Meatloaf Monday

I think we all get random cravings for certain meals sometimes. Yesterday Ryan had a hankerin’ for meatloaf, so that made tonight’s dinner decision an easy one.

I turned to Cooking Light, my favorite recipe resource, for a yummy yet healthy meatloaf recipe.

We started with lean ground beef, bread crumbs, chopped onion, BBQ sauce, spices and egg whites and mixed everything together before placing it in a loaf pan and letting it cook for an hour at 350 degrees.

Raw Meatloaf Mixture

While the meatloaf was cooking, we took Sadie on a quick 30 minute walk. She’s loving the cool Florida weather and was quite the energetic puppers.

"Walk Me!"

Helloooo

When we arrived home from our walk the apartment smelled fantastic! The meatloaf was ready for eatin’.

Meatloaf

I fixed myself a plate and included lots of green veggies to make up for the several days I severely neglected their existence.

My Dinner Plate

Tree Time

After dinner it was tree decorating time! Since tomorrow is officially December 1, I needed to have our tree up for the kickoff of Christmas month.

Ryan got the tree out of storage while I set up festive holiday music and did the dishes with Sadie’s help.

Dish Licker

Our tree is pretty teeny since our apartment isn’t too big, so it was up in a flash.

Our Little Tree

Last year Ryan and I were nervous to leave Sadie alone with our sparkly little tree, but she made it through the season without breaking any ornaments (though you may be able to see the blinds she attacked when she was a puppy last year in the above picture… grrrr).

I hope we have a successful repeat of no broken ornaments this year. I may have to bribe her to steer clear of all the holiday decor with some Snausages.

BBQ Meatloaf Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2  pounds  ground beef, extra lean (raw)
  • 1/2  cup  dry breadcrumbs
  • 1/2  cup  chopped onion
  • 1/3  cup  barbecue sauce, divided
  • 1  tablespoon  prepared mustard
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  chili powder
  • 1  teaspoon  garlic powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 2  large egg whites
  • Cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine the beef, breadcrumbs, and onion, 1 tablespoon barbecue sauce, and remaining ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl.

Shape meat mixture into a 9 x 5-inch loaf or a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Spread remaining barbecue sauce over top of meat loaf. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a thermometer registers 160°. Let stand 10 minutes. Cut loaf into 12 slices.

Nutritional Information:

(Recipe yields 12 slices, two slices per serving)

Calories: 203 (24% from fat)
Fat: 5.4g (sat 2.2g,mono 2.2g,poly 0.5g)
Protein: 27.3g
Carbohydrate: 10.5g
Fiber: 1.1g
Cholesterol: 61mg
Iron: 3.2mg
Sodium: 517mg
Calcium: 26mg

Don’t Forget

Tonight is your last chance to enter the Pumpkorn giveaway. The winners will be selected bright and early tomorrow morning. 🙂

27 Responses

  1. I see Sadie’s stocking in the picture, my puppies have the same one!!!!!

  2. I love meatloaf! It’s a classic!

    I like the to make the “turkey loaf” from Barefoot Contessa 🙂

  3. GORGEOUS Christmas tree! 🙂

  4. you’re dog is so gorgeous!! as well as your adorable little tree 🙂

  5. Your tree looks great!! Our dogs attacked our blinds when we lived in our apt too!! lol 🙂 They looked just like that! 😉

  6. That meatloaf looks wonderful!
    oooh and your puppy is adorable – I can’t until we finally get a dog!!!

  7. Love your tree!!! And I am soooo scared of what M is going to do with all the ornaments on our tree. We still have to decorate our tree…its up but not decorated besides lights. Sounds like a plan for tomorrow, since you’re right – it’s already December! Yikes!

  8. Your tree looks beautiful!

    The meatloaf recipe sounds great too 🙂

  9. Pretty tree! And I love meatloaf, I’ll have to give that recipe a try! Love your blog by the way, I just found it this morning!

  10. Your tree is so cute! I really need to purchase some Christmas things. I own NOTHING.

  11. Love the meatloaf recipe! I haven’t made any in such a long time. I usually make mine with ground turkey.

    Random comment: I just remembered that the Scottie that won the dog show that was on TV on Thanksgiving was also named Sadie. Cute, haha!

  12. I add oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs to my meatloaf, almost 1.5 cups of it! Also chopped bell pepper or shredded zucchini is good if you want to bulk it up.

    Such a comforting meal. 🙂

  13. […] Posted on December 7, 2009 by peanutbutterfingers Remember the healthy BBQ meatloaf from last […]

  14. I love your tree!

    Can’t wait to see you 🙂

  15. oh, I’m going to try the meatloaf this weekend!

  16. […] could I not want to make our beloved BBQ meatloaf (that we also made here)? Why would I not want to enjoy this classic comfort food, perfect for this […]

  17. I made the BBQ meatloaf and the roasted broccoli on Monday night and loved it. That’s gonna be one of my weekly dinners. Thanks
    Angela

  18. […] of Ryan’s favorite dinners is BBQ meatloaf and he was beggin’ for it for dinner tonight. Who am I to say no to such a delicious […]

  19. […] peanutbutterfingers Since we used the lean ground beef I initially planned to use tonight in our favorite recipe for BBQ meatloaf in tacos last night instead, I was forced to reevaluate my dinner […]

  20. […] and I brought over our BBQ meatloaf and everyone enjoyed several slices. BBQ […]

  21. […] found this meatloaf recipe on Julie’s blog that she found in Cooking Light.  I decided to take my own spin on the recipe […]

Leave a comment