Creamy Chocolate Breakfast Bowl

Bust out the mittens!!! Today was the first hint at chilly weather in Florida. How exciting! It was actually in the 60s, which for me is fleece-wearin’ weather. Sadie was especially nutty on our morning walk and a man sitting on a bench by the lake even said “Hot damn it’s cold out here!” So I’m not the only one who thinks 60-degree weather is cold. đŸ™‚

With fall weather upon us, I took the first opportunity to bust out my boots!

Mah Boots!

Mah Boots!

(Funny story about these boots: My mom ordered them for me for Christmas two years ago and when I went to try them on I had two left feet! I am rather klutzy, so it seemed fitting. Luckily I received the right boot within a month. Phew!)

Since it was slightly chilly outside, I began craving a cup of hot chocolate on my walk with the dog this morning. I am a true chocoholic. I am always in the mood for the creamy, cocoa flavor of anything chocolate. This morning I decided to make myself a chocolate breakfast bowl using Greek yogurt, cottage cheese and cocoa powder to satisfy my chocolate craving.

Chocolate Breakfast Bowl Supplies

Chocolate Breakfast Bowl Supplies

I began by blending a quarter cup of cottage cheese with a plain Oikos organic yogurt cup, a spoonful of cocoa powder and a dash of Splenda for added sweetness.

Cottage Cheese and Greek Yogurt

Cottage Cheese and Greek Yogurt

Sadie Loves Greek Yogurt Too!

Sadie Loves Greek Yogurt Too!

Cottage Cheese, Greek Yogurt, Cocoa Powder, Splenda

Cottage Cheese, Greek Yogurt, Cocoa Powder, Splenda

Cottage Cheese, Greek Yogurt, Cocoa Powder & Splenda Blended

Cottage Cheese, Greek Yogurt, Cocoa Powder & Splenda Blended

The mixture tasted like chocolate cheesecake! Yum.

I sprinkled the creamy chocolate base with chocolate chips and half of a cocoa chip full bar that I took from my parents’ house this weekend. Thanks Mom and Dad!

Everything's Better with Chocolate Chips

Everything's Better with Chocolate Chips

Can you spot Sadie???

Sadie Wants In
Ready to Eat

Ready to Eat

This chocolate delight hit the spot. Gotta love chocolate for breakfast!

8 Responses

  1. I had a FullBar once and they are so good. But I wasn’t quite full – I felt like I could eat 5 of them!

  2. Those boots are nice! I need to get out and buy some new shoes now that winter is around the corner. I love that you post pics of Sadie–she is too darn cute!

    I am loving your blog and I am passing along a blog award. Check it out here http://www.lettucelove.com/2009/09/kreativ-blogs/

    • thanks so, so much whitney! i am honored. đŸ˜‰ i’ll keep the pics of sadie comin’ for ya… i’m clearly just a lil’ obsessed!

  3. ooo julie you got an award–whoohoo.

  4. Love those boots!

  5. Those boots are gorgeous! Just added you to my new blogroll, enjoying catching your updates!

  6. […] love cottage cheese! I guess I just haven’t been using it a lot lately! (Click here, here, here, and here for some past cottage cheese posts.) As far as the sodium in cottage cheese, I try to buy […]

  7. […] was reading this girlie’s blog this morning and came across her Creamy Chocolate Breakfast Bowl…omgosh yum!  I had […]

Leave a comment