Because of Ricotta

Tonight I wanted ricotta cheese like it was nobody’s business!

Someone at work today was eating lasagna leftovers for lunch, which prompted my craving around 11:30 a.m.! After waiting hours, I finally gave into my desire for the cheesy goodness.

Since I didn’t have any noodles on hand and was feeling way to lazy to make homemade lasagna, I settled for a big bowl of spaghetti squash, topped with ricotta, Parmesan cheese, marinara sauce, roasted broccoli and roasted squash.

I prepared my dinner by first baking the squash and forking out the “noodles.”

Spaghetti Squash

Ready for Toppings

I added a ton of steamed broccoli on top of the squash before going crazy with the two cheeses.

Broccoli + Cheese

Dinner

Stirred Up

I satisfied my cheesy craving and got lot o’ veggies in there, too. Win, win situation.

Dessert

I decided to do some post-dinner baking tonight and made a batch of my sugar-free coconut meringues.

Coconut Meringues

These are so good and pack a little protein punch.

On that note, I think I’m gonna go grab some more… 😉

13 Responses

  1. I just bought a container of ricotta this week and have been trouble deciding what I want to use it for. That looks like a great idea! Do you have any other ideas for ricotta?

    I did some baking tonight too…Oreo Cream Cupcakes! 🙂

  2. YUM…have a great night Ms. Peanutbutter Fingers! 🙂

  3. Yummmm I looooove lasagna!!!

  4. cheesy garlic bread would up the anty on that dime piece ever so slightly. or maybe thats just my gooey carbolicious lovin side talking. just sayin…
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  5. Ooooh drool I want those meringues.

  6. yummay those meringues look soooo good! (on another note, I can never spell the word ‘meringue’

  7. love the cheesy veggie combo…definitely a win/win!

  8. You have inspired me to try ricotta…I’ve only used it in lasagna before. I’m going to make a pasta, veggie, & ricotta lunch today:)

  9. Ooh lasagna, now I want that, haha.

  10. Your meal and your dessert look amazing! I love spaghetti squash, its such a fab quick pasta substitute!

  11. I never think to buy ricotta but it really is so good! I love how it can be sweet and savory.

  12. Where do you find spaghetti squash this time of year??

Leave a comment