Half Marathon Playlist

I woke up this morning in the mood to run. Luckily Sadie is always in the mood to run, so I had an enthusiastic running buddy just waiting for me to lace up my shoes and hit the pavement.

While changing into my running clothes, I made a special selection when it came to my sports bra!

run 001

My Bride to Be sports bra! Perfect for the morning of my bridal shower, no?

I love this sports bra because it takes me back to running the Chicago Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon at the tail end of my first bachelorette party. My girlfriends made it for me to wear during the race and it makes me smile just looking at it!

Since I was wearing my special half marathon sports bra, I decided to rock out to the playlist I created on my iPod for the big race during our morning run.

I know I am always on the lookout for quality music to run or workout to, so I figured some of you guys might be interested in checkin’ out the songs I selected for the big race last August.

Chicago Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon Playlist

  • La Bouche – Where Do You Go
  • La Roux – Bulletproof
  • TLC – Waterfalls
  • Carrie Underwood – Undo It
  • Starship – Wild Again
  • Mary Poppins – Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
  • Shania Twain – Honey, I’m Home
  • Hairspray – You Can’t Stop the Beat
  • Sugarland – It Happens
  • No Doubt – Spiderwebs
  • The Chordials (Cornell University) – Use Somebody
  • Amanda Marshall – Ride
  • TuPac – Keep Ya Head Up
  • Straight No Chaser – Fix You
  • Basshunter – Now You’re Gone
  • Zac Brown Band – Whatever It Is
  • Jimmy Buffett – He Went to Paris
  • Oceania – Kotahitanga
  • Carrie Underwood – The More Boys I Meet

As you can see my music tastes are all of the board. This list includes hip hop, country and a cappella music and even songs from Disney movies and musicals. I love it all! 😀

My run with Sadie absolutely flew by this morning.

I had a lot on my mind and when the song “Fix You” by Straight No Chaser (originally by Coldplay) came on, I felt really emotional. I think it could actually be a great father/daughter dance song for our wedding because of these lyrics:

When you try your best but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want but not what you need
When you feel so tired but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse
And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?
Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

The part about lights guiding you home is 100 percent how I feel about my dad and our home. I feel that no matter how bad things get, I can always go home and feel the love of my family. He’ll always try to “fix” things and make everything better.

I was nearly in tears as this song was blasting on my iPod, but I think it actually made me run faster.

The burning feeling in my stomach had me bust out an 8 minute mile in the middle of my run! 🙂

run 004 

My Garmin was being funky today though and the satellite didn’t start working until I was a good .6 miles into my run.  The above stats are not 100 percent accurate as I ended up covering closer to five miles since I did my usual 5-mile loop.

And now I am a sweaty beast and must hop in the showaaaa!

I gotta get pretty for my bridal shower! 😀

35 Responses

  1. Fix you is one of my favorite songs of all time. It seriously helped me get through a breakup with my high school BF….I blasted it every day and the words are so uplifting and beautiful. Great choice! Enjoy your shower!!

  2. I love that song. It’s so good! I think it would make a great father/daughter song!

  3. I’ve never seen a Bride sports bra! How cute!

  4. Hope you have fun at your shower!! Quick question – I know that you usually take at least one rest day during the weekend, but since you worked out yesterday and today, will you plan to rest during the week? I always have trouble with this … if I can fit in a workout during a usual rest day, it’s tough for me to break my usual work out routine and take a break. (Hope this didn’t come off wrong or accusatory, it’s just an issue I struggle with!)

    • i do always try to take at least one rest day during the week – i’ll probably just see how my body feels! i was just in the mood to run this morning & had a lot on my mind, so i just went with it.

  5. Have a wonderful shower! =) That is a beautiful song that your thinking about. My sister got recently married and she did one of the songs from Father of the Bride. There are a couple good father daughter ones in that movie if you need more options! My dad chose the song, he picked “just the way you look tonight!”

  6. Wow, you definitely do have music taste across the board! I’m the same though, I honestly listen to basically everything (except country! Not my fave. I am a HUGE Carrie Underwood fan however). It’s pretty cool when you can really connect with the lyrics like that, “Fix You” is such a great song. I actually feel emotional connections to a lot of Coldplay music… I guess they write some good lyrics.

  7. carrie underwood is amazing! and i want her legs! lol

    great playlist 🙂 that coldplay song is really really powerful

  8. Great playlist! Have fun today:)

  9. I LOVE that song! Great playlist. I can definitely see how Undo It by Carrie Underwood would be a great running song 🙂 Good workout!

  10. Have a great time at your shower!

  11. That;s the cutest sports bra! Have a lovely bridal shower today!

  12. I’m getting a Garmin 305 this week and I’m so excited! Have a great time at the shower!

  13. Thanks so much for sharing your half marathon playlist. I am so adding some of those songs to mine. And the song Fix You always makes me tear up and get that tight feeling in my chest. I love it.

  14. Haha I think your playlist music variety is probably as spontaneous as mine 😉

  15. I hope you have an absolutely fantastic bridal shower today, Julie!

    Take lots of pics 🙂

  16. Have a BLAST at your shower.

    Also, you totally turned me on to Straight No Chaser. I’m now obsessed 😉

  17. Love that playlist. It reminds me of mine: very eclectic with lots of 90s music thrown in. 😉

    Have fun today!!!

  18. I absolutely love Coldplay (even though you were listening to a remake). Have fun at your bridal shower!

  19. i have that song on one of my playlists, too, and every time it comes on while running, i’m overcome w/ emotion. i almost always tear up/cry, which leads to lots of sniffling in the next mile or two! but man alive, incredible lyrics and tune.

    have a good time today!

  20. I love “Fix You” too, mostly because of Travis Wall’s beautiful choreography to Coldplay’s version on So You Think You Can Dance…Check it out!

  21. Love the sports bra! Seriously so cute!

  22. I love that song! It really is a good one at a wedding. Can’t wait to see your bridal shower update!

  23. Thank you so much for posting this playlist! I’m about to run my first half marathon and am in desperate need of some new tunes. That coldplay song is one of my favorites, too, and I feel exactly the same way about my family (and my dad in particular!)! I hope your wedding shower was amazing!

  24. I had fix you at the end of a “centergy” class which is a mix of yoga and pilates and it was the end of a hard class and it made me so emotional. It was crazy!!!

    P.S. I love the song spiderwebs by No Doubt! 🙂

  25. That is such an adorable playlist! My music taste is also all over the board, but I find it easier to make it through a long run with a variety of music!

  26. I love that song too! I think Chris Martin wrote it for Gywneth Paltrow when her dad died, so it’s all about their relationship. Perfect for father/daughter dance!

  27. waterfalls! ha i haven’t thought of that song or TLC in ages 🙂 how fun!

  28. I love that Coldplay song too! It always get me emotional too. I had never thought of it as a father/daughter dance song, but once reading the lyrics I could see why you would say that!

  29. It’s so sweet hearing you talk about your parents. 🙂 Thanks for the playlist; can’t wait to grab some of those songs for my boring treadmill workout. 🙂

  30. GREAT playlist! Why couldn’t you have posted this ONE day before?!?! Haha, I ran my first half YESTERDAY – this could have been so useful! Even still, thanks for sharing! I love it when something comes into your mind (be it song lyrics, thoughts of someone, a memory, a smell, whatever) and you can just run faster… it feels like you’re flying.
    Nice post Julie, and I love the song ‘fix you’ that would be a great father/daughter dance.

  31. I love the sports bra! What a cute idea.

Leave a comment