Family Fun Run

This morning, Ryan and I leashed up Sadie and set out on a 5 mile run before 6 a.m.

You want me to run? Before the sun is up???

You want me to run? Before the sun is up???

Ryan has played soccer all his life… school, club, intramural teams, you name it. His current team plays once a week on Sundays in a men’s league. The guys really seem to love it but Ryan will tell you first hand that the athleticism that was there in high school just isn’t there anymore.

Like many college guys, after graduating high school, Ryan’s workout routine seemed to revolve around weightlifting more than cardiovascular training. He’s since incorporated more cardio days into his workout routine, but typically does sprints or a machine for a maximum of 20 minutes. It’s no surprise that during the second half of Sunday’s soccer game, he started to feel a little fatigued. I’m sure the 90 degree Florida heat didn’t help one bit!

In an effort to improve his endurance, last night Ryan said he wanted to go running this morning and I quickly jumped at the opportunity to join him since I don’t like to run alone in the morning before the sun is up (safety first!). It was such a treat to have a running buddy to talk to and I loved spending some quality time together before work.

We both worked up quite a sweat and Sadie was thrilled to have two running buddies instead of just one!

Schweaty! (Can you spot Sadie?)

Schweaty! (Can you spot Sadie?)

Being the he-man that he is, Ryan showered up and downed a protein shake and was out the door on his way to work within 15 minutes of arriving home.

It's tough to smile before the sun is up!

It's tough to smile before the sun is up!

Since Sadie joined us on our family fun run, I didn’t have to take her on her usual 40 minute walk, so I had a little extra time to put into making myself a super-special breakfast.

In honor of the first official day of fall I decided to make pumpkin protein pancakes. (How’s that for some alliteration?)

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

To make the ‘cakes, I blended 1/2 cup of canned organic pumpkin, 1 scoop All the Whey cinnamon protein powder and two egg whites.

Canned Pumpkin, Egg Whites, Cinnamon Protein Powder

Canned Pumpkin, Egg Whites, Cinnamon Protein Powder

Blended Mix

Blended Mix

Close Up

Close Up

The batter was relatively thin and I think I might use only one egg white next time. I then poured the mix on a hot griddle and enjoyed the fantastic fall aroma while they cooked.

Cook Little 'Cakes, Cook!

Cook Little 'Cakes, Cook!

Yummmmmy

Yummmmmy

The batter made approximately five decent-size pancakes (and one lil’ baby pancake that I gobbled right up).

A Very Autumn Breakfast

A Very Autumn Breakfast

I topped my pumpkin pancakes with Smucker’s sugar-free breakfast syrup.

Smuckers Sugar-Free Breakfast Syrup

Smuckers Sugar-Free Breakfast Syrup

What a great way to begin a new season. 🙂

Happy fall to all!

22 Responses

  1. Yummmmmy pancakes! when I find pumpkin, Im doin that for sure! You are such a tiny lady! Have you weighed yourself lately? definitely look likey ou have your post cruise weight gone and more!

  2. Haha, you’re too funny! 🙂 Yeah, thank goodness the cruise weight has left the building. Back to my normal weight now… although I did enjoy the extra food & drinks fo’ sho’!

  3. Those pancakes look yummy and you have the cutest body!

  4. Oh my those look divine!!!!!!!!! I think I might try to figure out a way to fit them into my meal plan today 😀

  5. you have the most ridiculous amazing abs! sooo jealous! what kind of ab exercises do you do and how often do you work on abs? I’ve been trying to flatten my tummy so any tips would be helpful! thanks!

    • Thank ya Breanne! I appreciate your sweet compliment! Generally I do abs on days I do weight training (M,W,F) and typically do all different kinds of ab exercises ranging from regular crunches to ab twists (http://www.esquire.com/cm/esquire/images/Hg/3-ab-exercises-0508-b-lg.jpg) while holding a weight. Also, I tend to naturally gain weight more in my boo-tay and thighs (I’m a pear-girl) and if weight starts creepin’ up to my belly, I’ll amp up the running/cardio to help as well. Good luck! I’m lovin’ your blog, btw!

  6. […] Rabies Awareness Run? Hilarious!)  Ryan is joining me and Sadie on our morning run as we resurrect Family Fun Run now that his hamstring injury is […]

  7. Yum! I heart pancakes. I used to use sugar-free syrup on my pancakes as well, but recently switched to agave nectar. I have oatmeal banana pancakes with peanut butter and agave nectar most weekends!

  8. […] I opted for pumpkin protein pancakes because throughout my run I had pumpkin pancake brain. I just kept thinking about the tasty […]

  9. Hey lady!

    NICE ABS!

    What kind of powder do you use?

    Check out my blog for my first ever giveaway and workout tunes!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Katie

  10. Hey! I am eating these pancakes as I write. I used Isopure zero carb vanilla protein powder. They came out pretty good. A little too moist, but overall pretty good considering there is no flour in these pancakes! I hope they keep me full for awhile!!

  11. oh also..that is my favorite sugar free syrup! I used to eat it all the time with Eggo low fat nutri grain waffles.

  12. Which site do you purchase your Protein powder? I’ve been wanting to get some Protein powder but there are so many different kinds that I didn’t even know which would be best. I need to loose +50 pounds and started a walking program as well as looking for healthy versions of cooking. So I’m in for tons of help here. Thanks.

  13. I’m sorry, I didn’t even wish you a Merry Christmas. Merry Christmas to you and a blessed New Year too.

  14. […] morning I woke up in the mood for pumpkin and pancakes, so pumpkin protein pancakes with fresh strawberries and syrup sounded fantastic. Saturday Morning […]

  15. I jsut found your blog recently and I love this recipe! I can’t wait to get back to my home and my protein powder to make these!

  16. Isopure protein is another way of getting whey proteins surely makes you feel better, healthier.

  17. I just made these; they were absolutely perfect!! Thank you for the recipe! I ate them plain and just gobbled them up (:
    I used a scoop of low carb french vanilla protein, and I added cinnamon, ground cloves, allspice, and ground ginger to kinda mimick pumpkin pie. Such an awesome treat that I can (and will) enjoy several times a week!

  18. Pumpkin pancakes are amazing. I agree about the isopure protein as well. I actually have both all the whey and isopure and isopure has a lot of nutrition that so many other protein powders don’t offer.

    All your recipes look great and I love your overall blog. I cannot wait to read more.

Leave a comment