Celebrating Six Years

Today is my six year anniversary with Ryan. I cannot believe we’ve been together for six years!

6 Years!

In honor of our six years of loooove, I figured I would share six facts about our relationship with you:

    • We met at our university’s gym during my freshman year of college. (Our “how we met” story can be found here, if you’re interested. It’s the last question at the bottom of the page.)

    UCF Gym

    • Our first date was dinner at The Cheesecake Factory. The restaurant was more than 20 minutes away and I remember being so worried that we wouldn’t have enough to talk about on the way there and back… ha!

    The Cheesecake Factory

    • Our first kiss was on our second date at Ryan’s apartment. We watched a movie, ate mint chocolate chip ice cream out of the container and played mancala.

    Mancala

    • Ryan first told me he loved me four months after we first started dating. I went on a trip to Bermuda with my family and he said my absence made him realize how much he missed me and wanted me in his life. 🙂
    • We’ve never broken up once during our six years of dating… Slow and steady wins the race. 😉
    • Ryan proposed on Oct. 3, 2009, two days before his 26th birthday. He planned an elaborate scavenger hunt, that ended in a proposal. He arranged for our families to surprise me at dinner at one of our favorite restaurants afterward. It was perfect!

    Anniversary Plans

    In keeping with tradition, tonight Ryan and I are heading out to dinner at The Cheesecake Factory, the location of our first date. We’ve gone there every year since our first date.

    Though the date is always wonderful, I have a bad track record with our anniversary dinner. Two of the last five times I’ve woken up in the middle of the night puking! Not fun. Now when we go there I try to order “safer” dishes since I’ve had two icky experiences that I can only attribute to my dinner.

    If you’re in a relationship, what do you do to celebrate your anniversary?

    I’m excited for a hot anniversary date with my fiancé!

    Workout + Breakfast

    Ryan and I hit the gym nice and early this morning. I went to BodyPump while he did his own he-man workout. 🙂 The new BodyPump release is growing on me a bit. I was a hater last week, but I think a couple days away from the class made me enjoy it more this morning.

    After BodyPump, I did 25 minutes of cardio, divided between the elliptical and the treadmill.

    Breakfast was a filling bowl of cocoa cupcake batter hot cereal.

    Cupcake Cocoa Oats

    My breakfast bowl contained:

    • Chocolate cream Flax-Z-Snax hot cereal
    • All the Whey cupcake batter protein powder
    • Cocoa powder

    I think I prefer total chocolate indulgence and like the chocolate peanut butter cup protein powder better in this mix than the cupcake batter, but it was still yummy and I ate it up quickly.

    Monday's Breakfast

    I enjoyed it with a hot mug of sugar cookie tea.

    Hope your week is off to a good start!

      24 Responses

      1. Happy anniversary! 🙂

      2. Happy anniversary!
        We usually celebrate with a romantic dinner and/or a weekend getaway.

      3. Happy anniversary 🙂 And mad props for never breaking up… that’s a good victory for 6 WHOLE YEARS!!

      4. Happy 6 years! 🙂

      5. I just found your blog and I love it all! You remind me of myself! I just got married Sept 5 and you will LOVE being married…best thing ever….I had to get use to this bodypump too…It is growing on me! Just took bodycombat and WOW it is crazy hard workout…I teach bodyflow and it is perfect for the day after pump! Cant wait to read more 🙂

        • this makes me so happy! 🙂 i can’t wait to be married. also, i WISH my gym had more of the les mills classes. i’m jealous!

      6. Awww, cute facts! Happy Anniversary.

      7. Happy 6 Year Anniversary! 😀

      8. Congrats on 6 years! We always try something new on our anniversaries rather than going to the same place.

      9. I loved your fun facts! My husband and I have dubbed the resturaunt Houstons as “our place”….it is fun to have little traditions that only you as a couple relate to! Have fun tonight!

        • Our engagement dinner was at a restaurant called Houston’s! It’s amazing, as I’m sure yours is, too!

      10. Happy anniversary and congratulations on six years!! I just started reading your blog recently and went back and read the engagement story… what an amazing plan he had. I definitely was trying to hold back the tears 😉

      11. So cute!!! Happy anniversary!!

        My hub and I got married in the Bahamas, so I’m trying to convince him that we need to go back for our anniversary every year. I don’t think it’s gonna happen, but a girl can dream. 😉

      12. 6 years! VERY NICE! Me and Sean are goin on our 4th year! You and Ryan def provide a lot of “relationship inspiriation” for me and Sean so I love reading about you guys!

      13. Happy anniversary! Six years seems like so long ago now!

      14. Awww so cute! Happy 6 years!

      15. How adorable.. you guys are so cute!! Enjoy your anniversary. The hubby and I have also been together 6 yrs… and like you, never broke up (cant even imagine that!!)

        Enjoy your day, dear! 🙂

      16. Happy Anniversary!! 🙂 Yall have been together longer than Andrew and me!! My best friend used to work in the UCF gym!! 🙂

      17. Happy Aniiversary!! Have a great date night. I love celebrating speacial days…looking forward to many more.

        I love your dress or perhaps tank top you are wearing in the first pic:)

      18. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! You guys are one hot couple!

      19. All I have to say is you guys are too cute. I LOVE LOVE!!! Everytime I see your pics I think, “damn, they’re perfect! 🙂

        XO

      20. […] Ryan and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary […]

      Leave a comment