 🙂

    yay more wedding shopping!!!!

  8. I love ricotta stuffed french toast. It’s really good with some nuts and/or dried fruit too!

  9. Fresh Market is a great place! I love to get some of their sandwiches at the deli counter.

  10. Holy cow! That looks fab-O Julie!!!

  11. Have a fun Saturday Julie!!

  12. I love saturday errands with my hun…especially when its wedding stuff. Have fun:)

  13. Hope this is more flattering rather than creepy, but your hair always looks so pretty! Would you mind sharing your routine/products you may use?

    • aw, thank you so much! i’ve actually received a few questions about this, so i’m planning a post on it soon! 🙂 in the mean time, i curl my hair w/ a straightener (youtube.com has a toooon of demo videos). 😀

  14. […] meals I typically save for weekends because they take longer to prepare, but today I was craving my ricotta stuffed French toast from Saturday morning and had to give my body what it […]

  15. […] Ricotta Waffle Sandwich Posted on March 9, 2010 by peanutbutterfingers Ever since I made ricotta stuffed French toast a couple weeks ago, I’ve enjoyed incorporating it into my breakfasts in different ways. […]

  16. […] little over a month ago, I made ricotta-stuffed French toast and Ryan and I fell in love with the creation! This morning I thought I’d try another […]

Leave a comment