Coconut Cake for Dinner

Ryan knows the way to my heart.

Cheeser's Palace Coconut Cake

That little big beauty is a piece of coconut cake from Cheeser’s Palace, a café located in Clermont, Florida that makes the most unbelievably delicious cakes.

Ryan discovered Cheeser’s cakes through his work when one of his colleagues began bringing in a different cake to celebrate the birthday of each person in their department.  He has raved about the cakes ever since he tried his first slice!

About a month or so ago, he managed to snag a small slice of a lemon cake at work to bring home for me to try. I was overwhelmed by how perfectly moist the cake was and how amazingly sweet and creamy the icing tasted. It was love at first bite.

The next day I went to Cheeser’s website and emailed Ryan a list of all the cakes Cheeser’s makes, with the ones I especially wanted to try highlighted in bright yellow. (Wow. I think I may have a problem.)

Well, today I got to try the coconut cake – my number one choice!

Coconut Tastiness

Ryan brought home a huge slice of coconut cake from work today. (It was his boss’s birthday and she selected the coconut cake. Smart woman!)

I was overjoyed and instantly declared that I would be eating cake for dinner! 😀

I enjoyed every last decadent bite.

Dinner Number Two

Of course I felt like I needed something nutritious in my belly, so I made myself a second dinner, but still kept it sweet since my sweet tooth was apparently raging this evening.

I enjoyed my breakfast parfait on Wednesday morning so much that I decided to recreate it for dinner tonight.

Layered Sweetness

"Everybody Loves a Parfait!"

For those of you who are extra observant and noticed the “52” on the wine glass in the above picture, the glass was a free gift from a cooking demo we attended where chefs from Season’s 52 taught us some tricks of the trade at our local Whole Foods. (You may see a recap from another free cooking demo we attended at Whole Foods here. I wasn’t blogging at the time of the Season’s 52 demo. 🙂 )

I made my dinner parfait by layering vanilla Greek yogurt with frozen strawberries and a frozen banana blended together into creamy, fruity soft serve.

Sweet 'n' Creamy

It was the perfect mini-meal after indulging in a huge piece of amazing cake.

My sweet tooth is satisfied. 😀

31 Responses

  1. Good for You! Looks amazing! I’m with you, coconut cake is one of my favorites (and I’m not a cake girl).

  2. I love coconut cake! It is my favorite kind of cake. 🙂

  3. Oh, wow. That looks so good! I love all things coconut. 😀

  4. I don’t think Ive tried coconut cake, but it looks delicious! I totally had a huge bowl of frozen yogurt with tons of toppings last night for dinner,. Sometimes its just needed

  5. so i have decided that ryan is perfect for you if he brings home your favorite cake 🙂 haha

    I love your layered smoothie! i will have to try that for breakfast since its so warm here in the morning!

  6. That cake looks PHENOMENAL. The icing looks so creamy and you can even tell in the picture that the cake is super moist. Haha as you can tell, I LOVE cake. 🙂 What kind of cake are you having at your wedding?

  7. Ah…this reminds me of my decadent coconut cake I make – it’s horrible those b/c it has to sit in the fridge for 3 days before you eat it! I guess for all the frosting to seep into the layers??? Regardless, that is a very hard thing to do…..

  8. Looks delicious!
    And- that’s funny about the glass- I was going to ask you if you took it from the restaurant for a keep sake, since I know you said it was your favorite restaurant 🙂

  9. i love coconut! and i love cake! haha. sometimes i will order a ginormous slice of cheesecake from the cheesecake factory with a tall glass of milk and call that dinner 😉

  10. I don’t really like coconut, but I love Coconut Cake…weird, huh?? I worked at a camp 2 summers ago and it was one of the desserts they would serve, I always left a little extra room to indulge on those nights!!

  11. That is actually my favorite smoothie recipe. Frozen strawberries and frozen bananas blended with vanilla greek yogurt! It looks so pretty layered.

  12. Ohhhh girl, that totally looks like my kinda dinner! I hear ya on the sweet tooth thing – sometimes once I start, I can’t switch back!

  13. This is so funny, I totally just had coconut chocolate macaroons and coconut muffins (that I baked) for dinner tonight!

  14. Aaaah, that cake looks sooo good!

    So does that parfait! YUMMY day!

    Jenn

  15. I love coconut in any form.
    That parfait sounds really delicious, I have to remember to freeze some fruit soon :))

  16. I’m not a fan of the texture of coconut flakes, but your parfait is making me drool! It’s gorgeous!

  17. Oh my goodness. That coconut cake looks HEAVENLY! What a great fiance you have! 🙂

  18. I used to hate coconut as a kid…what was I smokin’?? That cake looks to.die.for.

  19. If any leftovers of that scrumptious cake remain, please put them in an envelope and send to Shanna in California 😉

  20. I fully support and participate in the occasional “Cake for Dinner” 🙂 Your slice of coconut cake looks amazing!

  21. Wow, that looks so good! Having cake for your meal is so fun. I did it a week or so ago at breakfast–I had a big slice of leftover birthday cake and protein ice cream! So delicious.

  22. I had ice cream for dinner! I love that. The cake looks delicious

  23. I love that you let yourself have dessert for dinner. I do that too. Sometimes, I think we just need to listen to our sweet tooth! 🙂

  24. Oh my….that cake looks to die for! Good for you having cake for dinner! Your parfait looks equally as good to me and I’m definitely going to give it a shot soon!

  25. […] Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake for Dinner Posted on August 26, 2010 by peanutbutterfingers Remember that time I ate a huge slice of coconut cake for dinner? […]

Leave a comment