Shopping vs. Buying

After work today, I swung by the apartment to pick up Ryan and some Christmas goodies to exchange/return.

I figured a random Tuesday night at the stores would be less busy than this upcoming weekend, so we rounded up a bag of stuff to take back before dinner.

We were both lucky this year and don’t have too many things to return… most were simply exchanges for proper sizes (and the occasional return of a duplicate gift).

Normally when we go shopping Ryan will browse for about three minutes before he’s bored. Then he’ll follow me around until I’m done (Oh the pressure!). Ryan says he likes to go “buying” not “shopping.”

Do you prefer to go buying or shopping?

Ryan goes to a store with one particular thing in mind. I, on the other hand, love the shopping experience and could browse around certain stores (like Target or T.J. Maxx – they have everything!) for hours.

This does not sound like a good time to Ryan… unless we’re in one specific store: Sports Authority.

Sports Authority

This is the only place where Ryan and I can go and split up to do our shopping and I will typically be the first one done. I’ve been known to  sit in one of those tailgating chairs at the front of the store waiting for him to finish examining the tennis rackets, soccer balls or the gym shoes that just came in.

Sports Authority was on our hit list this evening since I received running tights (which I wore on our bike ride on Sunday) from both my family and Ryan for Christmas.

Ryan’s First Squash

Ryan’s first attempt at spaghetti squash was a success! He did everything perfectly and we had a delicious fast and easy dinner.

My Bowl

We topped our spaghetti squash with portobello mushrooms, sliced yellow squash, marinara, Italian sausage and Parmesan cheese. Deeeelish!

Sliced Squash

Close Up

All Stirred Up

 After dinner we shared a big mug of hot chocolate.

Sweet, Creamy, Good

Ryan’s mom gave us both a bag of this tasty hot cocoa and we’ve been enjoying it every night since Christmas!

Hot Chocolate with Mini Marshmallows

Hot chocolate is definitely my favorite beverage in the whole wide world.  (Do milkshakes count as a beverage because a creamy milkshake might give hot cocoa a run for its money…)

What’s your favorite beverage?

Tonight Ryan and I are watching Food Inc. Should be an interesting night!

6 Responses

  1. haha, I definitely call it “shopping.” 🙂 Sports Authority is to Ryan what Home Depot is for Andrew. It’s the one place he could spend all day in! He did very well with the spaghetti squash!! Way to earn some mayjah fiance points!!

  2. I LOVE shopping. I could spend hours in stores. 🙂

  3. shpping is such a guilty pleasure- love it!! & the spaghetti squash sounds amazing & so does the hot chocolatee
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Yep, hubby and I have similar experience with shopping. 🙂
    My favourite beverage is definitely a cup of rich tasting black coffee.. I could drink it night and day.

  5. LOVE shopping! the only time I go buying is if I need something like new running sneaks or things from CVS, other than that, its all shopping!!

  6. YAY for Ryan on a successful “spaghetti” meal!! 🙂

Leave a comment