First Dance

Over the weekend Ryan and I were talking about popular “first dance” songs at weddings.

Dance, Dance

This made me curious as to what the top ten most popular first dance songs actually are, so I did some Googling and found this list on AOLRadioBlog.com:

10. Bryan Adams – Everything I Do (I Do It For You)
9. Eric Clapton – Wonderful Tonight
8. Etta James – At Last
7. Rascal Flatts – Bless the Broken Road
6. Journey – Open Arms
5. Jim Brickman & Martina McBride – Valentine
4. Barbara Streisand – I Finally Found Someone
3. Aaron Neville & Linda Ronstadt – Don’t Know Much
2. Journey – Faithfully
1. The Righteous Brothers – Unchained Melody

If you’re married, what song did you dance your first dance to as bride and groom? If you’re not married, what song do you want to dance your first dance to at your wedding?

Ryan and I are planning on dancing our first dance as bride and groom to the song Everything by Michael Bublé. That man has the voice of an angel. 😀

Lunch

Today’s lunch was a total knock-off of the burrito bowl I love from Chipotle.

I combined a slew of veggies in a big bowl and topped it off with guacamole and fresh salsa.

Veggies

Guacamole + Salsa

My re-created burrito bowl contained:

  • Lettuce
  • Broccoli
  • Roasted cauliflower
  • Portobello mushrooms
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa

All Shook Up

Yum!

I also enjoyed a freshly baked peanut butter and chocolate chunk Otis Spunkmeyer cookie. An office down the hall from mine makes these regularly and today they were callin’ my name. I could smell the peanut butter and chocolate and couldn’t resist. So tasty!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookie

My afternoon snack was a cup of yogurt pudding.

Pistachio Yogurt Pudding

I added a spoonful of Jello sugar-free pistachio instant pudding mix into a cup of Fage Greek yogurt to make my “pudding.” I don’t think I’ve ever tried pistachio puddingbefore and I loved the flavor.

Back to work… 😀

34 Responses

  1. Hey! I’m getting married in Feb (2011) and my fiance and I just picked our first dance song!! Frank Sinatra “The Way You Look Tonight”! Soooo excited. Oh and btw Michael Buble is amazing ❤

  2. Yummy salad…and YUMMY cookie!!! We got married in the Bahamas, and our band only knew a limited amount of popular songs, so we kept it simple with “Stand by Me”– they did a great job! We toyed around with asking them to learn Stevie Wonder’s “For Once in My Life,” but decided that it was just going to be too complicated.

    Love y’all’s choice!!!

  3. We danced to Taylor Dayne ‘I’ll Always Love You.’ Not sure if you’ve heard it since it was a 90s song a you’re a little younger than me, but it is NOT the Whitney Houston version. It is an awesome song that is upbeat and gives me chills. Listen to it!!

    It also is something that I had never heard at a wedding before. 🙂

  4. I’m getting married in Oct 2010 and we’re dancing to Sway by Michael Bublé!! He DOES have a voice of an angel! 🙂

  5. We danced to “Heaven” by Bryan Adams. I actually just heard it on the radio the other day and it took me back!

  6. We danced to Nickelback’s Far Away. It’s our song so it was a given.
    We love Michael Buble. We listen to him all the time.

  7. I LOVEEEEEE Michael Buble, and I’m very happy you are dancing to him…I will be making mutiple requests of his others songs during the reception 🙂

  8. My husband and I didn’t have a first dance at our wedding. Our wedding consisted of about 6 hours of eating.

  9. I want that to be my first dance song as well (not that I’m engaged yet or anything…ha) – it has such a good message and is good dancin’ music too. 🙂

  10. I just got married in November. We got married at http://www.mohonk.com, it was great… And we honeymooned in New Zealand!

    Our first dance was to Coldplay, “Green Eyes” and I danced with my dad to Tom Petty’s “Wildflowers.”

    Good luck, enjoy it, and don’t stress~ delegate ;^)

  11. i am obsessed with this song

    just listen to the lyrics you will get CHILLS!!!

  12. I was married in ’99 and our song was Angel Of Mine by Monica.

    We walked into the reception during Tom Sawyer by Rush 😀 Ahhh…I remember it like it was yesterday.

  13. We danced to Brad Paisely’s “Then” for our first dance. It was perfect for us. I’m so excited for you! You are going to be such a beautiful bride!

  14. Never thought of adding pudding mix to yogurt! Will give that one a try. I love ‘fake’ burrito bowls, I make them often, but come to think of it, I haven’t had one lately and it sounds really good!!

  15. I read all the time and I never comment, but you inspired me today. My brother and sister in law used Take A Look At Yourself by Coverdale and Paige which is an awesome song. I personally love Always and Forever by Luther Vandross even though it is totally 80s.

    I do adore Michael Buble. He makes me swoon.

  16. We danced to Sweet Thing by Van Morrison. It’s “our song.” 😉

    That cookie looks quite fantastic!!

  17. we have the same first dance song. Everything by Michael Buble! It’s a tough song to dance to, so we need to take some lessons first!

  18. YUM! Pistachio fro-yo is my favorite flavor!!!

  19. Oh and as for dance songs…Keith and I did At Last because I have known him my entire life and had been crushing on him since I was 15…it seemed perfect for us!

  20. Cute choice 🙂

  21. Our first song was “You are the Sunshine of My Life” by good ol Stevie Wonder! It was fun.. it gets fast so we just improvised! Your choice sounds fabulous.. I love Michael Buble!!

  22. Oh I love Michael Buble! Any song by him would be a good choice. Our first dance was to “Love of my Life” by Jim Brickman. My hubby actually picked it out! It’s a cute song. 🙂

  23. looks like youve got a lot of good suggestions!

    Ive always loved the song by Van Morrison…Crazy Love!

  24. Hi I just came over from Carrots N’ cake. It’s so weird that you’re talking about your first dance song. You guys picked the same song as me and my future husband. I like that it’s a little faster and not quite as cheesy as some of the more traditional first dances.

    When is your wedding?

  25. we dance to Michael Buble’s “Everything”. We didn’t want a slow song, and it was a fun way to start the dancing 🙂

  26. I simply LOVE Michael Bublé´s “Everything”!
    It´s one of my favourite songs!
    I know you guys will have an amazing time during your first dance together with that song on.
    Awwww!
    😉
    Have a great week!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  27. Our wedding song is “Silly Love Song” by Wings with Paul McCartney. It’s an absolutely ridiculous, silly song, but that’s who we are. It started because I would hum and sing, “I… looooooooove…. yooouu” to him, and he thought I was singing the wrong words to “Take On Me” by A-Ha. I began to think maybe I was wrong, until a friend (from the Wings generation) brought the CD to work, only to prove me right. From there it was our joke AND our song, so we went with it!

  28. WOW girl i LOVE what you did with your yogurt! adding pudding mix..aweesome!

  29. Love that song! I’m not married (yet) but I always think of what the song might be!

Leave a comment