Pie(s!) for Breakfast

I had every intention of making myself a tasty breakfast after our morning walk with Sadie. I was anxious to make several of the four pies I needed to make today (two for a party this afternoon and two for a work pot luck tomorrow), so I figured I’d get crackin’ and eat breakfast afterward.

Bad idea. Guess what I ended up eating for breakfast? Pie filling!

Pie Number One

First, I made a white chocolate and fudge mousse pie. It was super easy and I just prepared half a batch of Jello white chocolate pudding and half a batch of Jello chocolate fugde pudding before stirring in an entire container of cool whip.

Pre-Stirred Chocolate Mousse Pie

I poured the batter into a graham cracker crust. At the bottom of the crust, I smoothed out a layer of caramel topping and a half a cup of chopped pecans.

Bottom of Da Pie

White Chocolate Fudge Mousse Pie

So, for round one of my breakfast, I enjoyed what leftovers from ths white chocolate fudge mousse pie I thought were “too much” to fit into the crust. 😉

Pie Number Two

The second pie I made was a turtle pumpkin pie which used the same caramel and pecan surprise layer at the bottom of a graham cracker crust.

For the filling, I wisked together one cup of pumpkin, two packs of vanilla instant pudding, one cup of milk, one teaspoon of cinnamon and a half of a teaspoon of nutmeg until everything was thoroughly mixed.

I then added a cup and a half of cool whip. Ooooooh wow.

Pumpkin-Good!

After pouring the mix into the prepared pie crust (and eating a bunch as my breakfast number two) I stuck this pie (and the two others like it I also made) in the fridge.

Mmmm

Before serving this pie will be topped with cool whip, caramel topping and more chopped pecans. I’ll be sure to snap a pic to share! 🙂

Turtle Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Ingredients:
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp. caramel ice cream topping, divided
1   Graham Cracker Pie Crust (6 oz.)
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp. chopped pecans, divided
2 pkg.  (3.4 oz. each) Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding
1 cup cold milk
1 cup  canned pumpkin
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp.  ground nutmeg
1 tub (8 oz.) Cool Whip Whipped Topping, thawed, divided

Directions:

POUR 1/4 cup caramel topping into crust; sprinkle with 1/2 cup nuts.

BEAT dry pudding mixes, milk, pumpkin and spices with whisk until well blended. Stir in 1-1/2 cups COOL WHIP; spoon into crust.

REFRIGERATE 1 hour. Top with remaining COOL WHIP, caramel topping and nuts just before serving.

You may also find this recipe here.

Sunday Plans

While I was preparing a plethora of pies, Ryan headed out for a soccer game this morning. I’ll be hitting the gym soon before we head over to a Thanksgiving pot luck party this afternoon. I’m excited to enjoy my second Thanksgiving meal of the year already!

3 Responses

  1. Your pies sound and LOOK great!

  2. YUMMMMMM…..
    My husband and I just finished making our first pumpkin pie completely from scratch- come visit http://www.ewewin.wordpress.com
    I am sure to have a piece of pie for breakfast tomorrow.
    Cadie

Leave a comment