Game Day Par-Tay

The University of Central Florida (UCF) football team isn’t exactly world-renowned. When our team is invited to play in a bowl game, it’s a pretty big deal.

Needless to say, the UCF vs. Rutgers bowl game in St. Petersburg gave UCF fans a great reason to travel two hours south from Orlando to party and cheer for our Knights.

Girls Gathering to Cheer for Our Knights!

Taco Night

On Friday night Ryan and I headed to St. Pete to my parents’ house to do some cookin’ and bakin’ to prepare for the pre-tailgating party we were hosting with my family the next day.

When we arrived, my mom had chicken tacos waiting for us for dinner.

Taco Spread

Taco Chicken

Taco Toppings

I enjoyed two hard shell tacos and a plate full of taco toppings and chicken in the form of a big taco salad.

Taco, Taco

Party Prep

After dinner I began baking and making some goodies for Saturday’s party.

I made walnut brownies with white chocolate chips and ooey-gooey Rice Krispie treats.

Walnut White Chocolate Chip Brownies

Sweet Treats

Though I wrapped up the goodies to save for Saturday’s festivities, more than one of the sweet treats made it into my mouth before they were put away for the next day. 😀

Pre-Tailgate Party  

Our pre-tailgate party was super fun!

My mom, sister and I worked hard to get all the food in order before everyone arrived while Ryan and our friend Ross (who arrived to our house on Friday night) left to pick up drinks for the party.

Food Party Table

Puppy Chow! (Peanut Butter, Chocolate and Powdered Sugar Chex Mix)

Chips and Guacamole

Party Table

The spread featured Rice Krispie treats, walnut chocolate chip brownies, pumpkin spice cookies, puppy chow, chips, salsa, guacamole, crackers, milk and dark chocolate and M&Ms.

Thanks to my mom for buying all the black and gold plates, cups, and utensils. I loved the festive UCF colors!  

Me and My Sister

Leslie wasn’t sportin’ UCF colors because she had to leave for a wedding, but she was able to stay and hang out for a little bit.

Mah Sister and Me

Ryan, our friend Ross and my dad enjoyed some beers while we watched Sadie and Ross’ adorable chocolate lab puppy Kona play and play and play.

Ross, Ryan and My Dad

Kona and Sadie Causin' Trouble

Sadie is officially the craziest dog in the world, so it wasn’t too long before Kona needed to take a breather…

Kona Resting

…followed by a nap.

Kona's Much-Needed Nap

How cute is this puppy!? Everyone threatened to kidnap her from Ross. She is so stinkin’ adorable!

When everyone arrived, we dug into the food and drinks!

Go Knights!

Hammin' it Up

We laughed a lot when we played a drinking game involving animal noises and motions. The picture below captures our animal roles. (I was an elephant.)  

Bunch of Wild Animals

(Please notice the wild dogs who continued to cause a ruckus throughout the party.)

We also enjoyed several shots, instigated by… my father! What a guy! 😀

Merri and My Dad - Shot Buddies

Group Shots

Father/Daughter Shot

Post-Shot Love

I loved eating, drinking and laughing with some of my favorite people in the world.

Smilin'

Happy

Takin' a Knee

(Our group likes to take a knee when we drink… stability, you know?)

Leah and Ashley

At around 3 p.m., we finally got around to eating some burgers, hot dogs, baked beans and pasta salad.

Hot Diggity Dawg

I forgot how good simple tailgate food can be!

The Game

After several hours of partying at my parents’ house, we headed out to tailgate with some other friends before heading in for the big game at 8 p.m.

Unfortunately UCF lost, but I had a great time with my family and friends and really didn’t care too much. 😉 Does that make me a bad fan?

All in all, yesterday was a great day full of good food, family and good friends! UCF should play in bowl games more often! 😀

17 Responses

  1. Those brownies look delicious! 🙂

  2. Looks like you guys had a blast!

  3. Despite UCF losing, you guys DEFINITELY had a great time!! 🙂

  4. Looks like you had an awesome time hun, what a beautiful fam and group of friends you have! 🙂

  5. I LOVE that your dad instigated the shots, too funny!

  6. too many good looking people in this post! must detox by going to perez hilton’s site. 🙂

  7. Wow looks like a lot of fun!

    I love your sisters coral tank top!

    Happy Snowed in Sunday,

    Katie

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/2009/12/slim-secrets-bars-giveaway-extended.html

  8. What a fun time! Kona is SO cute. I have a chocolate lab too.

  9. Looks like you had a great time! 🙂

  10. Looks like so much fun and your dad certainly seems like a very cool daddy!! 🙂 Love the pictures of him taking shots with you!! hehe! 🙂

  11. Looks like sucha great time! And oh man Im jealous of the puppy chow. I need to make some of that this year!

  12. Such a great day!!! I just introduced my mom and sister to your blog they love it and will be checking in frequently 🙂

  13. […] they were tasty, I must admit I prefer them dipped in white chocolate. We had them at the pre-tailgate party at my parents’ house this past weekend and they were […]

  14. […] falling in love with my friend Ashley’s adorable yellow bow bobby pin that she sported at our UCF game day party back in December, I knew I just had to have […]

  15. […] The last time we saw Kona was at our UCF bowl game party in December. Look how teeny she was! […]

  16. […] UCF played in a bowl game […]

Leave a comment