Garlicy Dinn-ah!

Since I began fostering my love for Brussels sprouts this year, I’ve only tried a small handful of recipes involving the yummy vegetable. 

Fresh Brussels Sprouts

I typically limit my Brussels sprouts preparation to tossing the sprouts in olive oil, salt and pepper before roasting them. 

When I saw that this week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient was garlic, I knew I wanted to use garlic in my next Brussels sprouts dish. 

Garlic

To begin, I chopped up the Brussels sprouts, getting rid of dingy leaves and the hard bottoms. 

I then tossed the Brussels sprouts with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper before roasting them at 400 degrees for 13 minutes on one side. 

Pre-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I then flipped the sprouts and roasted them for another five minutes on the other side until they were soft, but slightly crispy on the outside. 

Balsamic and Garlic Roasted Brussels Sprouts

This recipe was fan-flippin-tastic. I loved the added oomph of flavor from the garlic and balsamic vinegar. Delish! 

Though the Brussels sprouts were the highlight of my meal, I also enjoyed a salmon burger on a whole wheat Arnold sandwich thin with cucumber and plum tomato slices and a dill dijonaise sauce made with  light Miracle Whip, dijon mustard and dill. Great dinner! 

My Dinner!

Balsamic and Garlic Roasted Brussels Sprouts 

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 lbs. Brussels sprouts (roughly 5 c. chopped)
  • 1.5 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Chop Brussels spouts, removing hard ends and wilted leaves. Combine all ingredients, tossing to coat the Brussels sprouts in the mixture. Spread on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 400 degrees for 13 minutes before flipping the Brussels sprouts and baking for an additional 5 minutes.

Is .wordpress.com a Big Deal? 

I have a question for all of you blog-followers out there. Do you think having “.wordpress.com” in the domain name of a blog hurts readership?  

  

Wordpress "W"

 I am not computer saavy at all and have toyed around with making the jump from WordPress to my own domain name (I even purchased peanutbutterfingersblog.com – peanubutterfingers.com was taken. 😦 ) I am happy using WordPress right now, but know it’s much easier to remember blog names when it’s just the blog name.com. 

Please share your thoughts! 🙂 

Wedding Dress Input 

Thank you to all of you who commented on my simple vs. sha-zaam wedding dress post! It was so interesting to read such a wide variety of opinions. No wonder there are bazillions of wedding dresses out there to choose from. I hope I find a beautiful dress and I will be sure to keep you guys updated on my progress. 😀

12 Responses

  1. I don’t think having wordpress in the URL is a big deal at all. I know alot of successful blogs that are still using wordpress or blogger (think Veggiegirl :)) The only reason I switched was because of photo space. If I didn’t switch, I was going to have to start paying for it.

  2. OOOOhhhhh, your garlic roasted brussel sprouts looks quite delish! 🙂

  3. YUM i loveee brussul sprouts 🙂
    just want you to know..youre going to be a BEAUTIFUL bride!

  4. I don’t think having wordpress in the URL hurts…it’s easy to remember since a lot of people have it.

  5. nice share mate..
    haha..
    kinda like it…

  6. I switched because of pictures as well, if you do decide to switch do it as early in the blog as you can.

  7. Even though I have my own website, I still maintain it through WordPress. So once I went through the process of picking a host and moving stuff over, the day to day stuff is all the same.

    And PS: I totally want to follow that brussel sprout recipe! I am a new fan of the veggie and adding garlic and balsamic vinegar sounds SO good!

  8. That looks like a great way to cook Brussels sprouts. I’ve only tried them once and was a little iffy on them, but I may have to try them that way.

  9. I am so excited that you posted this! I have bought brussel sprouts twice in the last few months and both times they went bad in the fridge because I didn’t know what to do with them! I will surely try this out.

    XOXO- Caitlin

  10. I don’t think that having “wordpress” in your domain name is bad. I have it in mine and I haven’t really heard any complaints. I agree with some of the above comments that since it is so common I think people can easily remember it.

    PS…those brussel sprouts look AMAZING!!

  11. […] Balsamic and Garlic Roasted Brussels Sprouts by Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers […]

Leave a comment