Hot Mess

After my morning workout I was a hot mess!

Phew!

I guess interval training will do that to ya.

I initially planned to go to spinning, but a new teacher took over the 6 a.m. time slot and he’s not my cup of tea. You can tell he’s the kinda guy who thinks he’s pretty nifty and he doesn’t ride the bike at all. He opts to do weird dance moves beside the bike (you know, the kind where you don’t move your feet?). It’s like Club YMCA and is not something I care to partake in as my first activity of the day.

In your opinion, what makes a good fitness instructor?

To me, good fitness instructors are positive, encouraging and play upbeat music. (For you Biggest Loser fans out there, I am much more of a Bob lover than a Jillian fan.)

Since spinning was out, I opted to take myself through an interval workout that I saw on Jessica’s blog a couple of months ago. I keep print outs of about five different cardio workouts in my gym bag as a fall back plan for when I’m not feeling creative. The 20-minute interval workout called to me today.

Workout

  • 5 min. incline walking warm up (7.5 incline, 4.2 pace)
  • 20 min. intervals (2.0 incline, 20 seconds at 9.0 pace, followed by 40 sec. at 4.5 pace… repeat for 20 min.)
  • 5 min. incline walking cool down (7.5 incline, 4.2 pace)
  • 20 min. elliptical

By the time the 20 minutes of intervals were over I was sweaty! I still wanted to read the latest US Weekly since I couldn’t read it while running, and opted to finish my workout with 20 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical while taking in my celebrity gossip.

Breakfast

Along with the tasty BBQ chicken pizza from last night’s dinner that I took from my parents’ house, I also nabbed a box of Eggo NutriGrain waffles and toasted one up this morning.

Leggo My Eggo

Toasty

I dipped it into a mixture of 1/2 c. cottage cheese, 1/2 c. organic pumpkin, sweetener and pumpkin pie spice.

Organic Pumpkin

Cottage Cheese Pumpkin Dip

It was quite the yummy breakfast.

Save the Date Help

Thank you to all of you who weighed in on my save the date question. It sounds like sending them out 6-9 months in advance is a good amount of time. We’ll probably send them out sooner rather than later. Time is flyin’!

7 Responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed that workout – I am the same, I must change my cardio up or I get super bored!

    As for fitness instructors, I agree that they need to be upbeat. I also think they should be able to relate to everyone – those that want to lose 5lbs and those that need to lose 50. They also need to have some rhythm! I took a class in college from a girl who was off beat the entire time. Drove me crazy!

  2. I also like changes in my cardio, steady state cardio can sometimes make my mind go crazy. 🙂 Glad you had a fun workout!
    I agree with what you have said about what makes a good fitness instructor. I think also correcting incorrect form and generally keeping an eye on the entire class is important. And I like when they talk a lot too to keep us going. 🙂

  3. I’m stealing that interval workout!

  4. I like really postivie (and cheesy) workout instructors! haha!

  5. I have recently started interval training too, I love it! I actually end up going farther than if I just ran straight because I don’t get bored. I need a good instructor as well too, my new body pump guy is amazing! They definitely need to have energy and to get as sweaty as everyone else in the class.

  6. […] me. I keep print outs of a couple of cardio interval workouts in my little gym bag (click here and here for some good examples). It’s always easier to get to the gym when you have a new workout […]

  7. […] I think my worst experience was during a spinning class several months ago. […]

Leave a comment