Kinda Like Starbucks

Sadie says, “Happy Friday!”

"Hi Guys!"

I love my dog. She makes me happy. 🙂

Workout

As tempted as I was to take a BodyPump class this morning, I stuck with my guns and did my own total-body weights routine. My muscles need some shockin’ since I’ve been in the same routine for a while now.

After a quick 25-minute warm up on the elliptical, I hit the weight room for the following workout:

Total Body Weights

Those step ups got my heart pounding!

Breakfast

After the gym, I took Sadie on a quick walk before making a yummy breakfast smoothie.

I love Starbucks Frappuccinos and was determined to create my own this morning.

I made myself a banana mocha frappuccino by blending the following:

Instant Coffee

Blended

Banana Mocha Frappuccino

The mix was thick and creamy and had a nice little kick to it from the instant coffee.

After filling up my tumbler to the brim, I still had quite a bit leftover and tilted the ol’ blender back to get the rest.

Filled Up

To the Brim

Chug, Chug

Yummmmmy

My mock-Frappuccino was quite tasty and had a lot more protein than the Starbucks version to keep me full until snacktime. Score!

Do you like coffee drinks? Any favorites?

My favorite coffee drink is the Starbucks light mocha Frappuccino or the light pumpkin spice Frappuccino (which I reviewed here). Both are phenomenal!

30 Responses

  1. I love the white chocolate mocha lattes at Starbucks. Yes, they are a dessert in a cup. And delicious. But I can usually only get through half of a small one because they’re sooooo rich! Any more and my stomach will rebel.

  2. That looks amazing 😀 I love the wintry drinks at bux – the peppermint mocha is awesome!

  3. yayyy another fun protein shake to try! (though my true love is PB&choco 🙂 thnx Julie!

  4. I went to Starbucks this morning! I always get either a non fat caramel machiatto or an iced non fat caramel machiatto, my fav!

  5. Awww, happy Friday Sadie!! 🙂

    I love vanilla soy lattes, but I have to curb my enthusiasm for them because of cost (and sugar!). I’d drink one every day if I could!

  6. I love Starbucks coffee, but none of their fancy drinks. I just like plain ole coffee.

    I always feel like Sadie is judging me from her side of the computer. I don’t think the likes my earrings today 😦

  7. That sounds great!! I love the light espresso and light caramel frappucinos… but i’m definitely going to try out your recipe! I made an attempt before but it was a bit sad – I think the xanthan gum will help to thicken it up a bit. thanks! 🙂

  8. Starbucks lite sugar free caramel frap is my fave cold coffee and a skim latte is my favorite hot. I have never tried to make my own, but am now inspired

  9. Oh I LOVE Pumpkin Spice Lattes ! I almost can’t wait till fall just because of them 🙂

    Sadie is soooooooooo cute!!!!

    xoxoxoxoxo

  10. I LOVE coffee fraps!!! I make my own with 1 cup coffee (brewed and chilled the night before), 1 scoop choc protein powder, 1 frozen banana, and a tsp cacoa powder. YUM!

    Have a great weekend!!!

    xx,

    Laur

  11. I feel like I might be the only one that doesnt like coffee drinks !bummer!

  12. coffee drinks are kind of hit or miss…i’ve found that my favorites are typically at small chains rather than at starbucks 🙂

    i found myself saying “orange mocha frappuccino!!!” like they do in zoolander when i read this 🙂

  13. I LOVE plain old Iced Coffee!! Black with half a packet of splenda is all I need…yum!

  14. I love a good caramel frap, yum! It’s been a while since I had one.

  15. I LOVE the Starbucks Caramel Light Frappuccinos! They are one of my favorite summer time treats to sip on 🙂

  16. Oh gosh! I never even thought to create my own frappe. What an ingenious idea! 😀

    My favorite frappe from Starbucks is the caramel frappe, followed by the white choco mocha frappe. YUMS!

  17. Well, drinkin from the blender sure does mean making your own worth it, doesn’t it?

  18. My favorite thing from Starbucks is a skinny vanilla lattee…yum!

  19. My favorite is an Americano! Boring, I know! LOL!

  20. I love your dog too 🙂 She makes me happy!

    Genie you liar.

    My favorites are mocha anything mmmm….

  21. I can’t wait to make that! I’ll be picking up some chocolate protein powder very soon.

  22. Your smoothies always look so good! Every time I make mine they never taste right! What kind of protein powder do you use? And is there anywhere I can buy xanthan gum, like a retailer, or can you only get it online?

    Thanks!!

    • hi jem! i buy all the whey protein powder (it’s really delicious & i’m very picky!). i buy it online at nutraplanet.com. i found the xanthan gum at my normal grocery store in a section w/ a lot of gluten-free and organic products. i’m pretty sure whole foods sells it too. hope this helps!

  23. […] my love for Starbucks lite Frappuccinos (and Starbucks in general), and 2) a post by the fabulous Julie, a fellow foodie. She introduced me to xanthan gum, which is a product (safe for those allergic to […]

  24. […] morning my breakfast was yet another ode to Starbucks. Frappuccino […]

  25. […] (In case you’re interested, you may see one of my other go-to total-body workouts here.) […]

  26. […] This morning my breakfast was yet another ode to Starbucks. […]

Leave a comment