Cottage Cheese If You Please

I grew up watching my dad snack on one wacky combination: cottage cheese and apple butter. He would mix the two together until it looked absolutely revolting and then eat every last bit. Eventually I became brave enough to take the bite he was always offering me. Shocker: it was good. Really good.
Cottage Cheese

Cottage Cheese

I know some people hate cottage cheese. The people that dislike this high-protein dairy delight typically really hate it with a passion. I’ll admit I’m a huge fan. I have found that those who couldn’t be more repulsed by the curds often have an aversion to the texture. I recently began blending cottage cheese with a myriad of fruits, nuts and yogurt and have found that this dramatic change in texture gives cottage cheese a whole new dimension.

One of my favorite cottage cheese blends actually tastes a lot like pumpkin pie filling.

Cottage Cheese and Canned Pumpkin Pre-Blended

Cottage Cheese and Canned Pumpkin Pre-Blended

I blend equal parts cottage cheese and canned pumpkin along with a copious amount of pumpkin pie spice and a pinch or two of Splenda (use your sweetener of choice). I top the mix with slivered almonds or pumpkin pie seeds. It’s like Thanksgiving in a bowl.

Pumpkin Pie Cottage Cheese

Pumpkin Pie Cottage Cheese

Here’s a brief list of things you may enjoy blending with cottage cheese:

Yogurt (any flavor)

Frozen or fresh berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries)

Frozen mango or pineapple

Nut butters

Canned Pumpkin

Sugar-free Jello

Sugar-free Jello powder or sugar-free Jello pudding powder

Protein powder

Another cottage cheese success story… this was cottage cheese blended with 1/2 scoop All the Whey cake batter protein powder, frozen blueberries and a splash of Almond Breeze almond milk.

Blueberry Cottage Cheese Pre-Blended

Blueberry Cottage Cheese Pre-Blended

Blueberry Cottage Cheese Bowl

Blueberry Cottage Cheese Bowl

5 Responses

  1. I am one of them ones who hates cottage cheese! Blah!
    -Jessica @ http://howsweet.wordpress.com/

  2. I like cc with applesauce! It tastes so good. And I like it with smashed banana 🙂

    • Oooh I love that idea! I love bananas on mine too! I like to heat them up w/ a little sugar-free syrup too. Yummy!

  3. […] cheese! I guess I just haven’t been using it a lot lately! (Click here, here, here, and here for some past cottage cheese posts.) As far as the sodium in cottage cheese, I try to buy cottage […]

  4. I tried the Pumpkin and Cottage cheese. It’s good..very different but I do like it. Tastes better cold I think!

Leave a comment