Meaty Mushroom

I grew up a mushroom hater. The taste, texture, color and overall look of the fungus repulsed me. The fact that it was called a fungus certainly didn’t help.

After learning to love sweet potatoes and broccoli a couple years ago, I thought I should give mushrooms another chance. A couple months ago I bought portobello mushrooms to ease my way into the mushroom craze. I grilled them up and incorporated them into a sandwich with cheese and other “taste distractions.”

I was amazed at how meaty the mushroom tasted. It really held its own in my sandwich and even added to the flavor! Imagine that. I am now a big mushroom fan (with the exception of canned mushrooms – ick! They’re slimy!).

Today’s lunch was an ode to the mushroom.

Portobello Mushroom Sammie

Portobello Mushroom Sammie

I placed a portobello mushroom cap atop a whole wheat Arnold sandwich thin spread with a light Laughing Cow French onion cheese wedge and topped with plum tomato slices and light Miracle Whip.

Looks Like a Burger!

Looks Like a Burger!

I served this with some pickles and a sugar-free Jello cup on the side. Yum.

Sugar-Free Strawberry Jello

Sugar-Free Strawberry Jello

I leave you with a mushroomy joke:

One day a boyfriend mushroom was wondering why his girlfriend mushroom loved him so much. Upon asking her this very question she replied, “It’s because you’re such a fungi!”

Hardy har har!

4 Responses

  1. I just tried Arnold’s sandwich thins the other day and they are so good! And laughing cow cheese is sooo yummy!

  2. I used to be a mushroom hater too! I don’t know what I was thinking for all those years because mushrooms are delish!

  3. ahhh love mushrooms they make for a meaty delish sammie! esp on the sanwich thins!

  4. […] I know the tofu probably seems like a random addition to this sandwich, but I had some that was about to go bad in the fridge. I think the additional protein will help keep me full, since I got a little hungry not too long after Monday’s mushroom sandwich. […]

Leave a comment