Gathering in Gettysburg

Our family trip to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania began bright and early at 4:30 a.m.

After waking up and heading to the airport for our 7 a.m. flight to Baltimore, I managed to sleep for most of the flight. Gotta love those pull-down tray tables. They make great headrests!

My sister Leslie packed a big bag of trail mix that served as breakfast featuring Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal, macadamia nuts, chocolate chips and Craisins.

After renting a car and driving an hour and a half to Gettysburg, we were starving! I was so excited to visit our favorite lunch place in the middle of downtown Gettysburg.

Downtown Gettysburg

Sisters in Gettysburg

My mom and dad met and grew up in Gettysburg (they were childhood sweethearts) and love Ernie’s Texas Lunch. On our visits to Gettysburg, we always have to stop!  

Outside Texas Lunch

Ernie’s Texas Lunch has the best chili dogs! I’m not exactly a chili dog kinda girl, but these are unreal.

Inside View

I ordered a bowl of homemade vegetable beef soup and a chili dawg! To order the chili dog, you simply say “one with.” They know whatcha mean! I love that.

Veggie Beef Soup

Chili Dog

Everything was so tasty. We were happy campers!

My Dad and Leslie

My Mama and Me

After lunch we headed to my grandma’s house to drop off our things and enjoy homemade sugar cookies before heading out to visit our other grandmother, aunt and my cousin Jenn and her new baby girl, Sophia.

Baby Sophia was adorable and such a sweet little girl.

My Sister, My Cousin Jenn, Baby Sophia and Me

Holding Sweet Sophia

Sophia was such an adorable little baby. Lots of baby talk ensued!

At around 6 p.m. my Aunt Laurie, Uncle Drew and two cousins arrived at my grandma’s house just in time for appetizers. We enjoyed shrimp cocktail and crackers with cream cheese and jelly before digging into spaghetti with homemade pasta sauce. So delicious!

I am exhausted from a day full of travel and lots of family visits. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving tomorrow! Happy almost Turkey Day!

Giveaway

Tomorrow morning I will be randomly selecting a winner for the Trio Bar giveaway. Be sure to enter!

10 Responses

  1. beautiful pictures! you and your sister are so pretty 🙂

  2. You’re so close to me!! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. So glad you got home safely and are enjoying your holiday. Your family looks very happy in the photos 🙂

  4. Beautiful town and family!

  5. I love Gettysburg! My dad and I used to go every summer together. It was such a fun trip.

  6. Gettysburg looks so cute. Love the chili dog photo!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!!! 🙂

  7. i LOVE your outfit! have a great day!

  8. You have a beautiful fam! You look soo happy!! 🙂

    My elementary school used to go to Gettysburg every year for a field trip.. what a cool place.. Id prob appreciate it more now, though!

  9. […] in Gettysburg (Part one, part […]

  10. […] I went to Pennsylvania for Thanksgiving […]

Leave a comment