Bunny Cake: Part Two

HAPPY EASTER!!!

Right now my sister is still sleeping and the Bunny is hiding eggs, so I figured I’d take advantage of some quiet time that I likely will not have the rest of the day and update the ol’ blog!

Yesterday

After yesterday’s doggie 5k race, everyone was pretty tired! While I blogged, the whole family, including Sadie the Race Dog, napped.

Once everyone was awake, we headed out on the boat for a two-hour boat ride in the beautiful sun. About an hour into our ride, we saw three dolphins and one was an itty-bitty baby! I’ve never seen such a young dolphin. The baby was so teeny!!!

Once we got back home, we all showed and got ready for church.

Ready to Go

Uno Mas

Right outside of our church, there was a pen of bunnies and baby chicks that were rescued by a young man. He allowed people to hold the animals, so of course my sister and I took full advantage and held a peeping little chick.

Little Chickie

Me & Chick

Two Chicks

Apparently the mama hen was killed by a coyote, so the little chicks were all on their own. They seemed to be doing really well and were beyond adorable.

Dinner

After church, we were a hungry bunch and headed out to dinner at The Clubhouse.

All of my foodie pictures came out dark, but dinner was delicious! We split cheeseburger sliders as an appetizer and I enjoyed sushi and miso soup for my entrée. My dinner also came with fried bananas and ice cream which were surprisingly good!

Bunny Cake Number Two

Post-dinner, we headed home where I immediately got to work on BUNNY CAKE NUMBER TWOOOO!

Since Bunny Cake Number One was tasty and didn’t last 24 hours in our house, I knew I had my work cut out for me on my second attempt.

I made the second bunny cake using funfetti cake mix (I love this stuff!) and whipped fluffy white icing.

The Process

After a lot of cutting, frosting, and shaping, the bunny was ready for decorating.

Bun Bun

I made him fluffy with shredded coconut, and used jelly beans and twizzlers for his facial features.

Eat Me!

We haven’t sliced into this bunny cake yet because I am taking it to Ryan’s family’s Easter lunch.

I do know that the cake is pretty tasty thought because we had some cake scraps leftover, which we iced up and devoured immediately last night. 😉

Bunny Cake

Ingredients

  • Cake, prepared in two round pans
  • White icing
  • Candy to create facial features
  • Shredded coconut

Directions

Slice one cake in half and “glue” slices together with icing to create the bunny’s body. Ice the body completely.

Slice a small head, two narrow ears and a tail out of the second cake. You may need to cut off a layer of the head, ears and tail to make them thinner to attach to the body they do not stick out too much and look disproportionate. Attach the head, ears and tail to the body and ice completely. Use candy to create the bunny’s face and sprinkle with coconut to create bunny “fluff.”

15 Responses

  1. Your cake came out so cute!

    You and your sister are beautiful! Happy Easter.

  2. Those bunny cakes are super cut and such a great idea! Will keep in mind for next year.

  3. haha aww that chick is so cute! xxx

  4. you and your sister are TOO gorgeous!!! and omg that cake is the cutest thign i’ve ever seen 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. Happy Easter Julie!!

  6. you and your sis are gorgeous! happy easter, ahve fun with the family!

  7. awe i love that little chick! happy easter!

  8. I love the bunny cake and the chicks are so cute. You and your sister are gorgeous. Hope you have a great Easter.

  9. You and your sister have such a great sense of style.

    Oh, and I haven’t held any little chicks since I went to those feildtrips with school – I miss them, they’re so adorable to hold!!!! Peep peep peep, haha 🙂

    Happy Easter!

  10. HAPPY EASTER!

    love the bunny cakes! we are trying a new way of making it this year by cutting the round cakes in half and glueing them together to make a “standing bunny”

  11. Those chicks are adorable! Looks like some beautiful weather you are having. Happy Easter!

  12. […] Bunny Cake: Part Two […]

  13. wow this cake is even cuter the first one! nice job!

  14. […] Bunny Cake: Part Two […]

  15. I am a sucker for baby animal pictures. Seriously, show me a puppy or a little chick and I will be oooing and aahing for about 5 minutes. 🙂 Looks like you have a great time! You both look so stylish!

Leave a comment