Crock Pot, I Love You

I cannot decide what I like more about crock pot meals: How easy they are to make, or how moist and delicious the food ends up after cooking in a crock pot all day.

I think I’m leaning toward the yumminess of the food, but there’s nothing simpler than throwing meat in a crock pot with some broth before heading out to work. It makes dinner so easy, and you know that’s what I’m all about!

One thing I would always dread about crock pot meals was the clean up. Sure it’s all in one pot, but inevitably the food would adhere to the sides of the crock pot and clean up would be a bit of a challenge. No fun.

After discovering Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners, clean up became a breeze!

I just put a liner in the crock pot before adding all of my ingredients. Clean up is as easy as throwing away the bag filled with the food scraps. I buy them at my grocery store (Publix) in the aisle with the foil and Ziploc baggies.

(Just FYI, I am not Mr. Reynold’s daughter or anything. I just really love those liners!)

Dinner

I’m sure you’ve figured this out by now, but dinner tonight came straight outta the crock pot!

Crock Pot Pulled Chicken

Before leaving for work, I threw a bunch of chicken breasts into the crock pot and covered them with chicken broth. I let everything cook on low until it was dinner time.

As I chopped and roasted some veggies, Ryan pulled the chicken breasts apart with two forks and smothered the meat in BBQ sauce.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts + Squash

Dinner

I enjoyed the BBQ pulled chicken on an Arnold honey wheat sandwich thin.

BBQ Sandwich

I love how doughy those sandwich thins are. Yum, yum.

What is your favorite crock pot meal?

26 Responses

  1. I’m all about the chili in the crockpot… mmmm

    But I would probably trade it in for a day for one of those sandwiches!

  2. Your dinner looks super yummy! Especially those veggies, yum/drool!

  3. Hi Julie!

    I don’t have a crockpot but after seeing how easy and delicious all the meals you cook in it are, I’m DYING to get one! My bday is in July so maybe I could convince my boyfriend to get me one 😉 Would that be lame…or the best bday present ever!? I’m leaning towards best bday present.

    P.s. I’ve been a vegetarian for 2+ years but recently started adding a little bit of meat back into my diet. Tonight I’m making a recipe I got off your website…italian sausage with pepper and onions! Yum!

  4. I like cooking chicken all day (like you) and making chicken tacos or enchiladas…yum! 🙂

  5. I’m gonna have to check into those crock pot liners. My favorite thing to make in the crock pot is applesauce… sooooooooooooo good!! 🙂

  6. I like making mac & cheese in the crockpot.
    I would buy those liners, but I think they’re bad for the environment. They do make things easy though.

  7. I love the faux reference to Paris, Je t’Aime! That made me smile.

  8. Those liners are AMAZING, aren’t they?!? I LOVE how quick and easy they make cleanup. I’m thinking that some pulled BBQ chicken is going to be on our “To Cook” list pretty soon! I just love pulled bbq chicken…so easy and so yummy! 😛

  9. I don’t eat meat, but I make my bf pork BBQ in the crockpot and he loves it. It smells TERRIBLE though because there is a lot of vinegar, so I don’t make it often. I will never understand the South’s obsession with cooking meat in vinegar lol.

  10. I have got to try those liners!! How much easier could it get?! Awesome!

  11. I have GOT to get some of those liners! Your chicken looks amazing 🙂

  12. I just made BBQ pork using Ashlee of A Year in the Kitchen (link in blog-roll – Motivation and Inspiration) on Sunday. She has a TON of great, healthy recipes. I also love crock-pot taco soup.

  13. Crockpot Chili for sure!

  14. Hey Doll!! I love making indian dishes in the good ol crock pot 😉 I have never seen these meals that you just pop in!

    Are they tasty??

    Your dinner looks fab as usual!

    Have a great night!

    XXOO

    • it’s not the meal that you pop in – just the liner. you have to add all the ingredients yourself 🙂

  15. My favorite crockpot meal is Cafe Rio Pork. Cafe Rio is a restaurant that started in Utah (but has expanded a little to other states out West) and their pork is AMAZING!!!!

    Here’s one recipe (there are a million imitation recipes):

    http://annestrawberry.blogspot.com/2008/03/cafe-rio-pork.html

  16. the best is the veggie marinara i made the other day…all you do is boil some pasta at the end of the day and you’re done! SO good!

  17. oh my gosh those crockpot liners seem like the most amazing thing. Do they make them for pots? & pans? & bowls & plates & silverwear?

    Also, to reference the commenter who does not like Southern BBQ…I don’t eat meat but I always love it when I am at home & my mama puts a boston butt in the crock pot with some vinegar & other fixin’s. It actually looks really gross but it smells so good! & when I still did eat it the vinegary stuff was my FAVORITE.

    I wonder if you could slow cook tofu to imitate BBQ?

  18. I like chicken and rice. Chicken breasts, large can of cream of mushroom soup, can of water, can of rice, salt and pepper to taste. Great on a cold day!

  19. Julie! So, I was taking one of those leisurely strolls through the grocery yesterday…and saw xanthan gum. Soooo, I scooped it up. When I got home I decided to test it out on one of your straw-banana smoothies. You’re right: it is LEGIT! I can’t believe how DIFFERENT and THICK my smoothie was. It’s amazing. Great find – thanks (as usual!) for sharing!

    • woohoo! yeah i was shocked at what a huge difference it makes! i flippin’ LOVE that stuff now!

  20. […] crock pot. So I went to the store this morning JUST for those Reynold’s crock pot liners that Julie always talks […]

  21. The best part is not the ease and not the moist food, it’s the smell of your house while it’s cooking ALL DAY. Yumm

Leave a comment