Shake That Laffy Taffy

Office Shenanigans

After my boss’ daughter handed out lots of Halloween goodies, everyone around the office enjoyed swapping corny jokes, courtesy of the Laffy Taffy wrappers.

40372-LaffyTaffyPillow

(Picture from SweetFactory.com)

Here are a few I remember:

Why did the tomato blush? Because he saw the salad dressing!

What do you call a lazy baby kangaroo? A pouch potato!

Why did the stadium get hot after the football game? Because all the fans left!

The tomato one was definitely my favorite. 🙂

Feel free to share your favorite corny joke!

Are You My Mother?

I’m so happy to have Ryan back! As happy as I am, I think Sadie may show her happiness with a little more crazy and obsessive behavior enthusiasm than I can muster up, considering I wouldn’t want to body slam Ryan every five minutes to show my love.

I know she missed her doggie dad because on our walks throughout the week, whenever we’d pass a guy about Ryan’s height (6’2”), Sadie would pause and her tail would start wagging uncontrollably. From a distance she was clearly thinking “Are you my daddy?”

She reminded me of the little bird in the children’s book “Are You My Mother?”

mother

(Picture from kidscorner.org)

 

Our lil’ pup is clearly happy to have her family back together again.

Just wait until she gets to see Grandmama and Mister Bob tomorrow! (Grandmama is my mom and Uncle Bob is my dad… he refuses to be a grandpa. I wonder if my future children will also have to refer to him as Mister Bob?)

Dinner

After enjoying chocolate candy at work today, my craving for anything chocolate was in full swing. I decided not to ignore my desires and fixed myself a chocolate cheesecake bowl for dinn-ah!

I blended 1 cup of cottage cheese with a splash of Almond Breeze almond milk and a serving of Jello chocolate fudge sugar-free pudding powder.

preblend

Pre-blended

 

jello

Sugar-Free Jello Pudding Mix

I used an imersion blender to make the mixture nice and smooth (and thick!) before topping it with Quaker chocolate granola bites.

granola

Quaker Granola Bites

cottage cheese

Chocolate Delight

Sometimes you just gotta listen to your body. Tonight my body was saying “Veggies, no! Chocolate, yes!

Wrap it Up

Oh how I wish our work break room had an oven. Rather than making myself an eggplant, broccoli, and spinach pizza, the lack of an oven forced me to turn my desire for thin n’ crispy pizza crust into a make-shift pizza wrap.

Delicious… but not the crispy crust I was hopin’ for.

wrap3

Pizza Wrap

I topped a Joseph’s lavash with marinara sauce, goat cheese, broccoli, roasted eggplant and fresh spinach.

I love how the goat cheese melted into the marinara and made a creamy pink sauce.

wrap2

Lots o' Spinach

wrap

Mah Lunch

The wrap was veeeery good, but fell apart about half way through. I love messy foods and still polished it off with a fork!

We also had a special visitor at our office today… my boss’ adorable daughter stopped by with Halloween goodies for everyone. She was too cute in her orange and black.

In my candy bag I found several sweet treats, but my hands immediately went for the chocolate.

reeses

PB and Chocolate = Match Made in Heaven

twix

Love the Cookie Crunch

I ate one before lunch as my appetizer…

…then the other as my dessert.  🙂

This past weekend when I was chatting with my mom, I was sharing some of the tips I included in my article about maintaining a healthy diet when the Halloween candy hits. She informed me that she already purchased the big bag of our favorite chocolates… KitKats, Milky Ways, Reese’s, Snickers… the works! Looks like this weekend at home will really test my willpower!

I actually noticed that after I finished eating the candy, I immediately wanted more. I wasn’t hungry since I just finished my lunch, but I adore chocolate and could eat myself sick with the stuff. Clearly candy is a trigger food for this girl!

Question: What’s your favorite Halloween candy?

Hey La, Hey La, My Boyfriend’s Back!

I’m SO excited because Ryan returns today! He’s been hiking the Appalachian Trail with two friends since Saturday and I can’t wait to see him.

welcome home

Welcome Home Signs for Ryan

He made me promise not to mention that he was gone on this blog for fear that someone would know he wasn’t at our apartment and abduct me. 🙂 Now  that he’s en route for Orlando (currently taking a pit stop at McDonald’s for hot cakes and hot chocolate), I am anxious for this work day to be over so I can give my fiance a big ol’ hug. I’m sure Sadie will beat me to the kisses though…

Elevator Talk

I never know what to expect when I’m riding up the elevator to my office in the morning. People often just sigh and play with their coffee cups or make some comment about the weather (it’s hot… always hot).

I love when I get to ride with a true character. Today a red-faced man stepped in after me, dressed all spiffy in a pin-stripe suit. He turned to me and shook his head saying, “I’m gonna have to get angry and make some people cry today.”

Well now that was unexpected. I gave him the obligatory “Aw, that’s too bad,” and wished him luck in his tear-filled day.

Breakfast

My pumpkin obsession lives on! Today I was feelin’ pancakes so I cooked up pumpkin protein pancakes for a little fall flava.

pancakes

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

The mix of the pumpkin, cinnamon protein powder and egg whites created flavorful lil ‘cakes.

pancakes2

Yummy, Yummy

These pancakes are delicious and full of satiating protein. This entire batch had a little less than 200 calories (before the syrup) and almost 35 grams of protein. Not too shabby!

When I typically eat the big, fluffy pancakes made with white flour or pancake mix I often end up feeling sleepy and overly stuffed afterward. These pancakes are filling but do not induce food cramps! 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite way to eat pancakes?