Fluffy Pancakes and Cinnamon French Toast

Did you miss the events from this weekend?

Go Knights!

Saturday was one of those days I wish I could re-live because it was so fun!

Sunday was a recovery day full of lots of relaxation. I made a big pancake breakfast for me, my family, Ryan and Ross to enjoy.

Sunday Breakfast Spread

Along with big, fluffy pancakes we enjoyed a bowl of fresh strawberries and blueberries and mandarin oranges.

Fluffy 'Cakes

Fresh Fruit

Mandarin Oranges

We had a wide variety of syrups available so everyone got to use their preferred syrup. We also topped our pancakes with whipped cream for an extra treat!

Sugary Sweet

We enjoyed our breakfast and hung out at the table for a while after we were finished. Aren’t leisurely Sunday breakfasts the best?

For lunch we enjoyed more hot dogs and hamburgers that were leftover from the pre-tailgate party the day before. I ate a lot of homemade pasta salad which is possibly the easiest side to make in the world.

Italian Pasta Salad

I made this salad in an attempt to imitate the pasta salad my friend Kristen’s mom would make all the time when we were growing up. It’s so tasty!

Easy Italian Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 boxes tri-colored pasta
  • 1 can black olives, sliced
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 cucumber, sliced
  • 1 bottle light Italian dressing

Directions:

Prepare the pasta as instructed on the box and refrigerate until cold. Top with Italian dressing, olives, tomatoes and cucumber. Toss until the pasta is coated and the vegetables are evenly dispersed.

Christmas Cards

During the afternoon my sister and I addressed lots and lots of our family’s  Christmas cards to send to loved ones to spread some holiday cheer.

Family Christmas Card

Does your family send out holiday cards?

I love looking at everyone’s holiday cards! I told Ryan he better be ready for us to send out our first one next year! 😀

Since I was clearly in the Christmas spirit, I made a cup of hot chocolate to share with Ryan while I addressed more cards. Ryan  drank the vast majority and I ate most of the fluff on top. I wasn’t a huge fan of the cocoa mix I used so I’ll have to make another cup soon so I can really satisfy my desire for a good cup of hot cocoa!

Hot Cocoa

Today

Today I woke up and it was freezing! I could actually see my breath on the way into the gym this morning (I know all you northerners are hating me because you’ve probably been experiencing this for the past three months now).

Apparently the cold scares Floridians because the gym was practically empty. I had a good workout though! I took a BodyPump class before doing 25 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical. Sadie and I enjoyed a chilly walk together afterward. Her poor lil’ body was shaking!

After such a cold walk, I wanted a hot breakfast!

I made French toast strips using Joseph’s lavash bread and lots of cinnamon.

Lavash Cinnamon French Toast Strips

With a hot cup of tea and some syrup, this breakfast hit the spot!

What’s your favorite breakfast on a cold day?

14 Responses

  1. Your Christmas cards are so cute!

  2. When I went to the gym today, I was the only person there (not counting the receptionist)… it was definitely weird… 🙂
    I really like savoury breakfast on a cold day – scrambled egg whites, rye toast, grilled tomatoes and some smoked salmon usually do the trick for me. 🙂

  3. You and your sis are adorable!

  4. those pancakes look AWESOME!!!! so fluffy and love the syrup choices 🙂

    sundays ARE the best! esp yesterday it was a winterwonderland here so we just chilled the wholllle day!

    cute card!!

    xox

  5. I love photo Christmas Cards! My mom sends one out every year w/ a photo of my brother and me.

    And those are the most perfect pancakes I’ve ever seen! I’m looking forward to a pancake breakfast on Christmas morning.

  6. Love the Christmas card and breakfast goodies!

  7. I love holiday cards!! We send one out every year! So fun! I bet you and Ryan will have a good one next year!

  8. I love making Christmas cards and sending them to family, we’ve never sent ones with pictures of us on though. Yours are lovely btw.
    I love your big pancake spread.

  9. On a cold day I want pancakes, waffles and/or french toast!

    Your pancakes look SOO fluffy!

    I def want to try your lavash French Toast!

    Happy Monday!

    Katie

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/2009/12/slim-secrets-bars-giveaway-extended.html

  10. […] made the best pasta salad, full of noodles, veggies and Italian dressing. (I tried my very best to recreate it in […]

  11. […] did not, however, relinquish certain dishes, such as the light Italian pasta salad (made with Mueller’s rotini twists) which I enjoyed for lunch today. Light Italian Pasta […]

  12. My pasta is almost the exact same, but I add a bit of light feta. Its always a hit at BBQs!

Leave a comment