Identifying the Animal Cracker

To me, peel-and-eat shrimp epitomize beach food. You know you’re near the beach when peel-and-eat shrimp, clams and oysters pop up on the menu!

Last night, my mom was feeling a little sleepy and needed to rest, so my dad, sister andย I headed out to Billy’s Boat House Grill, a nearby seafood restaurant.

Billy's Boat House Grill

We knew we found a winner when fresh seafood options basically took over the menu.

My dad, sister and I ordered aย  pound of peel-and-eat shrimp, a grilled fish sandwich, conch chowder and a salad and basically shared everything.

Peel-and-Eat Shrimp

Fish Sandwich

I definitely ate more than my fair share of the shrimp. They were so easy to peel and perfectly seasoned.

Check out all the peels in front of me…

Me, My Dad & Shrimp Peels

Smiling Sister

After placing a to-go order for a quesadilla to bring back to my sleeping mom, we headed back to the hotel.

My mom was waking up as we entered the room. Perfect timing!

We spent the rest of the evening cuddled up in one bed watching Bringing Down the Houseย before hittin’ the hay around 11 p.m.

I feel pretty well-rested today and am excited to head to breakfast and spend Mother’s Day with one heck of a fantastic mother. ๐Ÿ˜€

Identifying the Animal Cracker

I practically ate my body weight in Animal Crackers yesterday (Seriously, they’re so addicting) and found myself puzzled by this lil’ guy:

What Am I?

My whole familyย is perplexed by this particular cracker, so I ask you…

What kind of animal is it!?

35 Responses

  1. Looks kind of like a bufallo?! Who knows…maybe it’s the missing lynx ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Enjoy your day with your family ๐Ÿ™‚ ya’ll are beautiful!!

  2. It looks like a lamb to me!

  3. A very pudgy rhino whose horn fell off in a tragic nibbling accident.

  4. Lamb

  5. That is most definitely a bear!!!!!! See the rounded little bear ear?? Hehehehehe!! You are too adorable!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dinner looks great, enjoy the rest of your weekend!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. A lamb! Or a sheep! (What’s the dif?)

  7. I think it’s a sheep. Really have no idea, but that’s my guess. All the rolls are maybe supposed to make him look fluffy like wool. Haha, obviously I put way too much thought in it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Looks like a sheep to me. I am happy that others think like me.

    Happy Mother’s Day to your mom. Glad she is feeling better.

  9. I love seafood! Apparently, we’re suffering a bit of a shortage/price raise due to the oil spill. Which is quite unfortunate… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I LOVED animal crackers. I used to buy them alot on college as one of the “healthier snacks”. But turns out I eat my body weight in them, too- so really they weren’t that healthy for me…

  10. looks like a lamb or sheep?

    maybe a rhino

  11. ohhh my goodness. animal crackers are my weakness. so good.

  12. Looks like a sheep to me.
    You have a good-looking family. Good genes!

  13. I’d say that’s a sheep- it looks fuzzy to me! I love peeling shrimp. It’s like cracking lobster- so much more satisfying when you have to work to get it, and I eat way slower too! Hope you enjoy your mother’s day with the family!!

  14. Buffalo!

    I’ve been catching up on blogs this morning and I just wanted to say that it seems that you have a great family! It’s easy to tell how much you care about them. ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. I also kind of think it looks like a sheep? Maybe?
    That meals sounds fantastic! Your dad looks so sweet!

  16. ba-ba sheep

  17. i think it’s a llama!!!

  18. I think it’s a sheep!

  19. I originally thought it was a sheep, but it looks like it has teeth/fangs! So I’m going with a tiger ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. For sure a lamb. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. I think a sheep as well!

    My fav animal crackers though are the frosted kind. I tend to lick off all the icing…and then feed the cookies to the dog…OOPS! Does Sadie like them?

  22. I thought it looked like a sheep too, but I had too much time this morning and am pretty sure it’s a hippo now: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Stauffer's_animal_crackers.JPG

    Have a great Mother’s Day!

  23. Hmmm, the link is being funny. This one will be easier: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_cracker. Look for the Stauffer’s pics near the bottom.

  24. I LOOOOOVE animal crackers!!!! You’re right, soooo addicting! I love them dipped in tea ๐Ÿ™‚ I vote buffalo!

  25. That animal cracker looks like a really fat sheep that hasn’t been dewooled (sheared is the right word I think) for YEARS!

  26. I love animal crackers…I am going with a sheep! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you are having fun with your family, Julie!

  27. That’s a mutation of a few different animals I think!

  28. Either Zebra or a weird sheep horse thing! Like a wild goat! lol
    Just wanted to let you know that your family (mom) are in my thoughts and prayers! I still think you HAVE to do a post about relationships, and how you and Ryan maintain yours. You are such an inspiration!!!
    Love,
    B

  29. I’m putting my money on the sheep or lamb… although it’s definitely not very clear! If it’s confusing to us, imagine how little kids that eat them must feel!??! But I have to agree, animal crackers are divine!! I hope your mum is feeling well again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. I’m going with sheep! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. maybe it’s a bear?

  32. I’m from NZ, the land of sheep … it’s a sheep!!

  33. CAMEL! It has a hump in its back and a fat lip! ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. hey girl! nice name ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha i just found your bloggie through erica’s and i love it! i’ll definitely be following and reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. […] Thanks to all of you who weighed in on the Animal Cracker debate! […]

Leave a comment