5K with Sadie: A New PR!

After breakfast today, my family and I headed to Dunedin where my sister and I ran in a doggie 5k!

My Dad and His Girls

The Runners

Sadie joins me on many runs and I loved being able to run with her in a real race!

The race started around 11 a.m. The sun was shining and it was H-O-T!

Apparently Sadie has a little competitive spirit in her, because she liked to be in front. I could tell she was having a blast sniffing other dogs and running among the people and their pets.

The course was an out-and-back route along a bike trail and when we turned around to make our way back toward the finish line, Sadie saw my sister and lit up! Her Aunt Leslie!!! 

Fortunately Sadie’s excited jumps lasted less than 30 seconds and we were back in our groove in no time.

Almost Done!

We ended up finishing the 5k in 24:28 (a 7:50-something mile pace!). A personal record for me!

I always run races for fun (never for time), but I think having Sadie with me made me want to pick up my pace a bit. I knew we were the second dog/woman team out there, and I wanted to keep us in that position, so that little motivation, coupled with Sadie’s energy level made me push myself a little bit more than usual.

If you compete in races, do you participate for fun or for time?

Me and My Race Buddy

The race directors were really nice, and after dropping off my timing chip, I headed back out with Sadie to meet up with Leslie to run the last third of a mile or so with her.

Sistas!

Leslie did awesome and we were quite the set of sweaty sisters after the race!

Smile!

It was a fun race and a great kickoff for a fun Easter weekend!

I’m off to lay out on the dock and get some sun. Catch ya lata!

21 Responses

  1. Congrats on the PR!

    I love running with my family, and it’s cool they let your other little fur family member join in that race too!

  2. what a fun race! Wish we had some like that around here!

  3. Congrats on your race!!!!

    I just discovered your blog and I absolutely love it! 🙂

  4. what a fun race!! you and your pup are speedy!

  5. Congrats, Julie! What type of iPod do you & your sister have and what do you use to attach it to you while running? (On a side note, how do you run with your keys when you do runs from your house?) Maybe a post about this? Thanks!!

    • great idea!

      i use an ipod nano & leslie does too, but hers is the newer version, i believe. i attach it to my running shorts using a vera bradley ipod clip. i have a breast cancer awareness wristband on my key chain, so when i run i usually loop my keys around my ipod and tuck them into my shorts. kinda weird, i know, but it works!

  6. WAY Julie! What a fun thing to do and you and Sadie are simply adorable in that action shot! Hope you are having a great day!!:)

  7. How fun! Go you and Sadie (and Leslie). Way to be a good sister and run back to run her in!

  8. Congrats on your PR sounds like it was a fun run.

  9. Congrats to you, Sadie, and your sister!

  10. You’re day looks like so much fun! I can’t wait to get a puppy so I can go on runs with him/her! You’re such an inspiration for running! Thank you so much!

  11. I love that Sadie had that motivation to keep you pumped up – and look at that, a personal record. Way to do it Julie!

  12. You’re both such stunning girls! Looks like you had a great day.

  13. great job! how fun that sadie could be there 🙂

  14. Your town has the best events!! I love it! Great job on a new personal race record, you are fast!! Happy Easter!

  15. […] 5K with Sadie: A New PR! […]

  16. super duper! and cute cute pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Yay, looks like a cool race. Seriously, Sadie would be excellent at cani-cross. My sister does it with her dog and her pup is having a ball and absolutely loves it! 🙂

    • i had never heard of that until you posted this comment. i immediately googled it & it seems awesome!!

  18. […] 5k Doggie Run with Sadie (My 5k PR!) […]

  19. […] I ran a 5K with Sadie & set a PR […]

Leave a comment