Bare Bones

We have no food in our apartment right now. We’re talkin’ bare bones.

What kind of hosts are we!?

Ryan and I woke up about an hour before my mom and sister and I scowered our pantry for something I could throw together to make into an edible breakfast for our guests.

We had about seven slices of semi-stale bread and some eggs in the fridge. I figured that was enough to make French toast casserole and I hit the internet in search of a recipe that contained only ingredients I had on hand.

With a few substitutions (which I’ve posted below), this recipe was the winner.

I got to work cubing the bread and set it in the oven to bake for a while.

The cinnamon scent filled the apartment and smelled unbelieveable. I absolutely love the smell of cinnamon. It has such a sweet, comforting aroma.

When the casserole was done, we divided the servings among us and topped them with syrup.

French Toast Casserole

Casserole Close Up

Breakfast is Served

After breakfast, we headed to church for the 9 a.m. service. Now we’re heading out the door again to take Sadie on a walk to the nearby farmer’s market before we meet the designer of my wedding dress and look at bridesmaid dresses.

I’m so excited!!! I love wedding fun!

French Toast Casserole

(serves 6… or in our case 4)

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups bread cubes (I used 6 cups of light whole wheat bread)
  • 4 eggs (I used 1/2 c. egg beaters and 2 eggs)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1/4 cup white sugar, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon margarine, softened (I omitted this)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly butter an 8×8 inch baking pan.
  2. Line bottom of pan with bread cubes. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, milk, 2 tablespoons sugar, salt and vanilla. Pour egg mixture over bread. Dot with margarine; let stand for 10 minutes.
  3. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons sugar with 1 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkle over the top. Bake in preheated oven about 45 to 50 minutes, until top is golden.

Nutritional Information (per serving): Calories: 207 | Total Fat: 7.2g | Cholesterol: 146mg

17 Responses

  1. That looks so good! I love wedding fun, have a great day.

  2. Wedding fun is the best!! Enjoy!

  3. that looks pretty good for being bare bones!

    and have fun with wedding stuff today!

  4. This looks so good!! I love Allrecipes in a pinch 🙂 Enjoy your wedding fun today- I love weddings, so I’m excited for you!!

  5. That looks so delicious! Have a fun day!!

    xoxoxoxo

  6. WOW that looks excellent for not have any food in the house… and I never thought of french toast casserole.. what a perfect idea! Everything is better in casserole form.

  7. Hello! I just found your blog and HAD to comment when I saw Mochi!! I live in FL too about an our towards the beach from orlando! I have friends at both UCF and UF and everytime I visit we eat mochi at least 3 times! Its so good! I’m deffinatly going to keep reading! 🙂

  8. Well sign me up…that looks awesome!!! 🙂

  9. YUM that sounds delicious!
    And have fun, I can’t WAIT for the day where I get to go wedding dress shopping!

  10. That looks amazing!!

  11. That looks and sounds great, lucky that you had all the ingredients on hand! Good luck with the dress shopping!

  12. Yum!!!
    Have fun today:)

  13. Way to whip something delicious up in no time!

  14. How, oh how, could you manage to have no food in your apartment?! Sounds like you need a trip to the grocery store asap! 😉

    P.S. How do you search for recipes that include only the ingredients you have on hand? That’s so cool!

    • in this case i knew eggs + bread could equal some kind of french toast casserole so i went searching for a good recipe that only used stuff i had on hand! i went through a bunch until i found the winner!

  15. […] Can Be Posted on June 21, 2010 by peanutbutterfingers Our fridge and pantry are currently bare as can be! Ryan and I usually hit up the grocery store on Sundays but didn’t make it there yesterday. […]

Leave a comment