My Bridal Shower!

What a wonderful day!

bridal shower 027

My sister (who is also my maid of honor) and my mom have been working for months to plan this special day for me. I’ve seen the two of them whispering and I’ve been shunned out of various rooms in my parents house the past few times I visited my family in St. Pete, so it was wonderful to see all of their hard work and planning come to fruition!

bridal shower 015

They planned my bridal shower at the Tuscawilla Country Club, located in Winter Springs.

FL_winter_springs_tuscawilla

Ryan’s mom and I headed over to the country club together just before 11 a.m.

After hugging my mom and sister hello, I immediately noticed these delicious lookin’ little beauties.

bridal shower 003

My mom made these devil’s food cupcakes with whipped pink frosting which were light and delicious!

My sister was quite crafty when planning the event and clearly spent a lot of time on the cute little details.

bridal shower 020

bridal shower 012

Her little table markers were oh-so-Martha Stewart! 😀

My mom and sister also handmade the favors for all of the shower attendees.

bridal shower 014

Not only were their cookies adorable, but they were also very tasty!

They even made a special bridal one for me which I absolutely loved.

bridal shower 009

Aside from my sister, Laurel was my only bridesmaid who was able to make it to the shower (everyone else lives in Chicago, Texas or Iowa) and she showed her true bridesmaid prowess when it came the the “How Well Do You Know the Bride” trivia game.

bridal shower 016

bridal shower 011

Laurel and I lived together our sophomore through senior year in college, so it was no shocker she had nearly every answer down pat!

The trivia game was one of four games my sister planned for the shower. We also had a great time with a purse scavenger hunt, name that famous duo challenge and a trivia game involving questions she asked Ryan ahead of time that I had to guess the answers to.

Of course a portion of the shower was dedicated to present opening.

bridal shower 005

If you can believe it, that was the gift table before my friends arrived! Clearly my mom, Ryan’s mom, Ryan’s grandma and my aunts took this shower seriously. 😀

bridal shower 021

I received some seriously amazing gifts (Hello, KitchenAid Mixer!!!). Everyone was so unbelievably thoughtful and kind to bring something for me and Ryan before our wedding and I felt very blessed.

We had quite a time loading everything into my car!

The funniest gift was saved for last…

bridal shower 006

What in the world???

Well, it’s Jezebel, of course!

bridal shower 026

Isn’t she awesome?

Jezebel was made completely of handy household and kitchen items including an ironing board, mop, spatulas, sponges, a colander, apron, dish towels and more!

In the midst of all the game-playing, chit-chatting and gift giving, we also enjoyed a delicious lunch.

bridal shower 018

bridal shower 017

I had a turkey and hummus wrap with fresh fruit which I inhaled! Apparently my morning run with Sadie sparked my appetite!

I also sipped on a mimosa before lunch which was fantastic.

bridal shower 013

Mimosas should be an evening staple if you ask me! They’re too good to only enjoy in the morning.

bridal shower 023

I was sad to say goodbye at the end of the brunch, but I was so thankful for the love I felt from my friends and family all afternoon.

bridal shower 024

(Thanks, Minda, for driving all the way from Jacksonville!)

Once everyone was gone, Ryan’s mom and I drove back to our apartment to say hello to Ryan and his mom’s boyfriend. I had to head out pretty quickly because my mom, sister and I had an appointment at the bridal boutique where I brought my dress to pick up my sister’s bridesmaid dress!

I absolutely love my bridesmaid dresses!

My sister tried hers on and it looks amazing. I don’t even think she’ll need any alterations made! Sch-weet!

I’m finally back at our apartment and it feels amazing to be chillin’ on the couch. I have a feeling that’s exactly what the rest of the night will entail. Present unpacking can wait… 😉

See ya bright ‘n’ early in the morning!

56 Responses

  1. Ah! How much fun! It looks absolutely beautiful!

  2. What a lovely bridal shower! The cookies look adorable and now I want a cupcake!

  3. aww, looks like it was a great shower! 🙂 you’ll enjoy the kitchenaid mixer, i’m sure. i love mine! 🙂 all the food looks too cute. your sis & mom did a fabulous job!

  4. You’re bridal shower looked like so much fun! Jezebel is awesome! haha I can’t wait to see what you make with the kitchenaid mixer!

  5. Aw, looks like a fun day. The Kitchenaid is a lifesaver! Woohoo!

  6. Wow! I am sending this link to my mom when I get engaged haha. Maybe I’ll get a Kitchenaid Mixer too 🙂

    What a beautiful day, Julie!! A job well done by your mom and sis.

  7. What a lovely shower! Those cupcakes are too cute!

    And I LOVE your dress! You look beautiful 🙂

    Jealous of that kitchen aid mixer…

  8. Your wedding is going to be so gorgeous. I just know it with all the detail that has gone into everything else. 🙂

    Looks like a fabulous shower. And I want a Jezebel if she can USE all those handy items. 😉 Heck, I want a Jezebel just to get more quality and up to date items in our kitchen. And heck yea on the mixer!!!

  9. Your shower was beautiful! Your sister and mom were so creative. Those cookies are adorable and what a great idea for the “word of advice” board! =) I hope you had a lovely day!

  10. What a wonderful surprise!! Your sister and mom did a great job and everything looked perfect! 🙂 Happy Bridal Shower!!!

  11. Everything looks great! Your mom and sister sure worked hard and it paid off. That red dress you’re wearing is so pretty too!

  12. Everything looks adorable. Congrats on the Kitchenaid mixer – they make baking a breeze!

  13. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL event!!!!

  14. Looks like a great time! Your very blessed to have such a great family!

  15. Kitchen Aid mixer!!! YEEEAAAH you racked it in. Love the home made items that also modeled as Jezzebelle.

    Also, you ALWAYS rock dresses, and pull them off greatly. Can’t imagine how beautiful you’ll be in your wedding gown. Swoon!

  16. So many comments to tell ya:
    First, your dress is absolutely beautiful- love the red on you!! Such adorable pictures of you, your family & friends.
    The whole Jezebel thing is hilarious!!! What a creative and USEFUL idea- and her hair is the best part- lol!!
    YAY for the KitcenAid mixer- wooooohooooo!! I’m sure you’ll be using that soon 😀
    I can’t believe your Mom & sister made those cookies- they are so cute!! They must of been busy little bees 🙂
    Can’t wait to see your wedding all come together- I’m so excited for you!!

  17. How fun!! Your dress is absolutely gorgeous 🙂 I got a KitchenAid at my shower too. Best. Present. Ever.

  18. What a wonderful shower–your mom and sister did an amazing job! Jezebel is too much fun!

  19. So glad you had a great day. You deserve it!!

  20. Glad you soaked up the fun! It goes by in a flash, doesn’t it? Absolutely adore your dress!

  21. Jezebel is the most hilarious bridal shower gift I’ve ever seen!

    It looks like a fantastic day and that you had a ton of fun! The big day is so soon. Are you more excited or nervous?

  22. Ahhh that looks absolutely adorable! I’m glad you had such a wonderful shower- the big day is coming so soon!!

  23. HAHA Jezebel is so funny! That’s such a great idea, I will have to remember that if I ever need a gift idea for such an occasion! Glad you had a good time and you looked gorgeous like usual!

  24. Julie, I love your shoes!! Where did you get them?

    • thanks! they’re jessica simpson shoes… i got them a couple of years ago though & can’t remember where!

  25. WOW Julie- everything (including you) looked so beautiful! Those cupcakes look delicious AND beautiful. I feel like your family/bridesmaids are so crafty! The wedding is almost here! Enjoy all of these moments because it goes so fast. It is so fun to be a bride! 🙂

  26. How cute! I really love the dress cookies. The bridal one is gorgeous!

  27. Such a pretty shower! And you’re going to be pretty much the most gorgeous bride EVER!

  28. What an amazing shower! It looks like everyone really put alot of thought and love into it! And your dress is gorgeous!!

  29. seriously the most beautiful shower EVER. and i love your red dress! absolutely amazing!

  30. Everything looks great!!! I love the Jezebel thing, I’ve never heard of that!! I’m so going to make one some day!

  31. Oh my gosh Julie! You all are BEAUTIFUL! What a wonderful day, and I LOVE the gifts, so cute 🙂

  32. I am bookmarking this page and using it for ideas for some upcoming friends’ weddings! Love Jezebel and all of your games. Your mom and sister are so creative–you are a lucky girl 🙂

  33. Ahh the shower looks great! Your mom and Leslie really did do a lot of special touches! I wish I could have been there.

  34. LOVE Jezebel – she’s hilarious! I might steal that idea for my friend’s upcoming wedding!

  35. Your shower looked awesome! I can’t wait to hear about your wedding; it will be so beautiful and elegant from the things you’ve shared already! 🙂

  36. Looks like such a fun time!

  37. Awww what a fun, fun time! That is so awesome.

  38. you look soooooo cute in red! and that wrap looks really good! i hope you had a fun time! i cant wait until your wedding day to see photos! when is your wedding again? is it October 10th? for some reason i feel like i saw that somewhere! lol

  39. looked amazing! you all looked gorgeous!

  40. It looked like you had an amazing time…and the Kitchen Aid Mixer wow!

  41. All of your pre-wedding parties look like so much fun! And how do you get your hair to look perfect in all the pictures?! LOL! 😉

  42. Your mom and sister did such a wonderful job!
    I love your outfit too 🙂

  43. You look so pretty! Love that dress.

    Those cupcakes look delicious. Hope you’re enjoying all of the prewedding fun!

  44. you all look gorgeous. All of you have such pretty hair!

  45. Looks like a great time! That Jezebel is beyond adorable. I need to remember this idea for the next of my friends to get married.

  46. Such a fun time…love your mama and Ry’s mama too! xoxo

    mer

  47. Thanks for the shout out 🙂 Glad I didn’t look like a man in the pics with my hair pulled back. I knew glory would be mine on that trivia 😉 comfort food: obvi beets and cheese its 🙂 xoxo

  48. Aw, this was such a cute post! Your family did such a great job on the shower and I Love the jezebel! I never heard of that and I’m totally stealing that for a future bridal shower!
    Where did you get that red dress? It’s adorable!

  49. I made the blog, YAYYY!!! 100% worth the drive mah lady 🙂 XOXO!!!

  50. you’ve had the most amazing and thoughtful parties!!! i’ve been in and to many wedding related parties, and these amaze me w/ all the thoughtfulness! 🙂 you’re a lucky gal!

  51. they did a great job! I Love the cookies!

  52. what a beautiful shower! i love all the little touches. those cookies are so cute, especially the bridal one for you!

  53. Looks like you had SUCH anamazing time. I’m so happy for you!! 🙂 Congratulations on all your presents and your delicious and wonderful day!

Leave a comment