A Spoonful of Sugar Would Have Been Nice

Remember that song from Mary Poppins that goes,  “a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down?”

Well, I think I needed a spoonful of sugar to help my sugar-free Jello knock-off dessert to go down. It was NOT GOOD and tasted like cough syrup. Bleh. 😦

I love sugar-free Jello and eat a little snack pack after lunch almost daily. At the grocery store last night I saw a different brand’s sugar-free gelatin on sale for less than half the cost of Jello.

Being the savvy shopper that I am, I picked up a bulk-size pack of the stuff. Bad move. I don’t think I’ll be enjoying anymore Tylenol-flavored desserts in the near future.

Luckily, that was the only fail of my lunch.

My grilled zucchini and roasted red pepper hummus sandwich, roasted cauliflower and two dark chocolate Dove eggs saved the day!

Roasted Cauliflower

Sandwich

Tuesday's Lunch

I also had a cup of Greek yogurt for some protein which alluded any photographs.

My Jello knock-off dessert was the most disappointed I’ve been in a product in a while.

What product or food have you tried recently only to be disappointed?

11 Responses

  1. Biggest product dissappointment? I would have to go with the Amazing Grass products. Everyone raves about them and I have tried several flavors (bars and drink mixes) and they all taste like dirt. I can’t choke them down!

  2. Definitely “Walden Farms” foods….zero calorie food is definitely too good to be true. It tastes like pure chemical and the consistency of their foods makes me ill! Ick!

    Also, “shirataki noodles’….bleck! NOTHING like pasta!

  3. omg i think i know which brand you’re talking about because i made the same mistake. NO BUENO.

  4. yikes, sorry about the jello fail! at least now you know. i have heard that the bagel thins are a real flop, i purchased some but haven’t busted them out yet. i hope i don’t agree with the masses! something i have tried and tried again and hate is cottage cheese in a sweet setting.

  5. Waldens farms pancake syrup is good, everything else sucks. and i agree about the bagel things–those western altnerative bagels are much better—they actually seem like bagels!

    by the way, spoonful of sugar was my music to my floor routine one year in gymnastics haha

  6. Larabars. I don’t understand what’s so great about them. They all taste the same to me…like dates and nuts. BORING.

    Did you save the receipt? Some grocery stores will take products back if you don’t like them. Oh yes, I’ve done it.

    • i feel ya on the larabars… they’re only okay to me. i’m not on the “all hail larabars” bandwaggon either. 😉

  7. I recently tried the new Yoplait Greek yogurt and was extremely disappointed! In fact, I spit it out when I took the first bite! lol. I am a big fan of Fage and Oikos Greek yogurt, and I should have known that this product would be inferior (the price was great, though!). In the future, I will definitely splurge and buy the REAL Greek yogurt! 🙂

  8. I second or third the Walden farms. The dressing is no good.

  9. Yoplait Delights. I bought the chocolate raspberry. It’s not delightful at all. I choked down 4 little cups of it. Sad waste of money 😦

Leave a comment