Homemade Cookies and a Pizza Buffet

I love days at home! The yummy kitchen smells, fun-loving jabs and warm, cozy feeling of being around family is the best.

I also got to enjoy one of my favorite snacks, thanks to a quick trip my mom took to the grocery store for Honeycrisp apples!

Apples and Peanut Butter

An oldie but a goodie.

Dinner was a “clean out the freezer” dinner since we’re off to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania in the morning to spend the holiday with my grandmothers, aunts, uncles and cousins.

We had a pizza buffet featuring a Kashi Caribbean Carnival pizza and a tuscan chicken pizza.

Kashi Caribbean Pizza

Tuscan Chicken Pizza

I definitely preferred the Tuscan chicken pizza. I like my pizza to taste like pizza and the Kashi Caribbean pizza was a little too exotic for me.

Dessert

While grocery shopping last week, Ryan and I noticed the Christmas cookie dough on display and I asked him what his favorite kind of cookie dough was. He said oatmeal raisin and I think I’d have to agree. The mix of the oats, cinnamon and sugary dough is heaven.

Tonight I made homemade oatmeal raisin cookies using the traditional recipe found on the inside lid of Quaker oatmeal.

Traditional Recipe

Dough!

I made half of the recipe (and used whole wheat flour in place of white… healthy, right? 😉 ). We were supposed to have 24 cookies, but somehow with a house of five people, only 12 actually made it into the oven.

This house is filled with cookie dough monsters.

The 12 Survivors

Surprisingly I didn’t even eat a cookie! I think I was overloaded on dough.

Now we’re all hangin’ out, watching So You Think You Can Dance and packing up for our early flight tomorrow. We’re leaving for the airport before 5 a.m. Yikes! :\

Next time I post I’ll be doing so from Pennsylvania… in the freezin’ cold! Brrrr. I hope it snows!

Giveaway

Don’t forget to enter my Trio Bar giveaway!

12 Responses

  1. You’ll be in PA!!! Close to me??

  2. Mmmmmmmmm, cookie dough! Best wishes for safe travels!! 🙂

  3. That recipe is SO classic. I could put my face in it!

  4. have funn in PA!! 5AM at the airport?? ahh soo early haha
    mm cookie dough doesn’t last at my house either, i wonder what would happen with vegan cookie dough…my family is super against healthy, silly people 🙂

  5. I always end up overdoing it on dough! But then it doesn’t really stop me from testing the finished product 🙂

  6. haahah i love that you say philly will be cold. Try coming further up north to boston! 🙂 you will have fun all bundled up!

    I do love oatmeal rainsin cookies too, esp the traditional recipe on the inside of the lid!

    have a safe flight!

  7. I love mixing it up with different pizza toppings.

  8. i dk why..but that apple and PB looks SUPER good to me right now.. i may have to eat that combo today! have a great day beautiful!

  9. yumm! most delicious looking pizza buffet ever!!! I hope you have a great day at home and a fabulous holiday! xoxo!

  10. I love being home too!! Its a good feeling. PA?!?! I used to live there.. word to the wise BUNDLE UP, hun 🙂

  11. you can definatly never go wrong with apples and peanut butter 😀 YUMM

  12. Heyy! I just came across your blog and I love reading it! I can’t wait to follow it!
    I woul love it if you could check out my new blog and follow mine!
    Jenna

Leave a comment