Cake Coma

Remember that bunny cake I made to bring to Ryan’s family’s Easter lunch? 

Well that little sucker put me over the edge after a day of eating (and eating!) and I am now in a cake coma. 

My tummy is suuuuper full of cake, pie, salmon, mac and cheese, sweet potatoes, pineapple soufflé and more. Phew!  

Thank goodness holidays are spread out a bit otherwise I might have to be a professional sumo-wrestler.  

Sumo Julie (Created with Sub-Par Photo-Editing Skills)

 

The cake coma was definitely worth it though. We enjoyed a wonderful day great food and family. 

Sadie, Ryan & Ryan's Grandma, Jan

 

I loved his grandma’s outfit and thought it was perfect for Easter! 🙂   

(Side note: Please give Sadie a lot of credit for actually looking at the camera in the above picture. Yay, Sadie!) 

Ryan’s Mom & Dean
Baby Dominic

Before lunch, we snacked on a lot of appetizers. I loved the deviled eggs and shrimp cocktail.   

I also enjoyed a glass of white sangria (or three 😉 ), which I believe was a Paula Deen recipe (Love her!). 

 

Before long it was time for lunch. Ryan’s mom made the most delicious salmon and the lunch spread was amazing. 

I filled up my plate and dug in! 

 

I ate every last bite and enjoyed seconds of the mac and cheese and pineapple soufflé. After about an hour or so, the dessert spread came out. 

Unfortunately dessert went undocumented, but I had a slice of coconut cream pie, a slice of my funfetti bunny cake and two small scoops of chocolate ice cream. I went back for “small bites” of the funfetti cake on numerous occasions… Hence my current cake coma. 

Once everyone started heading home, Ryan, Sadie and I said our goodbyes and hopped in the car to head back to Orlando. Luckily the drive went by fairly quickly and we’re planning on spending the rest of the evening relaxing. 

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

20 Responses

  1. Happy Easter!! What a pretty dress! So classy! 🙂 I had salmon for my Easter dinner today too and it was mighty tasty!!

  2. Yes I agree with the above comment – what a classy looking dress (awesome color too!)

  3. Looks like you had a great Easter!!! Holidays are definitely for indulging– they only come once a year!

  4. Looking beautiful as always Julie! Love that Sadie is looking at the camera, I feel the same way when the Midgets do 🙂

  5. I am feeling you.. my dessert consumption tonight exceeded the actual nutritious food… may day we have a problem.

    somehow I do not feel like a sumo Molly though which is CRAZY because I should feel like a 2 ton tessy.

    Glad you had a great Easter.. love the dress

  6. happy easter lovely! you are beautiful!! LOVE that color on you 🙂

  7. yumm that easter plate looks awesome!! hahaha that picture is too cute too

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. i definitely ate too much aswell! happy easter! xxx

  9. Pretty dress! Happy Easter!

  10. All your eats sound amazing!! The holidays are the best time to indulge in sweet treats, I definitely had a cake coma this weekend as well! I LOVE your peach-colored dress…you have such great style, simple but still chic! Hope you have a great Monday 🙂

  11. The salmon dinner looks really good! Sorry you’re in a cake coma…I know the feeling all too well. I did it on my birthday..too.much.chocolate.

  12. I also love your dress! Yay for Sadie looking at the camera!

  13. Hahah that sumo wrestler picture of you rocks! So glad you had a Happy Easter and celebrated with family! You look gorgeous as always!!

  14. I’m in a cake coma too, Julie. No worries! You’re in good company!!!!

  15. I love your dress, its so cute!

  16. girl, i can relate! i was in a carrot cake coma last night!

  17. AHHH…that is such a cute dress – you look super cute!

    – The Nutrition Nut

  18. […] What I eat definitely affects how I feel. I am all to familiar with the sugar coma. […]

Leave a comment